We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad, just bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp Dortmund Hotel
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“bad, just bad...”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

bad service, unpolite staff, bad food - I eat both dinner and breakfast there and both where really not very good quality and expensive (dinner). Outrageous prices for internet access - for ca 85€ for the room you would think it is included, but no you have to pay extra: over 2€/hour for using the common PC in the reception area and over 4€/hour to use WIFI in the room
Room was freezing cold, although the room was reserved beforehand .... If it is frezing outside and you expect paying guests I would think it would be common sense for the hotel not to turn down the heating to a minimim as it takes quite a while for the room to warm up.
(if you do not have something to do at the university, is also a super boring location in the middle of nowhere)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drale_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Drale_ontheroad, I am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at the TRYP Dortmund.
Thank you very much for choosing us, for your business travel.
We´re sorry if our service, staff and the quality of your dinner was not what you expected, we´ll make sure to improve it for the next time you come an visit us.
Unfortunately we can´t change the price of internet access at the moment.
We´ve created a new offer, if you book our new business class plus (only at the hotel)
W-LAN will be included for 20 € extra charge.
We notice that we´ve to preheat our rooms during the wintertime.
For your next stay we´ll check it before you check in.
We thank you again for your comments that help you improve our services day by day.
Best regards, Susanne Ficht General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    101
    70
    19
    14
See reviews for
34
65
18
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, excellent helpful reception staff.
It's worth paying for the breakfast
Restaurant is good, but a little pricey. They do put a buffet on for a fixed price.
Bar prices are a bit steep.
There is a reasonably priced Italian restaurant about 10 minutes walk away if you want a change of scene.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRYPDortmund, Manager at Tryp Dortmund Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Nev C, I am Susanne Ficht, the General Manager at the TRYP Dortmund.
Thank you very much for choosing us for your business and for your comments. We hope
to see you soon in our hotel. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I managed to get a 1 night stay at this hotel for a good price so i'm not going to complain about it.
The rooms are fine if your only sleeping and showering in it, if you like to relax and spend time in your hotel room this isn't the place for you.
The hotel bar is fine but when i was there it was very busy and there was only one barman who was having to repeatedly pour beer into glasses and when you ordered he filled a glass using the other glasses to eventually get you a full pint. as a result the beer was a bit flat.
The location isn't the best either unless you are going to the University or attending a Borussia Dortmund match. To get to the City centre you either spend 15 Euros each way in a taxi or use the S Bahn from the University or the U Bahn from An der Palmwelde which are both about 1 mile away, which is fine if the weather is good but not so good if its not as the hotel is in an exposed location. I didn't eat at the hotel and asked the staff if there was a vending machine to get a cold drink and snack from but they told me they didn't have one nor did they sell snacks and could only provide a bottle of fizzy water for 2 Euros, there are no other facilities anywhere near the hotel to buy provisions from so make sure you stack up elsewhere before going to the hotel.
As i said 'You get what you pay for' this hotel was fine for my needs for one night but if i was to return to Dortmund i would stay closer to the City centre.

Room Tip: I think the view towards Borussia Dortmunds football stadium is the better side of the hotel to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The hotel itself is certainly nothing special but it is certainly comfortable and clean, and to be honest these are 2 of the main things we wanted from our hotels. We only stayed here overnight so did not need anything special from the hotel.

The restaurant however let the hotel down in 2 ways. The first was that it was shut in the evening which we were not informed of prior to arrival. We had just finished a 4 hour drive so wanted to sit down for a meal, relax a bit and go to bed... This wasn't going to happen as we had to walk 15 minutes in the cold to try and find the restaurant the receptionist recommended. Luckily the restaurant was VERY good, but it would have been nice to have been able to eat at the hotel.

The second let down was the following morning when we had a pretty expensive breakfast. We paid 13 euros each, which I think was one of the most expensive breakfasts during a 2 week trip. To be honest for what you pay I can't say that there was anything particularly special about it.

To be fair to the receptionist, she did a very good job and it seemed like she was pretty much running the whole hotel that evening.... Luckily it wasn't too busy. I didn't see any other staff until the following morning when we saw a cleaner and a new receptionist & waiter... Although the receptionist who saw us in at 6pm the previous evening and was there around 9:00pm after coming back from the restaurant was still there / there again at 8:00am the next morning.

Room Tip: Even if you smoke, don't have a smoking room... make the 1 minute journey to outside the entran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Positives include being close to the University, where I had a couple of meetings, and I had a view of Westfalenstadion from my room. However, the hotel is a few miles from the city and the rooms are rather depressing and spartan. This hotel has clearly been built to a price point and ease of maintenance. Staff were OK, one receptionist very helpful - the others I interacted with unenthused, clearly just doing a job and nothing more. The bed was not comfortable for me, felt like a very cheap mattress. There is no free internet access, €1 or €2 for access to lobby PCs and printer. Wifi was ~€5 for one hour, it dropped out several times when I was connected. Breakfast was OK. Buffet included a reasonable range of cold food, one hot choice of bacon, eggs and sausage. Personally I will look elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: Football fans ask for a room with a view of Westfalenstadion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel is situated literally in the fields, not that far from the famous stadium though.

It’s quite expensive for 3 stars, I wish I could find something more affordable right in Dortmund in 4 star and 5 star hotels as my friends did. There is no free wi-fi, only 3 ways are possible – 1 hour - 5 euro, 10 hours – 20 euro, 30 days – 32 euro. If you buy 1 hour - it's valid for one login only. Breakfast, if not included costs 13.5 euro. Rooms are ok, clean, hairdryer , shampoo only.

To get train from the station “Dortmund Universitat” you have to walk about 15 min. One-way ticket costs 2.4 euro, all day ticket 5,4 euro. If you want to buy sim-card you can do it on Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, it’s 3 stations from “Dortmund Universitat”, you need to take way 2, where is written “Dortmund”.

There are no restaurants nearby, except student cafes. You can have a lunch there, it will cost you max.5 euro. It’s situated right next to the station, you will have to go along library through the bridge and you will see big yellow building.

Everything in this area is closed in the evening on Saturday and all day on Sunday.

If you plan your trip as a student of the University it’s better to stay in city center and after take a taxi, what will cost you max.15 euro.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaChiChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The room was nice and clean, no bathtub though, english speaking staff was very helpful. Breakfast was fine. Too bad there is no free wifi, I expect that in a business hotel. The location is a bit of a problem but taxi services are cheap in Germany.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferdinand72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
3.7 mi away
Stay City Design Hotels Dortmund
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
2.2 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#8 of 54 in Dortmund
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dortmund
1.8 mi away
Novum Hotel Excelsior
Novum Hotel Excelsior
#23 of 54 in Dortmund
63 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Dortmund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Dortmund Hotel

Property: Tryp Dortmund Hotel
Address: Emil-Figge-Str. 41, 44227 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Dortmund Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Dortmund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Dortmund
Dortmund Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing