We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel situated in the centre of Dortmund, just across from the shopping precinct. The hotel lobby / reception area is fantastic. The staff were extremely helpfull. The rooms were spacious and clean, with all the necessary accessories . Its a 20 min walk up to Borrusia Dortmund's Iduna Signal stadion. Definately recommend

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    183
    123
    29
    18
See reviews for
63
114
44
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

BE CAREFUL THEY ARE CHEAT AND THIEVES
NOVUM HOTEL UNIQUE USES YOUR CREDIT CARD UNAUTHORIZED
BE CARRIFUK WHEN YOU GAVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD FOR EXTRAS GUARANY.
We had Dortmund for organisation and organizers get 80 € special price from this hotel for their guest. When we arrive the hotel it was midnight 13 April 2013. We made a check in and they told uas they will be get 0,01 € from our credit card for extras guaranty. After that we get phone message they get 310 € from our crecitr card without our permiton. What can we do on the midnight. When we ask to reception they said it was rack rate. But we try to explain them we have are guest of the organisaiton. And then they said they can arrange everything on the morning. Also we made our reservation for one night. And we made an other night reservation from the Hotel.de system 78 € per night. But they did not accept that reservation. I was a small room. But they said it was superior room. We did not want a superior room. also it is not. They was know we have not enought time fro find an other hotel. We have a lot of meeting.
as a result
You can made a reservation fron any system. If you are not awake they will be charge rack rate.
PLEASE BE CARRIFUL WHEN THEY WANT TO YOUR CREDIT CARD FOR EXTRAS GUARANY. THEY WILL BE CHARGE EVERYTHING WHAT THEY WANT AND HOW MUCH THEY WANT. WITHOUT YOUR PERMITION.
You can appeal only to the reservation system and the bank. When results are unpredictable. but they would have taken your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birgul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dortmund hotels

London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great position with fantastic restaurant adjoining, "the pfefferkorn." Good parking , close to the shops and market. We found it quiet and comfortable. The showers were fantastic and gave a great massage with their high pressure. Staff were fine although they did not make us feel at all special. Foyer decor needs to be seen, it is worth the visit on its pwn. Rooms decorated in what I felt was turkish or north afrian style. Probably needs a revamp to birg the inside in line with the exterior. I would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londononno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location of the hotel is great - right in front of the walking street with lots of shops and cafés. The lobby is very beautiful and luxurous, the rooms are spacious... but still there's something that made me unwilling to go back there. Maybe it's the WiFi that didn't work properly or just one towel in a room reserved for two... or awful beds and terrible pilllows that caused pain in my neck. It feels like 4 star were given to the hotel because of nice lobby and marble walls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_teryna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This most unusual hotel is interesting and has a grand lobby. It is listed as a 4 Star, but lacks several amenites which make it a 3 Star at best. There is no restaurant, no ability to exchange money, a VERY bad bed and odd arrangement of furniture so that watching TV (which we had a problem with) is difficult. There was so much furniture in the room we had, but it was not possible to have a view of TV .It was a disappointing experience and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife stayed in this hotel for business and our daughter and I joined her over the weekend for three nights. All in all it was a very good experience.

The lobby of this hotel is just something else. Never seen so much marble in a hotel. It was a pretty spectacular sight. The bar area is really nice and the aquariums are just great. My daughter loved looking at the exotic fish, and so did I.

The room was very good as well. We had two large single beds and a baby cot set up and there was still plenty of space to walk around. The bathroom is spacious as well, with two sinks and two mirrors. I loved the beds! I can imagine why people think they're too hard but that's just the way I like them. They reminded me of our beds at home and I slept wonderful every night. There was a busy street outside our room but the isolation of the double glass was very good so we weren't disturbed in our sleep. Rooms were cleaned very well on a daily base. Wi-fi reception in our room was great but several of my wife's colleagues complained about the reception in their rooms. I guess it all depends on where your room is located.

Location is great, just on top of the main shopping street of Dortmund and very close to restaurants and bars. There's also a nice bar in the hotel itself with a daily cocktail Happy Hour every day.

The only reason I didn't give this hotel an excellent is the staff. The staff at the reception desk didn't seem all that interested in their guests and it looked like they were trying to hide behind the desk playing computer games. Questions were hardly answered and there was no 'thank you, you're welcome or can I help you' a single time.

We also had a weird experience at the hotel bar. My wife and I went for a cocktail during Happy Hour and both ordered a cocktail at the same time when the waitress came to take our order. When we wanted to pay she charged us the full amount since the cocktails weren't ordered by one person (even though they were on the same bill). We thought this was really weird and to be honest I've never heard of this before. We were given the option to pay the full price or both have another cocktail for free (even though happy hour was finished). We went for the latter option but still thought the handling of this situation was very weird and not customer-friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nielsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I spend there only one night and that was enought. For 38euro a fantastic price, but the room wasnt worth more. Noisy and small with very small bed. It seems the mattress was on the floor. Again, the hotel fulfilled the purpose, but it wasnt a feel well stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TorroGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
2.1 mi away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
0.4 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#8 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novum Hotel Excelsior
Novum Hotel Excelsior
#21 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Address: Hoher Wall 38, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Unique Hotel Dortmund)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Business Hotel Unique is in the center of Dortmund, just a few minutes walk from Central Station. The hotel captivates with its fascinating foyer, exceptional Casablanca Bar & lounge and an elegant restaurant. The Bar & Lounge, which is surrounded by sea water aquariums, offers guests a wide selection of coffee and tea specialties and international wines. The 127 stylish rooms of the category comfort, superior up to Category Exclusive with all the extras for the most wonderful stay in the Ruhr and Westphalia, the hotel offers you all the creature comforts you would expect from a hotel. The local attractions are within a few minutes. Discover the variety of shopping facilities, or the Museum of Art and Cultural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing