We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run hotel with a bowling alley in the basement” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ringhotel Drees

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ringhotel Drees
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family run hotel with a bowling alley in the basement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was nice to stay in a hotel that was not part of a huge chain. This hotel is still family run and provides a good service.
I couldn't get my electric adapter to work, the hotel reception were very helpful and let me borrow one for a 10 Euro refundable deposit.
There is a restaurant that serves reasonable food. The only thing I disliked was the tiny size of the mineral water bottles. You'll get about 3 sips before having to order another one.
When I stayed they had an ironing board available in a room on the ground floor which proved very useful.
The rooms are large and comfortable with a decent sized desk.

Room Tip: You can borrow electric adapters, they charge a 10 Euro refundable deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farouqtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    37
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany/UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a family hotel and has a family atmosphere, a mixture of pre-reunification nostalgia and modern facilities. It is easy to reach from the main station using the light rail system.

My room was small but comfortable and OK for a one-night stay. WLAN was available but unfortunately at extra cost (there are still many hotels with this policy in Germany).

The restaurant is large and nicely laid out; the breakfast there was good. The hotel is well-staffed and the personnel were all helpful and friendly.

At a similar price to the Ibis chain with somewhat more charm this hotel is ideal for business visitors.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, TX USA (near Houston)
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Within walking distance of center of Dortmund. Rate was reasonable.

Used restaurant for dinner meal only (nice enough) but a number of restaurants within walking distance. Staff friendly. Room modern, big flat screen (only one English Channel CNN news), beds comfortable, room had minibar & safe too. Rooms are more modern/updated than lobby which is good as they the important part.

A few of us had rooms and they gave u a cable for Internet which was free but it worked for none of us (hotel not know why it not work) so we paid 5 EUR per day for wireless. Still can't believe in today's age that decent hotels still charge for Internet. This only real negative.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed and the room this time was much larger than the first time I stayed. It was very comfortable, clean and well presented. Absiolutely no outside noise or disturbance which meant I had a great nights sleep in a very comfotable bed
The staff here are very helpful and polite. Breakfast was great, loads of hot and cold options.
There is also a great Italian restaurant over the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Can't comment on the rooms, just on their restaurant as we met up with a group of friends for brunch there. Included in our group were about half a dozen children, from schoolkids to those just learning to crawl, and we'd picked the place explicitly because it offered activities for kids to keep them entertained.

This proved to be a great choice - they had a whole separate room with kids-size tables set up where they could work on crafts projects, colour or just play with a selection of toys. The lady who looked after them was, without being unflattering, cleary an old pro at this - presumably a grandmother herself. This added greatly to our good experience there.

Food was also delicious, quite upmarket and inventive, with lots of fresh produce - not at a bargain price, but good value for money if you decide to give yourself a bit of a treat. We would have hoped for some more vegtarian options though.

The one thing I didn't care for at all was the boss-type person supervising everything and ordering his staff about quite curtly - I half expected him to snap his fingers at them, and it didn't do anything to promote a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pottgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
263 reviews
262 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Nice hotel in good location. The room was ok, clean and comfortible. Bed also was ok. The staff in the reception was nice and friendly. No air condition in my room - that was a big problem because that night was very hot. No fitnessroom. Internet is expensive - 5EUR. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

1) clean!
2) very close to city centre (15 minute walk)
3) ok breakfast
4) polite staff
5) that's about it!

Room Tip: don't prepay for breakfast. It's too expensive. Just get out, walk to the city center and ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexiskefalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Messe & Kongress
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arcadia Grand Hotel Dortmund
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
1.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#8 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Drees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Drees

Property: Ringhotel Drees
Address: Hohe Strasse 107, 44139 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ringhotel Drees 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal contact with the guest has always been a special priority. We see ourselves as attentive and informal hosts, who are able to offer your guests an ambiance which is both individual and of a high standard. As a member of the Ringhotel chain, we are certain of the fact that high quality, family management, personal atmosphere and traditional hospitality are all values which should be cultivated. The Riepe family and their staff look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ringhotel Drees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing