We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suitable if you are a university guest but no free internet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tryp Dortmund Hotel
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
usa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“suitable if you are a university guest but no free internet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2009

The hotel is reasonably clean, staff is reasonably polite, and its location is OK if you are visiting the university (it takes only 7 mins to walk to the campus). But you will need a car or a local train to get anywhere else. And if you are a university guest, you will probably find it inconvenient that the hotel does not have free internet anywhere -- you have to pay 8 Euros for an hour (meaning one hour from the first moment you got on, not the total use time) or something like 15 Euros for 24 hours -- which could be a good deal but you have to download software and give an internet provider your credit card number. I think at this time and age every business-oriented hotel should provide wi-fi internet included in the room price. My room was quiet except for pluming or exhaust noise that came from the bathroom for short periods of time from time to time. The hotel has smoking rooms, and my nonsmoking room still had a slight odor reminiscent of smoking. It was a very slight odor though, only noticeable when I first entered the room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelreluctant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    94
    66
    19
    12
See reviews for
33
59
17
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The Tryp Hotel in Dortmund is conveniently located near nothing (there will be a new exit directly off the Bahn soon but for now it is still a little off the beaten path).

Staff is friendly, evening bartenders are gracious and learn the habits of frequent travelers quickly. Breakfast is tolerable, but I am not a big fan of their dinner menu, preferring to head into town (via the University station S1 connection) or down into Barop for a pizza or some pasta.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

This is a decent place for a short stay.. It's far away from the city centre but convenient when going to the Westfalenhallen or the airport by car.
Don't expect too much for the money but the rooms were quite large, clean and the beds reasonably comfy. I was located next to the staircase above the lobby so I had some bothering noises once but I quickly dozed away again. Staff was friendly also when we checked in & out (was a very short stay so no experience with breakfast or any of the likes..)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2008

I stayed at the the tryp hotel for one night only as part of a small group visiting the indoor ski centre in bottrop and then going for an evening in dortmund. The hotel itself is functionary - not somewhere to take your other half I would suggest but fine for a handy stop over for business or pleasure.

The problem with the hotel was the night porter - he didn't seem to grasp the concept of the bar offering 24 hour food and beverages, and the fac tthat he was employed to provide this. He was rude and point blank refused to allow any orders from the '24 hour' menu, and would not produce any drink other than cola - not even a lemonade option, heaven forbid asking for alcohol!

He as an individual ensured that I would never recommend to a friend to stay in thhotel.

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — The Night Porter
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dortmund hotels

Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

After having an incredible experience in Cologne, I was eager and excited to continue my tour of Germany. However, the Tryp Hotel put a damper on my good spirits. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a disgruntled front desk agent who informed us that even though we had requested a non-smoking room, only smoking rooms were available. This would only have been a slight set-back had the front desk agent not been as rudely unapologetic as he was. To add insult to injury, as we were checking in, another party checked in and were asked whether or not they wanted smoking or non-smoking.

The hotel is located inconveniantly far away from the center of the city or from anything else for that matter (except the university). The room was average, a decent size, but the amount of dust arising from the carpet as we converted the beds was disgusting. I felt like I was changing the bag in a vacuum cleaner. No joke.

The restaurant was a highlight. While the cuisine was mediocre, the staff was very pleasant and hospitable. As someone who works in the hospitality industry, it made me realize how much of an impact the staff has on ones' experience.

While the facilities are just fine, the Tryp Hotel has some major management issues it needs to work through. I would not stay here again and I would not recommend it to anyone in the future.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CUinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2005

I was reluctant to chance this hotel, given the lack of previous reviews, but found an Expedia rate of $55/night irresistible. Sometimes risks pay off, and this was one. HUGE room (by Euro standards), attentive multi-lingual staff, wireless 'net everywhere, everything immaculate and clean, and free parking. Unless you need to stay in the very center of Dortmund (and if you've rented your shockingly cheap BMW at the airport, you needn't), base yourself 10 km closer to Dusseldorf -- right next to the University of Dortmund -- and spread out for a change. You'll thank me!

  • Stayed January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
3.7 mi away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
1.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
1.8 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
1.2 mi away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Dortmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Dortmund Hotel

Property: Tryp Dortmund Hotel
Address: Emil-Figge-Str. 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Dortmund Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Dortmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Dortmund
Dortmund Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing