We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel
Ranked #2 of 244 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

An Excellent hotel

Stayed for two nights on business and for Germany this was an excellent and friendly place to be! Only down point was the smoking issue where the lovely looking bar was completely unusable due to smoke. Why o why Germany is so far behind in this respect and especially as this hotel is international in its custom is beyond me! They miss I am sure much revenue here.

Linen is excellent as was the housekeeping and the rooms were great. However breakfast only just came up to scratch and was considered very expensive. I suggest going out far more fun anyway!. Brilliant situation near to the Old town however major building work in front of the hotel was a shame.

All in all however a really nice change from the faceless chain offerings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear guest,

It was our sincere pleasure to welcome you to the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel.
Thank you very much for being our guest and for your positive feedback!
However, we are sorry that you were not happy with our exclusive breakfast buffet with a varied selection of high quality products and champagne. We also offer breakfast à la carte and intercontinental breakfast to comply with all tastes.
We hope to welcome you back soon and are looking forward to learning your individual preferences to make your stay even better.

With best wishes and kindest regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    51
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
81
211
55
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is the best I have seen and I've seen lots of hotels. I can go on and tell about all the details that made my stay incredible, but I can sum it up In that if you can imagine your dream hotel regarding facilities and treatment then it's definitely the Breidenbacher Hof at Dusseldorf. The staff are helpful and polite to the greatest extreme. I would love to go back to Dusseldorf just to stay at this hotel. I thank everyone at the Breidenbacher Hof for the magnificent job they are doing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgemalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your praise regarding your visit at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and to acknowledge our high service standards. We strive to improve and progress every day as at the Breidenbacher Hof our focus is on you and your unique experience!

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels take you to Duesseldorf once again!
With best regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is an outstanding hotel in every way. Ideal central location for a visit to Dusseldorf. I couldn't fault anything in relation to our stay. The welcome by all staff was second to none. The doorman met the car, opened the door, welcomed my wife and I by name and proceeded to collect the luggage and take it to the room. We were again welcomed at the reception where check in was swift and easy. We were shown to our room by a gentleman from the reception. He first showed us the private guest lounge adjacent to the foyer, with access only by the room key. In there you can sit and relax while helping yourself to soft drinks, tea or coffee. Our room on the 5th floor was lovely. Immaculately laid out and spotless with everything you require for a comfortable stay. The touch screen control panel just inside the door on on each bedside table enabling control of the lighting and room temperature and more is a winner. During our stay we were always referred to by our names by the hotel foyer staff. That really made the stay special. What more can I say ...... just perfect! We were sorry to leave. Thanks to all concerned who made our stay so memorable.
As for Dusseldorf, there's a lot of construction work going on in the centre, just ignore it and get around the city. A great place to visit, some fantastic places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteB107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,

As we take great relish in creating a unique and individual stay for you and all our guests we are truly happy to see that you enjoyed your time at the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, as well as the vibrating city of Duesseldorf.
Thank you for your visit and your detailed feedback which I hope shows that you have found your preferred residence in Duesseldorf, where relaxation and luxury in privacy is guaranteed.
We all hope to welcome you soon again!

Kindest regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

One of Düsseldorf newly renovated hotel. Modern luxury. Perfect location.

Opulent breakfast, probably one of the best place for celebrity sightings.

Great private lounge for hotel guests where you can help yourself to some drinks and newspaper to ease the wait.

Latest technology gadgets in the room for light control, Tv remote, etc...

Too bad it does not have the classical elegance of other older hotels in Düsseldorf !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxojet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Breidenbacher Hof and for your very positive comments.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the location, the technical equipment and the free of charge amenities in the privacy of the Living Room.

Therefore we are very much looking forward to welcome you soon again at your Capella hotel in Duesseldorf.

With best regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarle-Hertog, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited the Breidenbacher Hof at Christmas time and it was a great experience. One of the best hotels I ever visited. Very friendly staff who's always prepared to help you, very beautiful rooms, well equiped and they knew we were travelling with our dog so they provided a blanket and a water bowl. You should really try the restaurant, they serve amazing food and the hotel is perfectly located near the Königsallee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Visiting Duesseldorf at Christmas time is certainly a very special and atmospheric experience with all the glitter and glamour you only find during that exceptional time of the year. And so at the Breidenbacher Hof where according to your comments, you had a most enjoyable stay with excellent service and high quality food.
We are now looking forward to welcoming you and your dog soon again - Christmas time is getting close!

With kind regards from your Capella hotel at the river Rhine,

Cyrus Heydarian & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived to the hotel very happy for 4 nights -but it took us only 5 minutes to become upset ,sad and very disappointed -Mr. Tobias Schall was so arrogant -we had a letter promising us a smoking room (reservation made by Amex Centurion !!)usually a Centurion client is getting an upgrade but Mr, Schall even didn't react on this fact.(the only thing -he said was that all the suits are occupied for a long period already by..Arabs. he gave us a room facing the street with a lot of noise of building the underground -no smoking room but he gave us the ashtray ..because it was a terrible smell in the room...the luggage came after 1hour and 40 minutes although we made about 10-12 phone calls and we were always told -"they are on the way to your room..We asked to speak with the manager -we were told he will contact you -but till today -we are waiting..We will never come back to this hotel -we'll go again to the wonderful Intercontinental

Room Tip: IT is not 100% you will get what you were promised
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for visiting the Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, recently. It was our sincerest pleasure to welcome you as our guest and as always it was our aim to make your visit as enjoyable as possible.

It was unfortunate that we were unable to provide you with what had been confirmed to you by your booking agency, the reason is however that the combination of suite, twin-bed and smoking room is not a possibility in our hotel. We have been in contact with the agent already to clarify and to avoid any future misunderstanding.

However, it was the responsibility of our Rooms Division Manager to present various alternative rooms. I sincerely apologise for the lack of understanding, this does not reflect our commitment to providing excellent service for our guests and we certainly intend to make sure that this does not happen again.

After this more than unfortunate start of your stay, which was and will be an absolute exception to our standards, I tried to get in contact you repeatedly, unfortunately in vain and finally sent a letter of apology to your room along with a complimentary bottle of champagne which I hope you enjoyed.

I deeply regret that your check-in did not adhere to our high quality standards and we did our best, especially our Personal Assistants, to organise and attend to you during your stay, including a fond farewell upon leaving.

At this stage I hope that after some time, the bad memories will fade away and you will rather remember the more positive aspects of your visit.

Should you ever consider to return to the Breidenbacher Hof, please be assured that as we strive to exceed our guests expectations with a caring and helpful service, it will be one of our utmost aims to make you feel welcome and cared for, and to attend to any special requests or needs you may have.

With our best wishes to Tel Aviv and always a warm welcome back.

Sincerely yours,


Bjørn Stremme & Team
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything in this hotel is done with excellence. From check-in which was friendly, efficient and informative to the outstanding restaurant food and service to the Personal Assistant service - this hotel knows how to treat their guests and gives new meaning to 5 star service! We especially appreciated the help from Linda (front desk), Hussein (front desk), Barbara (Personal Assistant) and Alexander (car attendant). The GM, Cyrus, was delightful. The hotel rooms are pure comfort - wonderful beds, high-tech control panels for curtains, AC, lights, etc., and beautiful linens. The bathrooms were also exceptional - even the hair dryers were salon quality. Overall, this was among the top 3 hotels I've ever stayed at, and I've stayed in some beautiful places! Great location within Dusseldorf and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breidenbacher_Hof, Manager at Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your most enthusiastic evaluation, which describes and reflects in detail how personal and cordial the interaction between our guests and the team can be. And furthermore it outlines the wide range of our first class amenities which can make a stay at the Breidenbacher Hof a real felicitous.
We are very happy for your appreciation and hope you will choose our hotel when you are visiting Duesseldorf again.
Please be always welcome!

Kindest regards,

Cyrus Heydarian & Team
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 244 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 244 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 244 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 244 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel

Property: Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel
Address: Koenigsallee 11 | 40212 Dusseldorf, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in city center right on the Konigsallee, Breidenbacher Hof salutes its past while focusing on its future, providing luxurious rooms with modern amenities and technological enhancements, superb service, and a focus on individualized experiences. Indulge at 1806 Restaurant, our fine dining restaurant, relax in the Capella Living Room, our exclusive guest lounge, browse elegant designer boutiques located around the hotel, or craft a unique Dusseldorf stay with the help of our Personal Assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidenbacher Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing