We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice stopover hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel with two small children en-route to France in July 2012. Check-in was friendly, quick and efficient. Room was fine, if a bit crammed for a family room. Bathroom was nice and clean as well - lots of towels. Only drawback is that there is only one dining option, a rather posh Italian restaurant, not ideal with young kids. The size of the room did not really allow for take away, hence the dining out. Very quiet at night, excellent breakfast in the morning. A great place to stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseMeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    102
    59
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
39
20
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many times and it has always been good. There used to be a very good restaurant just behind it but it is now under different ownership and not good. There are no other restaurants within walking distance but there are two food delivery services pizza and Chinese. The front desk will give menus and place the order for you and they supply knives/forks and there are tables and a bar. We usually have Chinese and it is ridiculously cheap. You can get most items on the menu for about 12 Euros for 2. It's hard to see how they make a profit but the owner delivers in a Mercedes so he must be doing OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a good stay.Staff very friendly and helpful Trams close by and a good resturant behind hotel All day tram travel for 5 adult £11 group ticket

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfmam925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel has all the normal amenities of a Holiday inn express. Good breakfast, nice spacious rooms and free parking. Internet is free in the lobby. Very good Italian restaurant nearby.
From the negative point of view, tv with only German stations beside that it is an outdated CRT.
Since I like to travel by car, it was in a convenient area. If you do not have a car it is a bit far from the centre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.

We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Yours sincerely,

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed here end of August 2011 on business and booked last minute and arrived late at 0100 hrs.Quick easy check in with excellant english spoken throughout this hotel! Breakfast is as you get in the UK with this chain but nothing hot,boiled eggs being the only thing close! Smart and clean hotel and great location if travelling through Dortmund by car.Lots of parking space which is barrier controlled.I thought i lost my sat nav in the room and the bed was turned upside down by the staff to help me search for it! Great Customer Service and all for UK Travelodge money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M6John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.
We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Best regards from Dortmund - Germany

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turk164
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night for business. Hotel bed rather small and very basic as with overall appearance. Shower with very nice powerful hot water. Quiet surroundings which is ideal if you want to rest. Hotel location is close to ring of Dortmund so good access to high ways. Breakfast is also very basic but sufficient. Atmosphere in hotel is not very warm and appealing although staff was very friendly. For the same rate you should be able to find a hotel in the neigbourhood with better ambiance. Note that you have charged parking at the hotel at 8 euro per day. Internet is free in the hotel lobby

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turk164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.
We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Best regards from Dortmund - Germany

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel is clean, staff is efficient and helpful and location is really good. Easy access to the city and a short ride to the airport.
The breakfast was sufficient. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DORWR, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback.
We highly appreciate your review and because of that we are concerned to improve our quality on a constant basis in order to increase our guest satisfaction.

Best regards from Dortmund - Germany

Ralf Birnstihl
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
1.4 mi away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
3.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Dortmund Airport
3.4 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
9.0 mi away
ibis budget Dortmund West
ibis budget Dortmund West
#21 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dortmund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dortmund

Property: Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
Address: Moskauer Strasse 1, 44269 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Dortmund 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Getting to the modern Holiday Inn Express Dortmund is a breeze. We're just 7.5km from Dortmund International Airport and close to the B1 for access to Dortmund city centre. Linger over a generous complimentary buffet breakfast in our vibrant great room and plan your day with complimentary wireless Internet in the airy lobby. Host your event in one of Holiday Inn Express Dortmund's 2 meeting rooms and feel free to make use of our 24-hour self-service Business Centre. Conveniently located within Stadtkrone Ost business park, we're just steps from major companies like IBM, Adesso and 6.5km from Westfalenhallen Trade Fair. The A1 and A44 motorways are within 3km and we have ample parking on site. It's a minute's walk to Hauptfriedhof station, from where U-Bahn trains speed you to Dortmund City Centre in just 20 minutes. Visit lake-dotted Westfalenpark and pause for refreshment in a cozy Old Town brewpub. Discover Dortmund's passion for football at a Bundesliga match in the famous Westfalenstadion, 5km from the hotel. Meet and mingle over drinks on Moonlight Bar's leafy terrace at Holiday Inn Express Dortmund. Our friendly 24-hour front desk staff is happy to recommend local restaurants or order takeaway food for you to enjoy in your comfortable guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dortmund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund Hotel Dortmund
Holiday Inn Dortmund
Dortmund Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing