We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Breakfast but with nice style.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambiente Hotel - Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
409 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Average Breakfast but with nice style.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went there for a breakfast. Strange place, because the hotel is just opposite a large cemetery. And behind the horse race track. The breakfast was average - good. But with some stylish elements. The fried eggs came in a nice iron pan (but why are they cold?). In some places you have the same food - but pay double. But in some places you have better components and pay less. The place is quit and they do a nice coffee.
Maybe I come back.

Room Tip: I guess every room is quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
11
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

stayed one night as flying from Dortmund Airport,

Hotel excellent, Evening meal and breakfast, superb very high quality.
Staff very friendly, check in and out was quick.

Would recommend this hotel if flying from Dortmund only about 10 mins away by car

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a very special hotel. It is new and has the good characteristic of German hotels. Very clean, good service. We where by car, and this is important because the hotel is far from the center. When we return to Dortmund, we stay in this hotel again.
Another haighlight is the kitchen. We had to make a meal and it was another good surprise. All staff who had contact spoke english, making it much easier for those who have not mastered German.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed one night arrived late too late to get any food whatsoever not even a sandwich. My colleague hadn't secured a room by credit card, the room had consequently been sold without contacting us. Other than that pleasant enough room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2006

Stayed at the Hotel Ambiente Dortmund for 2 nights for the World cup Semi final.
This hotel is apparently an old Army Officers mess.
It is very smart for a hotel of its size. Everything appears spotless and clean. I stayed in a single room which was fine. Comfortable bed though another pilow would have been appreciated.
Very limited Sat TV, but i wasnt really there for that, offering one English speaking channel.
The breakfast is fine for a hotel of its size. American buffet style with hot, cold, cereal etc.
It is excellent for a few nights stays if anyone wishes to stay out of the city itself.
The U bahn is just a few minutes walk, and will take you anywhere in the city with minimum fuss and is very easy to navigate. The map provided by reception proved very useful. Dortmund airport is some 15-20 mins away tops. I flew in from Luton.
There is a cemetery in the same road as te hotel,but dont let that put you off. Nothing glaringly obvious. There is also a school next door which may be worth baring in mind. This being closed Holiday time during my visit. I used to live in this area so maybe i am a bit biased. But if you want no fuss, in a spotless hotel., with good transport connections. I thoroughly recommend it. Did i mention it has a beer garden. Well i have now.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWilkinson91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.2 mi away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 54 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#9 of 54 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
3.6 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambiente Hotel - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambiente Hotel - Restaurant

Property: Ambiente Hotel - Restaurant
Address: Am Gottesacker 70, 44143 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambiente Hotel - Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ambiente Hotel - Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing