We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Ranked #2 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I've stayed at several five star hotels in my life, but I have to say this one is right at the top. We were only there one night due to a layover on a return flight home, but if I'm ever in Dusseldorf and still have the budget, I wouldn't consider anywhere else.

It is convenient to Old Town with all the shopping and restaurants. And the room is extremely well appointed and maintained.

The staff was simply outstanding. The young man that greeted us by name as we approached the desk (the bellman outside had a wireless to announce our arrival to him), took us to the room and explained all the features of the room - there were many.

Later that evening we ate in the lounge area - our luggage was checked through to our final destination so we were stuck with what we traveled in, so we were uncomfortable with going to the main restaurant. We were assured it would be fine, but decided to stay with the young man that waited on us. He had been working there for a month or so, as I recall, and was extremely personable and helpful in menu selection. He came by frequently to check on us and stayed attentive from afar when we needed him for a question.

In summary, I'd find it impossible to consider other locations on any future trips to Dusseldorf. As a matter of fact, because of this experience I'll look for Capella Hotels in other locations. The only other hotel chain I can say this about is Peninsula Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, and for your positive and encouraging feedback which we will be very happy to share with the entire hotel team. As we always strive to make every guest feel at home, we are delighted that we managed to do so during your stay with us.

We therefore highly appreciate your positive feedback and you have enjoyed not only the facilities but also our excellent service.

We truly hope we can welcome you again soon - for any reason that may lead you back to Düsseldorf. And please do not hesitate to provide us then in advance with any wishes or demands you may have, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay even better.

With kindest regards

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    57
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
95
233
58
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

we stayed here for my husbands 50th on the 4th of march. great hotel where to start sheer luxury from the check in to private sitting room with your own PA nothing is to much trouble, The Bedrooms are really nice and this hotel is easily in the top 3 hotels i've ever stayed in. the location couldn't be better for the altstadt and the main shopping areas. as dusseldorf is one the best cities in germany for shopping and nightlife. Go and see how life should be lived.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, on your recent visit.

We highly appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear that you completely enjoyed your husbands 50th birthday that you celebrated at our residence.

We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.

Furthermore we are happy to hear that you truly liked this remarkable convenient location surrounded by the famous and exciting 'Altstadt' as well as the river Rhein on one side and the marvelous shopping area at Königsallee on the other side.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and await any wishes or demands you may have, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay even better.

With kindest regards

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It is definitively a great hotel: great lobby, excellent valet parking service, always greeted by name, beautiful bar, excellent secluded area for guests to sit, talk and meet, excellent breakfast, superb location. In all, a sure choice.
So, let's go to the minor issues which need to be fixed:
1. Internet charges: a repeat for years: a hotel costing 400+ euro a night should never charge for Internet. Yes, there is a free plan available, but too slow to be workable
2. Reservation: I sent a mail to ask prices for a room, was replied, sent a confirmation, and never got a reply back. Reason (I found out after many mails and several calls): the person I was corresponding with had gone on leave.....
3. Brasserie 1806: it was great for breakfast, and good for dinner. But: when sitting at dinner, I was presented with a cart of champagne and offered a specific bottle: I accepted, only to find out at the moment of the bill that it was 50 euro per glass...... Going to such hotels means I can afford it, but I found the way it happened a bit unpleasant

The above would not refrain me to go back to the hotel, but for such hotels perfection is a must.

Room Tip: I had an Executive room, 518, it was comfortable and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

It is always our aim to make our guests feel like at home in a relaxing and warm atmosphere and a perfect environment. However, according to your comment we must learn that there apparently have been some challenges that we of course sincerely apologize for.

We appreciate your honest and constructive feedback and feel deeply sorry that for some reason we failed to provide you the excellent service in each and every matter we usually are praised for. Though from your overall evaluation we can see that apart from those issues you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do trust you will give us another chance to what I truly believe to be a wonderful hotel - hope to see you very soon!

Best regards

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family of five recently completed a three night stay in Dusseldorf. I had seen this hotel on my last visit and looked forward to our stay. When we stay, we have one room connecting directly to another and then a third for the teenage girls. Also, I use the AMEX FHR program and the hotel transfer service from the airport.

This is an excellent hotel with a level of service and quality that competes in the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental, Ritz Carlton category of hotels. The hotel recently underwent a complete refurbishment and is new, fresh and modern in every sense.

Upon arrival at the airport, the driver was waiting and swiftly got us to the hotel. Upon our arrival, the hotel was expecting us and had all of our rooms ready to go; this made check-in swift and efficient.

The rooms are luxurious with touchscreens in the room that control lights and drapes. The beds are incredibly comfortable and the rooms are on the large side for Europe -- which is a real pleasure.

We ate breakfast and one dinner at the hotel. Again, the staff were warm and friendly and the food and service was everything you would expect from a hotel of this quality. We also enjoyed watching a world-cup game in the bar which is modern and a go to place in Dusseldorf.

Two additional items: the security in this hotel is incredible (in a positive way) and gives you a real sense of peace that no one will be in the rooms areas of the hotel that are not authorized. My wife commented that for female travelers this is really a positive. Also, they have a private lounge for all guests where complimentary drinks and coffee are available all day. Again, a nice feature.

Bottom line, this is a top tier luxury hotel and one that I would recommend in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurLeNil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

What an impressive evaluation of our residence, facilities, equipment, service and security - thank you very much indeed for this!

We feel honoured and I would like to forward all these compliments to our teams, which will make them work even harder to satisfy and please all our guests.

Thank you for sharing all the relevant details that were important to you and your family. It is our aim and we do our utmost to make our guests feel safe and at home.

Until we see you again we will be working hard to improve in all areas - promised. We really look forward to being your host again soon.

Kindest regards

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This Hotel is just fantastic and brilliant - the staff is excellent and nothing is to much when you ask. My room was exceptional and considering that a very serious storm hit Duesseldorf during my stay - I didn't hear a thing. The hotel is perfectly situated between the Old Town and the Ko, Duesseldorf's High Street. I highly recommend this hotel and am looking forward to my return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel and for taking the time to share your very positive and enthusiastic feedback with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you had a good time in Dusseldorf - despite the terrible storm that hit our wonderful city those days - and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All our teams and I myself we look very much forward to your future stays. We hope to see you soon and already started to create more meaningful experiences when we have you with us.

See you next time at the Breidenbacher Hof, warm regards

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location is fantastic, the service and staff are impeccable and the rooms are large, clean and luxuriously appointed. Bedding is slightly firm, but very comfortable. Bathrooms are huge and include a large tub, a separate shower with standard and rainforest heads, a WC that includes a Bidet and a large vanity/dressing area. All electronic components in the room are controlled from touch screen panels that are located at the front entrance and on both sides of the bed. Even the drapes open and close electronically. The wet bar is stocked with a variety of complimentary non-alcoholic beverages. Front desk, concierge, bell and housekeeping staffs are very friendly and accommodating. The property is minutes from a plethora of dining and shopping options. 15-20 minutes from airport.

Room Tip: Construction across from the front entrance makes interior rooms a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamac9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and very detailled description of our residence and our friendly staff, which helps other potential guests to find their way to us.

Indeed we have invested in the best design, furnishing, equipment and people and are truly proud we are able to make our guests feel at home. Good to hear from guests like you that we seem to have done right.

Thank you very much for realising all our efforts and sharing this so kindly with others on this platform. We really highly appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay.

We already look forward to welcoming you back soon, and await any wishes or demands you may have, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay even better.

With kind regards

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This wonderful hotel is in an excellent location, luxurious rooms, and some of the most helpful and polite staff I have ever encountered. They will go out of their way for you. It was the highlight of the trip -- can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guests,

It is always our aim to make our guests feel like at home in a relaxing and warm atmosphere. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in Dusseldorf and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being our guests.

We can’t wait to have you back again – hope to see you very soon. Warm regards from your ‘best place to stay’, the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel in Düsseldorf

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 237 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel

Property: Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Address: Koenigsallee 11 | 40212 Dusseldorf, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in city center right on the Konigsallee, Breidenbacher Hof salutes its past while focusing on its future, providing luxurious rooms with modern amenities and technological enhancements, superb service, and a focus on individualized experiences. Indulge at 1806 Restaurant, our fine dining restaurant, relax in the Capella Living Room, our exclusive guest lounge, browse elegant designer boutiques located around the hotel, or craft a unique Dusseldorf stay with the help of our Personal Assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidenbacher Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing