We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Dortmund
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Tourist Office in the city booked a room here for me. It's right in the centre of town, one block from Dortmund's main pedestrian shopping street. The hotel is a squarish building on a corner, and each room window has a vertical bar painted in a different colour of the rainbow—very pretty when you photograph the building from outside. Lobby and breakfast area are a bit small, but all staff were friendly (some seemed to be in their 50s-60s). Room was clean, comfortable and functional, done in a bit of an artistic style from the 1980s-90s. Most unusual in my room was the toilet that had brightly striped lid and cover! Funky, Pop Art look! Not much of a view from the window, but I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel Dortmund
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 69 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great welcome at this hotel which is conveniently situated for the centre of Dortmund. It has good off road parking. Our room was large and comfortable and the wifi worked perfectly. Breakfast was amazing. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmg513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were visiting an exhibition and the price was within our budget range. The hotel is located in the city centre, just around the corner from a large and pleasant shopping mall. The bar feels as if you have just stepped into an eighties time warp, and the decor in the rooms is a bit dated, but in general everything is in very good and clean condition. Staff are friendly and efficient. Our room (209) was quite large with a sofa area, only disadvantage was that we were right under the hotel's neon sign which did shine through the curtains quite a bit at night. Bathroom has a good shower and is well-equipped. Breakfast is great - a good selection of cold and hot food and again friendly service staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the neon sign.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claudia093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband, friend and I stayed here during our travels around Europe. Wow, we were really impressed with the hotel, our room was very spacious and had lots of natural light.

It was such a relief to finally have a bathroom/shower/vanity that you could easily move around in, compared to a lot of other hotels we stayed.

We looked forward to breakfast each morning, as it was absolutely amazing - we still talk about it!

Centrally located, super close to shops / cafes / restaurants.

When we're back in Dortmund, we will be staying here again. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saturdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

me and my wife visited dortmund for the christmas market,we stayed at this hotel and found the staff very friendly.Excellent location to the city centre,only a short walk to the market and shops. Room was very well equipped and everything was as we needed,room cleaned daily.Buffet breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christopher a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

firstly got to say the reception staff made me feel more like i was at home then at a hotel welcomed me with a smile got to my room found it was not ready as the cleaner was still in there so had to go back to reception and wait the room was a bit small. The bed was a lot smaller then i am used to not very wide so had to lay in a position i'm not used to,The breakfast was good. The main draw back was that the pillows on the bed looked like they had seen better days and no milk in the room had to go out and shop for that only one english chanel on the tv and that was cnn. also watch out for the city stay tax that they hit you with as you book out for my 5 day stay it was 15 euro but you are not told when you get there so save some money for this. the bathrooms are good .

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay4371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed at the hotel for one night, because I have an early flight in the morning. The room was nice and clean, but a little old. The bed was very cosy, but the pillow too soft. The people at the reception spoke English and were very kind. If you leave the hotel even in 5 a.m. in the morning you can have breakfast if you want. The location is 5 min walk from the central station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
0.4 mi away
Hotel Koenigshof
Hotel Koenigshof
#22 of 54 in Dortmund
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#9 of 54 in Dortmund
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
0.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Excelsior
Novum Hotel Excelsior
#21 of 54 in Dortmund
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Dortmund

Address: Grafenhof 6, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: $114 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Dortmund 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing