We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sized room”
Review of Hotel Senator

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Senator
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed April 10, 2013

good location for public transport with tram stop very close by; supermarket nearby; rooms are very big; very good value, and the breakfast buffet was above average; great free wi-fi in the room; free parking around the back; helpful and freindly staff;

Room Tip: rooms at the back have a balcony, which the front rooms do not have; also back will be quieter, as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_families_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was here during the national football championship and Inter Modelbau exposition (next to stadium) in March 2012. While this location is far from the stadium, it is directly in front of the local metro train with great access to city center a 10 minute train ride away. There were no restaraunts open on the weekend and few in the area, but the city center has quite a few. The main train station have cafe's open everyday. There is a good super market a short walk. There are also gambling/sports bars and the like on the same street. The room was very large, clean with a long shared balcony in front looking to a quiet residential area. The wi-fi was free and the free breakfast was ample and fresh. I arrived in Germany at 7:00am Saturday and found the trains from the airport ran only once per hour, so I took a cab to hotel for 36 Euros. The front desk stated check- in is at 2:00 pm, but changed my room, got it cleaned first so I was in my room by 9:00am!! The staff was most helpful with every other request or question I had.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgerHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The room was clean enough, though I was surprised at how dirty the hallways were! Breakfast was pretty good and the price is quite low for Dortmund. I guess you get what you pay for, and this place was nothing special but not too bad either.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Team-Stridder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Excellent location; good parking behind the hotel. Very good value; really good breakfast included in the price. Large rooms with balcony. Free wi-fi was a pleasure after coming from a posh hotel previously which charged 5 euros per day. Only drawback is that they seem to be in the middle of redecoration: corridor walls had been painted but carpet left paint splattered; similarly, the room, though very clean, is ready for a make-over with carpets particularly ancient and marked.
We didn't mind as we were only staying overnight but it might not appeal if you were staying longer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mbr456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

A comfortable hotel with large, clean rooms. The hotel is in a great location with tram stops within 100 metres and it is then 4 stops right into the centre of Dortmund.
Staff are friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast offers a wide choice for the morning. Food is not served by the hotel (except breakfast) but there a few fast food joints quite close. If you want a good meal ask for directions to the "Depot".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Senator for 4 nights when travelling to Dortmund to watch an event being held at the Westfallenhalen centre. The location was convenient for this as it only took about 15 mins to get to the centre, even though you had to change trains. The train stop is only a minutes walk away and they run every 10 minutes. The city centre is even closer, taking about 7-8 minutes to get there on the train.
The hotel itself is a little dated and the carpets need replacing but the rooms were a good size and ideal for somewhere to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manxtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Myself and 2 friends came here for a gig at a night club and a random girly holiday, stayed for a long weekend. we had asked for a smoking room but was given a non smoking room, after a day this had stil not been changed, didnt bother to ask again. There were a couple of marks on the floor but nothing major. Everything in the room worked well, and was spacious. We went down to the mini bar, for me to find they hadnt re-stocked anything, so no vodka or diet coke for me, wasnt such a deal as we went to the shops instead. There is a tram line directly opposite and a church of some kind, these enjoy being your alarm (If at the front like we were) There are a couple of food shops a few minutes walk away, and a bus stop outside hotel. Staff were friendly, including the pet dog they had there. Connections into cologne from dortmund central, takes around an hour on train. Oh and there is a very tiny lift, only 1 person and a suitcase can fit. There is also free wifi here, once we eventually was given the right code. Although a couple of negatives, we had a nice stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Excelsior
Novum Hotel Excelsior
#20 of 54 in Dortmund
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel NeuHaus
Hotel NeuHaus
#27 of 54 in Dortmund
21 reviews
2.3 mi away
stays design Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#4 of 54 in Dortmund
691 reviews
2.8 mi away
TRYP Dortmund
TRYP Dortmund
#10 of 54 in Dortmund
293 reviews
1.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Senator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Senator

Address: Muensterstr. 187, 44145 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: $55 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Senator 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Senator reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing