We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Four of us in our family stayed at the A&O in Dortmund for 3 nights. We had an en suite bathroom which was very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is no laundry on site, but there is one across the street and down a block or so. Nice location, close to the train station and lots of shopping/restaurants. Except for one night where a group of guys next door were having a party, we slept well. The price was great. Internet access in the rooms is available, but know that you pay per person/device for access - not per room. Don't bother paying for breakfast - there are plenty of places nearby where you can grab a coffee and some bread. If ever we are in that part of Germany again, I would not hesitate to stay at the A&O..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    60
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
12
19
28
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hostel very clean and near the centre and train station. Rooms have everything you need in them. If your travelling on interrail you can get a 10% discount here as well. It can be a bit noisy at night from outside but apart from that there are no bad points

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesRed29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great hostel. Used it to go watch the football for weekend. Deffinatly go and will recommend to anyone who goes to Dortmund. Right in the town centre. Right next to the train. Metro. And bus stations. Cheap and tasteful beer. Great staff. Free 24/7 wifi. Full of friendly visitors staying aswell. Great stay

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusphillipsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
200 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed here in a single room for one night in November 2012. Room was larger, than expected. Less than 5 minutes walking to main railway station. Friendly welcome from reception staff. I was satisfied, as I was just looking for a budget place to sleep with no frills. Rooms to the front are a bit noisy due to traffic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed five night is a six bed dormitory style room and found the hotel quite decent . The room was clean , there was free Wi-Fi available both in the reception and in the room and the quality of sleep was excellent . For a 5 Euro deposit I got a lock for the locker in the room . The locker itself had a decent size so one could safely guard a lot of things inside. The personal spoke English and Spanish fluently and I had no problems during check in/outs. Overall I am very satisfied , but still find the price of 20 Euro a bit too step for a dormitory accommodation - 10 to 15 Euro is what most Student / economy travelers hostel should strive for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here several times with my boyfriend and once on my own. Each time we experienced great service and had clean, comfortable rooms. I felt very comfortable and safe staying there as a woman traveling alone. It is a short walk to the train station and right on the edge of the inner city/downtown area. You can pay 5 Euro more for a late check out (2:00 p.m. instead of 10:00 a.m.), which is great when you need a little more time in the morning. The breakfast for 6 Euros is a good value, because it is well stocked with lots of options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel after a football game for one night. It is very clean and the beds are really OK. With this price I can always recommend it for a short term stay. You get a real good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#3 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
6.1 mi away
ibis budget Dortmund West
ibis budget Dortmund West
#25 of 56 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
1.1 mi away
Ibis Dortmund City
Ibis Dortmund City
#14 of 56 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Property: A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Address: Koenigswall 2, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your A&O Dortmund Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing