We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location....but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good location....but”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

great location... restaurant and food was very good and the breakfast buffet was nice too... but there has to be gluten and lactose free options please...
The parking situation is a little annoying but i told them not to touch my car and they never moved or touched it...

the rooms are a little out dated and need a little upgrade...

the location is perfect, just 2 min away from Starbucks and the Alte Markt with great patios for good german beer and food.

I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSchwerdtner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNettstraeter, Team at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

your time taken to write down your impressions of your stay is highly appreciated -
Great to know, you felt comfortable overall!

For your next stay we would like to inform you that there are gluten and lactose free options possible on request. Just let us know, when you will arrive again and we are glad to offer lactose and gluten free alternatives to you! Additionally we will discuss with our kitchen whether it is an option to have these on our breakfast buffet regulary.

When it comes to parking, the underground car park "Friedensplatz" is just 200 metres distant and can be an alternative to the spaces in front of the hotel.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
the whole Team of Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    131
    83
    13
    8
See reviews for
28
58
34
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Everything was perfect. We had stayed here the year before and loved the two rooms we had so I contacted the hotel beforehand and they made sure our rooms were the same as last year. Breakfast was amazing. Close to the city and shopping. We particularly liked the way the staff
made sure that our expectations were met.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNettstraeter, Team at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mister Sandfeld,

it was a pleasure welcoming you and your family again! It makes us glad to know, you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Team of Park Inn by Radisson is looking forward to your next stay in Dortmund!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for the second time with my family. Great location in the city. Parking is almost none but they do a great job of taking care of your car. Breakfast is REALLY good. They have a large TEA bar with great selections. The hotel is a little old school german hotel no doubt but it is clean. The WiFi is by TheCloud. It is REALLY poor in terms of access rights to sights. I got it free on this visit because I pointed out that it says FREE on the web site. Otherwise the WiFi would have been 70 EURO (Really!!). Beads are hard as boards which is great for back sleepers (typical hard german beds).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNettstraeter, Assistant to General Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

it was a pleasure welcoming you and your family back at Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund!
Many thanks for letting us know about your experiences - great to read, you enjoyed yourselfes at our hotel.

You are right in your opinion about the internet access. At the moment the cost for 24h access is € 17.00 but we are crossing our fingers for being able to offer wifi free of charge soon.

We will keep you updated.

Kind regards,
the whole team of Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Old fashioned expensive WLAN Poor breakfast everything Costs something
Poor rooms bathrooms old value for money is poor
Long checkout queue in the morning
Everything grey nothing attractive
Overall summary everything below average

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNettstraeter, Team at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback.

It is a pity you did not fell as comfortable staying with us as it is our aim.

Your input is highly appreciated as it helps us improve ourselves.

Kind regards,
the whole team of Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is quite good, the rooms are acceptable but not really inviting for a longer stay. In the morning I was woken up by the music which is played all day long outside the rooms. No problem for me, I had to get up anyway but I think it is a little annoying for everyone trying to get a little more rest.
Wi-Fi is very expensive, I think everyone should be able to expect free Wi-Fi access at least in the lobby in hotel categories like these. Though, breakfast was really good, way better than in many other business trip hotels and staff is friendly. I think Park Inn Dormund works out quite well for one or two nights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperEastSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNettstraeter, Assisten to at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your detailled and honest feedback to your stay with us.

Your impressions are very useful and have caused some actions already - music in our corridors will be turned off in the evening until morning for example to ensure a relaxing sleep at night.

So thanks again for letting us know.

Kind regards,
the whole team of Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Park Inn by Radussion a 'Business' hotel?Even business persons like some things'free/complementary' than all the time.Or bring there own: coffee, tea sachets, brew up in the sink, remember to clean the sink before having a wash/shave?

Helpful?
Thank D M W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NNettstraeter, Team at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback!

This helps us to improve our product and services.

Kind regards,
the whole team of Park Inn by Radisson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The room is nice and clean, a little bit cold but after turning the heat up it was ok. The people came across very friendly and helpful. Wifi seems to be a bit pricy though compared to other countries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coriini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNettstraeter, Assistant to General Manager at Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for letting us know about your stay at our property!
It was a pleasure receiving your feedback and we shared with our colleagues immediately.
Hopefully we may welcome you bak in Dortmund soon!

Kind regards,
your team of Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.4 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#5 of 54 in Dortmund
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
1.6 mi away
Stay City Design Hotels Dortmund
1.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum

Property: Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Address: Olpe 2, 44135 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson Dortmund)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel in Dortmund features modern rooms and free spa facilities. It is located on Friedensplatz in the city centre, 200 metres from Stadtgarten Underground Station. The air-conditioned rooms of the Mercure Dortmund Centrum hotel include a flat-screen cable TV and a safe. Free WiFi access is also available. Guests can make free use of the sauna and small fitness studio at the Mercure Dortmund Centrum. The Mercure Dortmund Centrum provides rich breakfast buffets in the mornings. International and regional dishes are served in the Bonvivant restaurant with conservatory and summer terrace. The Mercure Dortmund Centrum's Fortune bar offers a range of cocktails, local beers and small snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dortmund Park Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing