We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sunny G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 249 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The room was clean and there was every thing you needed. Free bar in the room, and free safe. Very friendly staff. It is located just next to Dortmund futball stadium. The bar/restaurant was fine, not so many different meals to select but good also the size of the meal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomsen-Aalestrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel is reached very easily from the Dortmund Hauptbahnhof via U45. I stayed 4 days, and found the staff there most accommodating, although I speak no German other than bitte and danke. I needed ice for my knees, and was able to get it with little trouble. The included breakfast buffet is quite nice. The room I was in was quite small, but completely adequate for my needs. The hotel wifi served my needs. It was nice to have a safe. My room came with two free waters, two juices and two beers every day.

The hotel does not have exercise facilities (there is a pool and sauna which I did not use), but there are great walking/jogging opportunities. Go out the hotel driveway, across the street and veer slightly to the right. You will go down a paved road/path that deadends into a "T". Jog left, then right. The paved road/path will turn into a gravel road/path. After about 400 meters, you will come to place where the path veers off to the left, a paved road crosses a bridge in front of you, and a woodchip trail goes away to the sharp right. I would recommend going across the bridge into a forest. If you just keep turning right, you will eventually come to another "T", where if you go left, you will come out by the big soccer stadium that is across the street from the hotel.

It's a 20 minute walk back up into the old town, where you can find a platz, sit and have a beer and/or lunch, and do some great people watching.

When I visited, there was no soccer game. I suspect the place is a little crazy on those days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first stay and it was better than our expectations. The ambiance was charmingly German, which was appropriate. Food selection was extensive and service was efficient without being over bearing. We're going back again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the back side of the building, it's quieter there
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is centrally located, it's quiet, only when Borussia Dortmund has a match you can experience a lot of fans discussing and celebrating. The breakfast is very good and the staff is extremely supportive. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Only the bar closes too early.
in summer there is a great outside terrace just in the middle of the park. since Dortmund is a beer town, the wine card could be better.

Room Tip: try to get up as high as possible so you can look over the trees.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Steinway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel has been here for many years and I have used it regularly. However over the pastmonths it has gone through some renovations namely in the reception area. A smaller everyday restaurant has taken the pace of the former existing bar area and a small lounge has been added in the back to be used by guests. Not a great deal of change but it does improve the reception area quality. This hotel delivers honestly. Breakfast is really excellent and served in a large bright room facing the park beautifull gardens. Plenty of choices and of high standard.Food is of good quality at all meals and with attentive service.The rooms are confortable with good bathrooms with toietries at a minimum, but the beds are too low and difficult to exit, plus bed covers are weird, no sheats just a duvet not really long enough to keep your feet covered. The first night I spent mostly fighing with the whole cover set up until I managed to turn it around completely and thus cover both feet and head! This is a hotel really convenient if you are attending an exhibition at the Westphallenhallen as it really close by, but it is far from the city centre and in the middle of a park, thus you need to spend ttaxi money to go anywere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in august 2012. There is not much to say because every thing at that hotel was perfect; great location (amidst greenery), 12-13 km from the airport, free private parking area, free WiFi internet access with very good quality, excellent breakfast, clean and well maintained rooms, very good services. We are going to stay at that hotel every time when we go to Dortmund.

Room Tip: Take a room on the south side with view to the gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dino1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
0.2 mi away
Dorint An den Westfalenhallen Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
2.5 mi away
Stay City Design Hotels Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress

Address: Strobelallee 41, D 1, 44139 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
#6 Business Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range: $96 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dortmund
Dortmund Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing