We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great all round budget hotel”
Review of Ibis Dortmund City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Dortmund City
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in the ibis several times. everytime I am warmly welcomed, the service is good, the rooms are clean. overall a good stop when on business. I recently had an issue with the reservation, but fortunately the staff did everything to provide a room. thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 386 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaf
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

(Biz trip to Dortmund) I chose this hotel because it is within walking distance of the client. Modern building (like most of Dortmund). Supermarket right next door. Food and beer was good. As it is mid-summer, the sun woke me at 5am (the curtains don't provide total blackout). Ibis is conveniently located for walking into the centre of the city (15 to 20 mins walk, or 5 mins to the nearest U-Bahn).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prince0fGonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel Ibis was a late booking by us and we were not sure what to expect. This is a good hotel which is well situated for the city centre. It is kept very clean and there is always someone on reception. They have a policy of if you have a problem and they dont sort it within 15 mins you stay as their guest. We had a problem with the plug in the sink which we reported to the reception on our way out. This wasnt sorted but we reported it again the next day and found that there had been a misunderstanding with the problem and we were offered breakfast free.
Breakfast is a little expensive at 10 euros as you can eat almost anywhere in the city for half that price and there is a Rewe supermarket next door that does great coffee and bread rolls.
Parking is not a problem as there is an underground overflow park with a good lift access. The room we had was above the main route into Dortmund and could be a little noisy but on closing the window this eliminated all the noise.
Overall this is a pleasant and friendly hotel and would definately reccommend it as an option.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZZIEDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel meets the requirements about comfort and attention, the personnel y very friendly and willing to hep. I is not far away from a Metro station and from there it is possible to move around. They offer free wifi to check emails, the food has good prices. One plus is the free parking and another plus is that the hotel is almost besides a supermarket REWE which makes easier if you want to grab something to eat or drink at a good price.

Room Tip: Choose this hotel if you are going to a concert in Dortmund, it is just few stations away with the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulFerdinand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Although this is called the "City" ibis, it is well out to the South-East of the city centre, and it is a not insignificant walk (or a couple of hops on a U-Bahn) to get to the main centre. It is in a more residential area, although there are still a fair few restaurants and bars around.

The hotel is clean and standard for an ibis: plastic bathrooms, large comfortable bed, and sufficiently spacious to spend a couple of days. Breakfast is large, varied, and pretty good value.

No complaints about the hotel itself, just be aware of the location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
Witney, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed February 10, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#2 of 56 in Dortmund
116 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
ibis budget Dortmund West
ibis budget Dortmund West
#24 of 56 in Dortmund
246 reviews
1.4 mi away
stays design Hotel Dortmund
6.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Dortmund West
Ibis Styles Dortmund West
#13 of 56 in Dortmund
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Dortmund City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Dortmund City

Address: Maerkische Str. 73, 44141 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: $67 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Dortmund City 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ibis Hotel City is ideally situated for links with Dortmund's infrastructure - the city center, Westfalenhallen and Signal Iduna Park stadium are all just a few minutes away by car or subway. Our hotel has 97 air-conditioned rooms offering plenty of comfort and innovative Sweet Bed by ibis beds, as well as 24/7 WIFI. The hotel also features a supermarket and hair salon, and offers free parking for guests. Leave your car at the hotel: From the nearby Markgrafenstrasse subway station there are four U-Bahn lines that offer a quick, direct connection to the football stadium or city center, including the Westenhellweg shopping district and main train station.All-you-can-eat breakfast buffetOur hearty breakfast buffet is open daily from 6:30am to 10am and offers many tasty options and regional specialties. We serve a light breakfast daily from 4am to 6:30am, and from 10am to midday.BarWhether you fancy relaxing with a cool beer or a different kind of refreshing drink, these can be ordered around the clock from our bar, as well as hot and cold snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Accorhotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Dortmund City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing