We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather nice but....”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Asia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Rather nice but....”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is great located and the rooms a rather nicely appointed being in the city centre the private carpark is a added feature. however for me a hotel shows really off when I get greeted with a smile which I did not get yet when you call the hotel you hear this very vibrant staff answering which makes you belief that this is the hotel I want to be maybe I am to fussy, but having spent a long time in Dortmund in my past it was this smiling faces which made the different. Also I got my coffee within minutes it was not really wowwwww coffee for me is a drug and when that is not right in the morning ....... All in all a nice hotel and value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horst1659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
12
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent five nights here during a business trip. Located very close to the main shopping district and restaurants, and only a few blocks from the train station. The room was clean, the receptionists very helpful and friendly. It had what I needed and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Really really good.
I spent there 2 weeks for work and definetely will come back everytime I will be in Dortmund.
Staff has been perfect, kind and professional. Breakfast and dinner were really good.
Location is perfect, right on the ring, really really close to the Konzerthaus and the shopping roads. Wellness area was perfect and also quality/price ratio is good.
Better the new wing of the hotel. Room 515 was the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matteo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Arrived late and the receptionist was great. Secure parking easy to find and leads straight to reception. Lovely bar area, good choice at breakfast. Rooms were very adequate and you even got slippers and bathrobe. Room was clean and very comfortable. probably a bit dated but to be honest was so tired I did not notice. Would stay again. Great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Not the best, not bad. Worst ever fitness facilities. Has sauna. room quite small, not super clean, a bit dated.
Location is alright. Probably would not recommend as I'm sure there would be a better place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bean_ari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Overall this is a good hotel. Close to the city center, clean, and modern. A bit overpriced for what you get. There are several better hotels in Dortmund to a cheaper price. Take a look at them first, before you book here. But all in all we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank NorwegianTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Suspect this hotel is in the process of going through a facelift... The reception and restaurant feel new, modern and stylish. The rooms were perhaps also modern and stylish in the 1970s but not in 2008. They are not shabby but just not at all up to date (except the flatscreen TV). Carpets are a bit worn. The bathrooms are various shades of brown and beige with the occasional floral detail. Got the picture? Breakfast is quite good, especially the heavy German bread.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dr-dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#7 of 54 in Dortmund
598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
1.6 mi away
Stay City Design Hotels Dortmund
0.6 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: Burgwall 3, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Akzent Hotel Esplanade)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a privately run hotel with 83 rooms, which is only 5 minutes from the German Football Museum and only 10 minutes on foot from the railway station. Our strength is that we have two different room categories.   Our first class rooms are all furnished as double rooms and have a minimum size of 23 sqm. These have been completely re-installed in 2007 and are characterized by a very high level of comfort such as, for example, Air conditioning, coffee and tea making facilities, LCD TV and a large desk.   Our standard single rooms are about 16 square meters and equipped with LCD TV, 1x1 meter mattress and mini bar. The new bathrooms in all standard rooms are positive. In summer 2017 the standard rooms were renovated and equipped with air conditioning. A chic industrial design with many extras will surprise the guest.   Furthermore we have a small wellness area with Finnish sauna and fitness room as well as 4 meeting rooms, which have direct access to our Mediterranean courtyard. Our advantage is that the guests have free Internet and can park on one of our 36 parking spaces for 9,00 Euro per day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Dortmund
Dortmund Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing