We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Ranked #2 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a delight it was to stay at the Breidenbacher Hof for our anniversary last month. After a disastrous night at another hotel in Düsseldorf, we were greeted like family by the Front Office staff and wished a Happy Anniversary.

We were taken to the Capella Living Room to relax and enjoy a complimentary beverage while our room received its finishing touches. We were greeted by name by several of the employees who each offered to help make our stay more enjoyable if need be. Impressive!

When the room was ready, we were escorted to a jaw-dropping Capella Suite which overlooked the Christmas markets. Not only was the room absolutely exquisite, but there was an assortment of fresh fruit and a hand-written note from Suzanne, the Personal Assistant Manager, welcoming us to the Breidenbacher Hof. First class!

That evening we ate dinner in the hotel's restaurant, Brasserie 1806. I would highly recommend it to anyone whether you're a hotel guest or not. The food and service were exceptional in every sense of the word.

Our only regret is not staying here longer. We hope to make staying here for our anniversary a yearly tradition!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel on your anniversary.

We always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.

We therefore highly appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed not only the facilities but also the excellent service provided by our team.

We already look forward to welcoming you back on your next anniversary or another special occasion, and await any wishes or demands you may have, giving us the opportunity to make your next stay even better.

With kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 706 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights while visiting the christmas markets in Dusseldorf and Cologne. It was a magnificent experience! The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located near the Old Town. The room was really nice and clean with a comfy bed.The public areas in the hotel was beautifully decorated. All the staff were attentive,helpful and nice. I could have written more, but no need as everything was perfect. We will definately be back in the future!

Room Tip: 521. Quiet facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenneth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel and for taking the time to share your very positive and enthusiastic feedback with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful time in Dusseldorf and Cologne during this Christmas Season and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future and wish you a wonderful Holiday Season and a prosperous New Year.

With kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Simply wonderful luxury hotel. Booked for only one night for a quick visit to Dusseldorf. The hotel is beautiful, as are the rooms. The location is perfect for shopping or being in the walking district of Dusseldorf. The best part about this hotel is the staff - all friendly, all speak very good English, all willing to go above and beyond to make you welcome. The only item I found disagreeable in any way was the bed. It was somewhat harder than your typical luxury hotel bed. However, it was not enough to either warrant me ringing up the front desk or enough to keep me awake after a long day of exploring the town. If you sleep well on a firm mattress then you'll love the bed. If you need a very soft mattress, then you may want to ask the hotel if they have softer beds before making reservations.
It is a luxury hotel and you will pay extra, but the price is for top class service, location, and rooms. If you're expecting a budget hotel then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. I arrived very late at night and the hotel staff couldn’t have been more warm and welcoming. I had an upgraded room, part of the AMEX program which was very nice. The location is perfect! A few blocks to the left was the old city and a few blocks to right was the upscale shopping area. If I’m ever back in Dusseldorf I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

One of the best hotels in Europe we have stayed in and top three in Germany. Very friendly, polite and serviceminded staff creating sophisticated but informal atmosphere. Our room was beautifully and tastefully furnished with much natural materials. Our highly enjoyable stay ended with a gourmet breakfast buffet missing nothing. Goran and Sirpa

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Really perfect hotel with all aspects. Perfect location, cozy design of the rooms, delicious breakfast, accomodating staff, decent price for the high quality. We are looking forward to come back. Highly recommended!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night while traveling in Germany. We booked the hotel for two reasons: first, Tripadvisor's ratings were so favorable and second, because there was an offer through American Express FHR program.
We arrived in the early afternoon and were greeted warmly and offered a room upgrade(part of the Amex program). The person checking us in explained the amenities of the hotel and what we would be receiving as a guest. One of the benefits was an 85 Euro food & beverage credit, which the person explained could not be used for room service. We decided to have a bottle of wine and some "tapas" in the lounge because there was supposed to be live music later in the evening. The music was supposed to start at 9:30 but we left at 9:50 when no one showed up to play.
The next morning we were entitled to a "continental" breakfast in the restaurant. Basically, the breakfast was breadstuff only, if you wanted real food there was about a $40 upcharge, we chose to stick with the bread.
At checkout the desk person told us that we would not be receiving an 85Euro credit for our dinner in the lounge. She stated that it was only to be used in the restaurant. I told her that wasnt explained to us when we checked in. She found it proper to argue with me and instead of creating an incident we got in the taxi and headed to the airport so we could have a real meal before our flight.
Overall I found this place to be very expensive and not very warm or kind. The staff were definitely polite but something is missing from a hospitality perspective. I definitely would not return to this property nor would I recommend this property to a friend. Im not clear on what other options there may be in Dusseldorf but I bet there would be someplace that can deliver a better overall package.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalMogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel on your recent visit.

We strive to exceed our guests' expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences.

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am aggrieved that you encountered a challenge regarding your American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts voucher during your stay. We have taken your comment to heart and have since made our restaurant, lobby lounge, bar and in-room dining service available for the use of the voucher.

I do trust that you will give another chance to what I truly believe to be a wonderful hotel.

Dear guest, I hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#5 of 239 in Dusseldorf
980 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 239 in Dusseldorf
404 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 239 in Dusseldorf
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel

Address: Koenigsallee 11 | 40212 Dusseldorf, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $309 - $581 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in city center right on the Konigsallee, Breidenbacher Hof salutes its past while focusing on its future, providing luxurious rooms with modern amenities and technological enhancements, superb service, and a focus on individualized experiences. Indulge at 1806 Restaurant, our fine dining restaurant, relax in the Capella Living Room, our exclusive guest lounge, browse elegant designer boutiques located around the hotel, or craft a unique Dusseldorf stay with the help of our Personal Assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidenbacher Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing