We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“7 star !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Ranked #2 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“7 star !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

What an outstanding hotel ! We could not fault a thing. The staff went out of their way with everything, the rooms are amazing and the food was excellent ! Great way to end off our 2 week stay in Germany

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Germany as well as our hotel in Dusseldorf, which apparently proved to be the right choice to end off your hopefully memorable trip!
We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, and appreciate your evaluation.
We look forward to hosting you at our hotel again when you return to Dusseldorf in the future. All the best for you in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    56
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
93
229
56
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

i was able to find a good weekend rate at the Breidenbacher Hof in Dusseldorf, and it must be one of the nicest hotels in Dusseldorf, and probably makes my top-ten list. When I entered, there were crowds waiting for Depeche Mode, who were staying at the same hotel. When I checked in, I was given an upgrade, and in my room, there was a fruit basket, as well as all the great amenities of a five-star, including Rosenthal China, Pratesi bathrobes and linens, and Occitane toiletries. In keeping with a wonderful trend, the minibar with soft drinks is no charge. Quite a delight. The electronic controls in the room were surprisingly user-friendly, and when I needed shirts to be done, they were done within a few hours and ironed by hand on the premises of the hotel. When the curtains were opened electronically, the room overlooked a garden at the hotel. I did not want to leave the room, but when i did, It is located right next to the better shopping in Dusseldorf, and a short walk to the Old City, also known as the "longest bar in Europe." This hotel is a quality experience, and I would welcome the opportunity to stay there on my next visit to Dusseldorf, or anywhere else where there is a hotel in the Capella group of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

As much as you enjoyed staying at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, we enjoyed reading your feedback and description of your visit! Thank you very much for taking the time to write upon your return home in the United States.
It is always our aim to put the well-being of our guests into focus and we are happy that that priority we place on service rendered your stay to be so enjoyable.

While there are further Capella hotels in Washington D.C., Mexico and Singapore (and more to be opened soon in Thailand and Japan) we all hope to welcome you back to Dusseldorf soon!

With best wishes and kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Looking for a great hotel with secure parking facilities and eager to try somthing new, I've visited all other 5* hotels in Düsseldorf but the Nikko. The Breidenbacher Hof wins hands down. The location is unbeatable; easy to reach by car and at the same time within walking distance of the shops and sights. After leaving our car keys with the doorman (no on site parking), the receptionist greeted us by name. I skeptically wondered if it was because we were the last to arrive that day, but they proved me wrong; it actually is exemplary for the very personal and attentive service. What makes the hotel stand apart is the overall welcoming environment. All the staff, from receptionists to housekeeping, is warm and professional and the thorough attention to what a guest might need results in a place that is great to return to.

I had a very spacious room right above the entrance. It was comfortable and pretty. The rooms are very well insulated so no noise is seeping through. When I visited construction work was being done across the street; I heard nothing of it, just the occasional supercar leaving the entrance area ;-) Real blackout curtains make sure you can sleep in, if only the breakfast wasn't so good you really wouldn't want to skip that (see picture). The complimentary mini bar and Wi-Fi were much appreciated too.

Having booked via Amex travel service I received a food & beverage credit, which I happily spent at the equally excellent bar and restaurant. For lunch local patrons, apparently both those doing business as well as ladies who lunch, will surround you. The last time I visited, the restaurant underwent a makeover (this review is a bit belated) so I look forward to trying it next time.

It's not just location or utter comfort; it's the people who make the difference. This was my second visit to the Breidenbacher Hof and it hopefully won't be my last!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DutchFlybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and your most detailed and positive feedback of your second stay at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel!
In fact, there is nothing left to be added. Only that the whole team was very excited to read your evaluation, which proves that our understanding of excellent service cannot be wrong.
We all very much hope to welcome you back soon wish you all the best in the meantime.

Kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a business trip in Dusseldorf and was staying there for a week. We had a beautiful suite - overlooked the street (not a great view but not sure if there were better views to be had). Bed was very comfortable. Washroom was spacious with heated floors. Nice amenities. European/Middle East television stations - missed American television (only BBC and CNN channels). Comes with a minibar that stocks water and diet coke (although you are limited to one a day - after that they charge you for the extra bottles). Downstairs large lounge with espresso and water etc. available all day. Knowledgeable concierges. Two restaurants - one casual and great for tea or small snacks. The formal one had a beautiful German style breakfast buffet daily - and they catered to gluten free diets. Great location - right across the road from the "Ko" (Dusseldorfs designer shopping area) - and also across from two department stores. Many restaurants within walking distance. Didn't rent a car - took a cab to our meetings. At night we were able to walk to dinner etc. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Suites have a second washroom and are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for being our valued guest in October and for your positive description of your stay.
It was our pleasure welcoming and hosting you and offering you all the complimentary amenities (such as internet, tea and coffee in the Living Room, various soft drinks in addition to water and diet coke in the minibar), which make staying at the Breidenbacher Hof comfortable and luxurious.

Consequently, we hope to welcome you back again soon at your Capella hotel in Dusseldorf and our Personal Assistants will be pleased to assist you with any wishes or preferences you then may have.

All the best for you in the meantime
and kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

For our last night in Europe before returning home we decided to stay here. It was truly a 5 Star Experience. We were allowed early check-in, which is such a nice thing after arriving on an early train. The greeting was great and we were introduced to the personal assistant and living room area, with 24/7 beverages and tea.

Our room was fabulous! It had some of the best technology in a hotel room and was nice and spacious. There were truffles and chocolates waiting for us upon arrival, which added a nice character. The linens were soft and luxurious. The bathroom was also such a nice layout.

The hotel itself is walking distance to the shopping district as well as the Alstadt. This led to a nice anniversary stay for us. We were sad to leave, especially since we then had to catch a transatlantic flight home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, as your “finishing highlight” of your stay in Europe on occasion of your anniversary (again our congratulations!)
We are very happy to hear that you more than enjoyed your time with us and hope that your very special memories will last for long.
Hopefully there will be plans and opportunities to return and please be ensured, that you will be welcome back at our hotel.

Best wishes in the meantime
and kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second stay at this centraly located hotel. It's not new, hip or trendy but everything they do is perfect.
The concierge (they call them PA) rings you a few days in advance wondering if they can arrange something for you (and they are very good at that). The doorman and the reception staff are courteous and efficient. The rooms are traditional in style but well equipped (the bed is brilliant). The room rate was very good value for money. Breakfast was exceptional but a little bit pricey.
The gym is fine but small. There is no pool or sauna but then again you're staying right in the city centre.
This hotel has everything: outstanding staff, great location, real character and all the bits and pieces you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRK1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting the new Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel. Completely rebuild and re-opened in 2008 it is the perfect hideaway in the vibrant city centre of Dusseldorf and combines its 200 year old tradition with state-of-the art technique and excellent service.

Consequently we are very happy to learn that you enjoyed staying with us and are very grateful for your positive feedback. Please feel most welcome to come back soon and feel free to let us know about any preferences you may have, which help us to create a more individual experience for you!

All the best for you in the meantime!

Kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's a new building from the last time I was here around 1950 :-) but it has lost non of it's old world charm. I wanted to stay here for nostalgic reasons and found it as wonderful as I remembered it from my childhood. The service is something you don't experience much anymore these days, it's personal and just plain the best. You get treated like royalty here, even if you are just spending a single night and look a bit worth for the wear after a long journey.
The location is also perfect, since you can walk to the River or the Alt Stadt quite easily and off course there is the shopping on the KÖ right next door.
I was sorry we could only spend one night on our way back to Florida but next time in Germany we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I can't give you any advise as to the location of the best rooms since we only stayed on night a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback!
Even if it was just for one night your visit at the new Breidenbacher Hof has been kept in very good memory. This makes us very happy to hear as it confirms that our understanding of excellent service and quality reflects the hotel’s former glory days.
With this in mind we very much hope to welcome you back soon, hopefully for a longer stay, to experience all the amenities of the hotel, and the vibrant surroundings at their best.
Again, thank you very much for being our valued guests at your Capella hotel in Dusseldorf!

With best wishes and kind regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 236 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel

Property: Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Address: Konigsallee 11 | 40212 Dusseldorf, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in city center right on the Konigsallee, Breidenbacher Hof salutes its past while focusing on its future, providing luxurious rooms with modern amenities and technological enhancements, superb service, and a focus on individualized experiences. Indulge at 1806 Restaurant, our fine dining restaurant, relax in the Capella Living Room, our exclusive guest lounge, browse elegant designer boutiques located around the hotel, or craft a unique Dusseldorf stay with the help of our Personal Assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidenbacher Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing