We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel(Dusseldorf)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$124
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof(Dusseldorf)(Great Value!)
$64
$61
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
INNSIDE by Melia Duesseldorf Hafen(Dusseldorf)
$126
$115
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
INNSIDE by Melia Dusseldorf Seestern(Dusseldorf)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Nord(Dusseldorf)(Great Value!)
$86
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$178
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$138
$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premiere Classe Dusseldorf-City(Dusseldorf)(Great Value!)
$62
$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
653
64
17
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
64
17
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roompersonal assistantcigar loungetouch screencontrol lightsold townhotel guestsluxury hotelevery requestperfect locationcomplimentary coffeethe hotel is perfectly locatedseparate showerfree mini barperfect servicespecial thankswonderful hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 747 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend while visiting Christmas markets in Dusseldorf and Cologne. Our experience was excellent from start to finish. We were greeted by the doorman, then the front office manager (who gave us his card), then 2 smiling receptionists. We were shown to the hotel living room, exclusive for guests, then to our room.
There was a real feeling of personalised service running through every single staff member we came into contact with.
Special thanks to Barbara, on duty over the weekend in the hotel living room. She was warm and welcoming especially to our 5 year old, giving him some colouring pens and paper, and even looked interested when he showed his work to her (that really made his day). She was also very helpful with train times, local restaurants etc. On another day, another of her colleagues was also great with pointing out local bakeries. The hotel living room is a real highlight with comfortable, elegant furniture and complimentary coffee, newspapers and sweets (another hit with our boy). A great way to spend some time unwinding after a days sightseeing.

Room - excellent. Comfortable beds, daybed with magazine racks, widescreen TV, desk stocked with stationery, rainfall shower, TV in bathroom etc. Great attention to detail.

The hotel is expensive, but worth every penny and we got a good deal on Tripadvisor! Thanks for a memorable stay.

Dusseldorf highlights: Christmas markets, Hinkel bakery, Kikaku Japanese restaurant, Carlplatz food market, German brauhaus food, & the Dusseldorf in 1 hour city tour

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parklifeinmono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Unfortunately we will have to join those who rated this hotel as poor or terrible. It all comes down to lack of hospitality, humility and customer focus. The amenities are nice but there is no warmth, proactive thinking or true interest in customers from the personnel. When this changes, this could become a really great place to stay. Right now it's not because it doesn't matter how nice the facilities are if the human touch is missing, it just doesn't work.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequenttraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

It is always our aim to make our guests feel like at home in a relaxing and warm atmosphere. However, according to your evaluation we must learn that there apparently have been some serious issues and lacks of service which we of course sincerely apologize for.

We feel deeply sorry that for some reason we failed to provide you and your family the excellent, caring service and flexibility we usually are praised for.

I would highly appreciate if you can contact me directly at bjorn.stremme@capellahotels.com so we can find out exactly about the challenges you experienced during your recent stay.

Looking forward hearing from you!

With kind regards,

Bjørn Stremme
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a delight it was to stay at the Breidenbacher Hof for our anniversary last month. After a disastrous night at another hotel in Düsseldorf, we were greeted like family by the Front Office staff and wished a Happy Anniversary.

We were taken to the Capella Living Room to relax and enjoy a complimentary beverage while our room received its finishing touches. We were greeted by name by several of the employees who each offered to help make our stay more enjoyable if need be. Impressive!

When the room was ready, we were escorted to a jaw-dropping Capella Suite which overlooked the Christmas markets. Not only was the room absolutely exquisite, but there was an assortment of fresh fruit and a hand-written note from Suzanne, the Personal Assistant Manager, welcoming us to the Breidenbacher Hof. First class!

That evening we ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant, Brasserie 1806. I would highly recommend it to anyone whether you're a hotel guest or not. The food and service were exceptional in every sense of the word.

Our only regret is not staying here longer. We hope to make staying here for our anniversary a yearly tradition!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel on your anniversary.

We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.

We therefore highly appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed not only the facilities but also the excellent service provided by our team.

We already look forward to welcoming you back on your next anniversary or another special occasion, and await any wishes or demands you may have, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay even better.

With kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting the christmas markets in Dusseldorf and Cologne. It was a magnificent experience! The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located near the Old Town. The room was really nice and clean with a comfy bed.The public areas in the hotel was beautifully decorated. All the staff were attentive,helpful and nice. I could have written more, but no need as everything was perfect. We will definately be back in the future!

Room Tip: 521. Quiet facing the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel and for taking the time to share your very positive and enthusiastic feedback with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time in Dusseldorf and Cologne during this Christmas Season and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future and wish you a wonderful Holiday Season and a prosperous New Year.

With kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Simply wonderful luxury hotel. Booked for only one night for a quick visit to Dusseldorf. The hotel is beautiful, as are the rooms. The location is perfect for shopping or being in the walking district of Dusseldorf. The best part about this hotel is the staff - all friendly, all speak very good English, all willing to go above and beyond to make you welcome. The only item I found disagreeable in any way was the bed. It was somewhat harder than your typical luxury hotel bed. However, it was not enough to either warrant me ringing up the front desk or enough to keep me awake after a long day of exploring the town. If you sleep well on a firm mattress then you'll love the bed. If you need a very soft mattress, then you may want to ask the hotel if they have softer beds before making reservations.
It is a luxury hotel and you will pay extra, but the price is for top class service, location, and rooms. If you're expecting a budget hotel then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews