We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper hotel, not part of a generic chain”
Review of Ringhotel Drees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringhotel Drees
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I like this hotel. Stayed here on business, and quite happy to end up here. The style and layout of the hotel is slightly old fashioned, so decent sized rooms, and - get this - a Corby trouser press in my room.
The restaurant served very good food at a reasonable price. The parsnip soup with roasted chorizo was up there with the soups I have had. The breakfast was typical hotel fare and served its purpose.

Downstairs, however, is the distinguishing feature. It has a proper bar/pub in the basement. It sells beer, has lots of TVs and, as put by another reviewer, it has some bowling alleys next to the bar. You have to book these and they don't let you play late due to the noise - but there are bowling alleys next to the bar, in the basement of the hotel. How good is that!

Like everywhere in Dortmund the prices are heavily influenced by tradefairs and football fixtures. When there's not too much on it is fair value, if the city is rammed the prices go up and you are better off staying outside the city and getting the train in.

Room Tip: Don't leave it too late to go bowling. YOu can't use them late in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jellyfish_Electric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 95 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is comfortable with spacious and clean rooms. The breakfast was excellent and their staff were nice and helpful. The main drawback is that is was on the pricy side and the wifi internet access was not free. It is very close to the U-bahn station although the downtown is within a walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was nice to stay in a hotel that was not part of a huge chain. This hotel is still family run and provides a good service.
I couldn't get my electric adapter to work, the hotel reception were very helpful and let me borrow one for a 10 Euro refundable deposit.
There is a restaurant that serves reasonable food. The only thing I disliked was the tiny size of the mineral water bottles. You'll get about 3 sips before having to order another one.
When I stayed they had an ironing board available in a room on the ground floor which proved very useful.
The rooms are large and comfortable with a decent sized desk.

Room Tip: You can borrow electric adapters, they charge a 10 Euro refundable deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farouqtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a family hotel and has a family atmosphere, a mixture of pre-reunification nostalgia and modern facilities. It is easy to reach from the main station using the light rail system.

My room was small but comfortable and OK for a one-night stay. WLAN was available but unfortunately at extra cost (there are still many hotels with this policy in Germany).

The restaurant is large and nicely laid out; the breakfast there was good. The hotel is well-staffed and the personnel were all helpful and friendly.

At a similar price to the Ibis chain with somewhat more charm this hotel is ideal for business visitors.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Within walking distance of center of Dortmund. Rate was reasonable.

Used restaurant for dinner meal only (nice enough) but a number of restaurants within walking distance. Staff friendly. Room modern, big flat screen (only one English Channel CNN news), beds comfortable, room had minibar & safe too. Rooms are more modern/updated than lobby which is good as they the important part.

A few of us had rooms and they gave u a cable for Internet which was free but it worked for none of us (hotel not know why it not work) so we paid 5 EUR per day for wireless. Still can't believe in today's age that decent hotels still charge for Internet. This only real negative.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed and the room this time was much larger than the first time I stayed. It was very comfortable, clean and well presented. Absiolutely no outside noise or disturbance which meant I had a great nights sleep in a very comfotable bed
The staff here are very helpful and polite. Breakfast was great, loads of hot and cold options.
There is also a great Italian restaurant over the road.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Can't comment on the rooms, just on their restaurant as we met up with a group of friends for brunch there. Included in our group were about half a dozen children, from schoolkids to those just learning to crawl, and we'd picked the place explicitly because it offered activities for kids to keep them entertained.

This proved to be a great choice - they had a whole separate room with kids-size tables set up where they could work on crafts projects, colour or just play with a selection of toys. The lady who looked after them was, without being unflattering, cleary an old pro at this - presumably a grandmother herself. This added greatly to our good experience there.

Food was also delicious, quite upmarket and inventive, with lots of fresh produce - not at a bargain price, but good value for money if you decide to give yourself a bit of a treat. We would have hoped for some more vegtarian options though.

The one thing I didn't care for at all was the boss-type person supervising everything and ordering his staff about quite curtly - I half expected him to snap his fingers at them, and it didn't do anything to promote a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
1.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#4 of 54 in Dortmund
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
stays design Hotel Dortmund
0.3 mi away
Dorint An den Westfalenhallen Dortmund
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Drees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Drees

Address: Hohe Str. 107, 44139 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range: $116 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Drees 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal contact with the guest has always been a special priority. We see ourselves as attentive and informal hosts, who are able to offer your guests an ambiance which is both individual and of a high standard. As a member of the Ringhotel chain, we are certain of the fact that high quality, family management, personal atmosphere and traditional hospitality are all values which should be cultivated. The Riepe family and their staff look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ringhotel Drees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing