We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Lunch”
Review of Das Dog - CLOSED

Das Dog
Price range: $2 - $5
Restaurant details
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

After reading other reviews on Das Dog I decided to pay a visit. Firstly easy to find on Westenhellweg not far from entrance to Thier Galeria. This is more of a walk-in "Imbiss" type place, However it's certainly a cut above other such places. It's quite small with just 4 pedestal type tables to stand at. Menu comprises around 8 - 10 hit dog meals with choices of toppings. Manager / Chef was very helpful & suggested the "Chicago" & "Yummy" Dog's - Chicago with mustard, jalapenos & onions was perfect for me to satisfy my taste for spicy food.
They seem to have dropped the curry dog option from the menu as curry & curry wurst etc are readily available everywhere in Dortmund & I think they want to offer something different.
The dogs themselves were done to perfection & really tasty & the toppings are fresh & delicious.
Drinks wise there are soft drinks only with no coffee etc. My lunch was 2 dogs & 1 soft drink at around 6 euro's 50 c which is excellent value. .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good dogs”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After living in the USA i miss the fast food... Yes despite being a chef myself and working in a restaurant i still miss it ;-). Mind you there are not only burger chains there... So i was thrilled to find Das Dog downtown. There was a lot written about the variety, toppings and so on, so no need to cover that. Let me just say they do look like on the pictures. What i liked is that everything is fresh, even the bun is not your usual cheap, tasting like paper bun, but tastes like real dough bread. It is not really a restaurant, so the previous reviewer does hit the nerve, but i think it has nothing to do with other restaurants in Dortmund but with the fact that tourists are usually in this area and check it out. Besides there is no 'fast food reviews' section on trip advisor ;-). If you want a fine dining experience this is not the place, if you want to grab something relatively new and tasty on the go, be sure to stop by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonibulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice hot dogs, sure, but the best restaurant in town? Really?”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

If you can do it with hamburgers, why not with hot dogs: take a basic dish everybody knows and start improvising. I had a "Das Chili Cheese" (sausage with minced beef chili con carne style, cheddar, onions) which was very tasty, and a "Das Reuben" (sausage with sauerkraut, emmentaler, Russian dressing) which was far too sweet. The staff is very friendly and the hot dogs are cheap (3,20€), but it says more about Dortmund than about Das Dog that a hot dog joint tops the Tripadvisor list of restaurants in this town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“All good here”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Visited here for lunch today two chilli cheese dogs and two cokes leaving change from ten euros. Food was tasty and quick, easy to order good English spoken here if needed.

Helpful?
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had 2 original hot dogs there on saturday were fabulous my mate had chilli cheese dog he said was stunning

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Das Dog also viewed

Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing