We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Tuulos, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great and luxurious”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Great choice for staying in Dortmund! Very luxurious looking interior both in lobby and in the room. Even the cheapest room is spacious and has the same athmosphere as the public areas of the hotel. Very central location just at the west end of the pedestrian street and walking distance from the railway station. The hotel has also parking garage and free wireless internet. Awesome price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Toni,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.
We are delighted that you had a nice stay in our Novum Hotel Unique.
We would be very pleased if we can welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Unique Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    191
    127
    33
    18
See reviews for
63
114
46
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Was in a group of ten we had a great time hotel help with accepting tickets for football which I had purchased from ebay they contacted me each time they arrived hotel was stunning and close to centre of city near the excellent pfferkorn resteraunt and das dog the best hot dog ever

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkt71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Unique Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Unique Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I love this hotel. First of all, the entrance is very lovely, with big chandeliers and huge furniture. Maybe the hotel is a little bit old, but that is not a remark, the other things are very nice. What is most important, it's a great deal of money. It's just across the pedestrian street that goes strait to the center of the town. Everything is very near, because the city center is not very big itself. So the location is wonderful! Other thing that I loved was the period of time when I was staying there. Actually that was the reason that I was visiting Dortmund - the Christmas Market. Can you imagine 300 beautiful German style stalls on the pedestrian streets everywhere in the city center and the biggest Christmas tree in the world is right in Dortmund? Wow, I was amazed, I didn't want to leave Dortmund... I suggest everyone to visit this city and this hotel during Christmas time...you won't be sorry. So back to the hotel, in the bar, right in the lobby, during day time you must try the cappuccino, I have never tried sooo big cappuccino... And also there is something like happy hour around 7 pm - which means that you can order two cocktails and pay only one. The hotel has free wi-fi with good quality signal. I would definitely recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: There can be noise from the street, so ask a room in the upper floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Unique Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Dortmund.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Unique Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

First the lobby - it is like coming into The Great Gatsbys house in a lowbudget film. Huge, false mabel, oversized furnitures, and a stairway Grace Kelly would have loved - you just get into a good mood, because it is so strange. We were there in a long weekend in February and that may explain the low price - 180 euro for 3 nights in a very, very big businessroom with a view to the city and an sofa again in The Great Gatsby-style, a flatscreen and a perfect bathroom with both shower and bathtube. Breakfast not included - parking in a garage for 13 euro pr night.
And for Dortmund, which is not the most sexy city in Germany, the hotel is perfectly situated - just where the pedestrian-street into 'Mitte' begins and just 100 meters from the very good and attractive museum for modern art 'U'.
Mitte has a lot of shops, but go the other way into Krezviertel wich is the place for students and young families - here you will find good and cheap restaurants (but remember cash, the usually don't accept credit cards - very germanish...).
So if you go to Dortmund .- and why not, the football is great! - this hotel is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toftwinther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Unique Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees and directors.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Unique Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Very Nice hotel situated centrally in dortmund. Spacious rooms with all mod cons. Reception staff very helpfull. Free parking available although it will probably full by late afternoon. Excellent hotel for a football weekend in Dortmund, about a 20 min walk to the stadion.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind words, regarding your stay in our Hotel Unique Novum.
We have gladly passed your positive comments to our employees.
We hope to welcome you again as our guest soon.

Sincerely Yours

Unique Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We choose this hotel for its location, price and free internet.
The hotel is old fashioned, rooms spacious but quite cold, so cant imagine how it is during the cold days.Rooms are clean, bathroom quite nice, got everything what you need, you will also get kettle upon request. Definately i will get back to this one as wont get any better for this price!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SAB_ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovumGroupHotels, Guest Relation Assistant at Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice Review.
We are delighted that you had a nice time in Dortmund.
We would be glad to welcome you again in one of our Novum Hotels.

Faithfully Yours

Unique Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is located 10 minutes away from Dortmund Hauptbahnhof on foot. They have 24 hour check out. And that is all good about it.

Hotel interior looks expensive at first glance but then I realized that it is actually tasteless and cheap. They just tried to imitate luxury. My room was standard, with an OK bed, enough space and a desk. Unfortunately, whenever I tried to open the window to let some fresh air in, I could hear the noise from some machine like compressor of fan or something. So, no sleeping with open window.

The internet connection was horrible. They say it is free but the signal was strong enough only in the main hall. There was only one spot in my room (somewhere in the middle of my bed) where the connection was strong enough to be used properly. One can imagine how hard it is to use laptop in bed.

Staff was neither very helpful nor very kind. Desk clerk rolled her eyes when she saw that I was from Serbia - I never saw that happening in any other hotel in the world no matter whether they like my country or not. There were no towels in my bathroom on my arrival, so I went downstairs to ask that very same clerk for some towels. This time she tried to convince me that I must be mistaking and that that she is certain that every room has towels. I got them only after I insisted.

I would recommend avoiding this hotel unless location is of the essence.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no good internet connection. Some rooms are exposed to noise from machines in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstargazerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dortmund hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
2.1 mi away
Stay City Design Hotels Dortmund
0.4 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#7 of 54 in Dortmund
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Excelsior
Novum Hotel Excelsior
#22 of 54 in Dortmund
62 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Address: Hoher Wall 38, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Unique Hotel Dortmund)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Business Hotel Unique is in the center of Dortmund, just a few minutes walk from Central Station. The hotel captivates with its fascinating foyer, exceptional Casablanca Bar & lounge and an elegant restaurant. The Bar & Lounge, which is surrounded by sea water aquariums, offers guests a wide selection of coffee and tea specialties and international wines. The 127 stylish rooms of the category comfort, superior up to Category Exclusive with all the extras for the most wonderful stay in the Ruhr and Westphalia, the hotel offers you all the creature comforts you would expect from a hotel. The local attractions are within a few minutes. Discover the variety of shopping facilities, or the Museum of Art and Cultural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing