We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a great hotel. The deluxe rooms have free minibar included and the breakfast buffett is excellent. They have fresh pancakes, wafers to order, you get champagne and also there is an organic corner with cheese and sausages from local farmers. The rooms are all clean and the employees are nice. They are always ready to help you and give you good advices what to do in the city. The stadium with many concerts and sports events is just a 2 minute walk.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe rroms, the are more quiet and bigger for just a couple of euros more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rk2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear rk2101, we are very happy that you encourage our idea of offering local and organic food and that our breakfast buffet offer is appreciated. Thank you very much for your commendation for our employees, that is a hint of high importance for other guests and our team as well.
Our best regards from Dortmund, i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    167
    79
    19
    8
See reviews for
43
104
35
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a nice hotel to stay even if it is not that cheap. Main advantage is, that it is close to the B1 and just minutes away by foot to enter the Kreuzviertel with a lot of bars, pubs and small restaurants, where the students live. Bad thing: It is not really the latest hotel in Dortmund and will defintitivily need some make up in the future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have stayed in the Pullman Dortmund many times over the last few years (probably over 30 times). It is located a short walk away from the Football Stadium and is about a 20 minute walk away from the Town Centre. It is also possible to access the Town Centre via Taxi in about 5 minutes and via the local Metro system in approx 10 minutes.

The staff are probably the hotels best asset. Without fail, I have found them to be helpful, friendly and efficient.

The bar staff are usually quick to serve and although the bar area often gets very busy you can usually get served fairly promptly. Food is of a good quality and room service is usually delivered within half an hour.

The rooms are a little old fashioned although comfortable. Unusually for a 4 star hotel, most rooms still have old CRT televisions apart from the upgraded rooms on the top floor. Some rooms need a little refurbishment e.g. some of the smoking rooms have small holes in the floor from cigarette butts. The beds are reasonably comfortable however personally I find the pillows a little soft. Also, the duvet covers are very small and seem undersized. For anyone that likes to wrap themselves up in the duvet cover, it is hard to do... especially in the rooms with single beds as the covers are so small.

All rooms have a minibar, these have a good selection of snacks and drinks for a reasonable cost.

The amenities in the bathroom are of a reasonable quality, with a good selection provided.

The Air Con is resonably effective. However, the rooms can get very dry but it is possible to open the windows to combat this problem.

On the 2nd floor there is an area with 4 computers allowing free access to the internet but WiFi is charged for.

To recap, this is a solid hotel with reliable staff. Rooms are a little tired/dated in places and food is good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Adam P., thank you so much for taking your time giving us this detailed feedback for our performance and efficiency of our stuff, that you considered "to be helpful, friendly and efficient". This is a great compliment for our team!
Regarding your hint to our duvet covers- we do have some rooms with larger beds and corresponding covers, did you try that already? Please let reception desk check this for you on your next stay.
And we also have good news for you about our CRT televisions- around august or september 2012 we will equipe our rooms with brandnew flatscreen TVs.
I hope these are some helpful informations for you, thank you again for your effort. We hope to welcome you again soon.

My best regards, i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Pullman Dortmund. It was a Sunday to Monday, so the hotel was not very busy. It was an excellent stay, and we were particularly pleased with the level of intelligent service and the quality of the room.
Our room was on the 5th floor, and weirdly enough the minibar was free, as was paytv and internet. We paid Eur 134 for this off-peak night, breakfast included.
The room was as pictured on the website, very clean and roomy. The room facilities were nice. There is a Tassimo coffeemaker in the room, which was fully stocked with tea, hot chocolate, and coffee, but we did not get a chance to use it.
The toiletries were exceptional for my recent experience. In addition to shampoo, soap, and conditioner, there was lotion, shower cap, nail file, cotton swabs, makeup pads, sewing kit and shoe shine cloth.
There is a hair dryer in the room, but instead of an in-room iron, there is an Ironing Room on the second floor.
The fitness center is beautiful, but when I went downstairs to use the cycle, I found that there was only one of each machine (cycle, stepper and treadmill) and the cycle was in use. The spa facilites were otherwise in excellent condition. Oddly enough, they have you enter the spa by going to the second floor, then walking down 2 flights to the ground floor, I presume it's to keep scantily-clad guests from traipsing through the lobby. You can go out to the lobby from the spa and go back to the elevators.
There are coffee facilities for conference guests, and the breakfast is served in the Davidi restaurant. After looking at the evening menu at Davidis, we chose to walk around the block to have dinner at Da Luca instead. There were simply too few vegetarian entrees on the Davidis menu.
Service was the highlight, even though I consider the room to be excellent. The front desk was very helpful in helping us identify street parking to avoid the Eur 16 garage charge. We also learned how to go to the Da Luca restaurant on foot. Umbrellas were offered, and when some of us questioned if the free mini bar was really free, they patiently assured us it was.
Paytv meant one movie channel, same movie in either German or English, plus 2 sports channels and 2 blue movie channels.
The climate control in our room was probably the best I've experienced in a hotel in many years. Granted, the weather outside was neither very hot nor very cold, but the room temperature was just as cool as I like it, without endless fiddling with the thermostat.
Bedding was fine, with summer weight comforters, and we slept comfortably. We used the plug-in internet access, and did not try the wifi.
Breakfast was excellent, with the following highlights:
- sekt was chilled and ready to drink
- there was a cappucino/espresso/latte machine
- a waffle maker, waffles were good, no maple syrup, but plenty of other toppings
- warm bar with several meats and eggs
- made-to-order omelets, with several ingredients, but no meat
- normal German cold breakfast supplies, with a particularly wide selection of marmalades
- several different juices, no fresh squeezed
- comfortable atmosphere, with both armed and armless chairs

All in all, an excellent experience, we will look for Pullman in other locations in the future.

Room Tip: Try to take a business package. Our room was on the back side, and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear karen o, your review is one of the most detailed that we have ever received for Pullman Dortmund! You have made a huge effort to write down this feedback and we are so happy that you appreciate all the conditions that we offer to make our guests happy customers! Naming our service "intelligent" is a big compliment for our team.
If you should visit us again- I am sure our chef can create a delicious vegetarian meal!
Since you mentioned to look for other Pullman Hotels i wonder if you are informed about Le Club, our free Loyalty program. With every stay you earn points and you will receive special benefits in more than 2000 Accor hotels! Contact any reception desk to get information and get points right away. Thank you for taking our time, we hope to welcome you again at Pullman Dortmund.
Best regards, i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oostduinkerke
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Spatious and clean room, a bit old-fashioned allthough. Nice large working desk. Soundproof windows...not the slightest noise from outside !
Clean, well equipped bathroom with luxurious toiletries. Extensive, though expensive (19 €) breakfast : fresh fruits, multiple cereals, youghourts, meat, cheeses, breads, hot dishes, smoothies, fresh orange juice,.....
Expensive parking : 16 €, but right under the hotel and with female parking spots (right next to the elevator : extra safety).
There was no table left in the restaurant, so we had diner at the bar : nice and at a good price (barfood : burgers, sandwiches, salads,...).
Very kind and professional staff.
Overall a very recommendable hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiOostduinkerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

well-equiped stylish room, helpful and professional personel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanDortmund, Guest Relations Manager at Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear bill k, thank you very much for giving us a short feedback concerning your stay. We are very happy that you consider our staff as very "hepful and professional". My very best regards, i.A. Larissa Schlotthauber, Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed at the Pullman hotel in Dortmun while traveling on business. It is the first time for me staying in a Pullman hotel and was not sure what to expect. I was very pleasantly suprised by the friendly staff and spacious room. I also had the chance to eat dinner and breakfast in the hotel and found the food and menu selection to be quite good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#8 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund

Property: Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
Address: Lindemannstrasse 88, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Pullman Dortmund)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right across from the stadium and the lovely Westfalenpark, the Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund is easily accessible with convenient access to all major highways. This world class hotel is well equipped to handle all your important events, with a capacity of up to 300 guests in 14 fully equipped, adaptable meeting rooms and reception areas. All 219 rooms, including suites, have full internet access and provide a welcome oasis of true serenity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing