We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, everything else a little bit dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grey Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Certificate of Excellence
Velika Gorica, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, everything else a little bit dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Location is perfect 10/10. Literally 1min from Dortmund main train station and in the heart of the Dortmund shopping area.

Airport Express bus station is 200m from the hotel and airport is 20min drive from there with the bus.

On the other side, room is to small , no air conditioning, tiles on the floor, lift is very very slow.

If you are looking only for the perfect location, look no further.
If you are looking for the comfort try another hotel in the area.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubravko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    52
    22
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
31
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
200 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

We stayed in Grey hotel 3 nights, 8-11 May 2011.
We had a suite, it was very confortable. The hotel is very clean, in a perfect central position, the staff always gentle and the price was OK for what they offered.
Breakfast was good, even repetitive.
A little problem was with the towels, could be a better quality and with the smallest and slowest elevater ever :D.
We would choose the same if we were back in Dortmund.

Room Tip: get the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viviRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here with a friend in desember. It seems that the hotel recently has been updated, and it is clean, neat, and not wore down. The only thing I can put my finger on, is that it looks like they have used some cheap materials, instead of going for some real high-end decor. But it really does not matter. The hotel is very good, and the service is excellent! The location could not be better. I would recomend this hotel to business travelers or as a couple retreat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank NorwegianTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trzebinia, Poland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

We couldn't have made a better choice for a weekend in Dortmund! The hotel was very modern with attractive cubist design. The rooms were spotlessly clean ,spacious and stylish. Brand new amenities. Very nice and helpful staff . At breakfast we were served by a charming and very helpful girl of Polish origin, which was very nice especially to my parents who don't speak English or German. The staff recommended us places worth seeing in the city and the area. The hotel itself is perfectly located in the very center of the city, close to the railway station and the shopping area. The hotel is undoubtedly worth staying in!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
188 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

Stayed at The Grey for 2 nights in December. Excellent location for station, airport bus stop and Christmas Markets.

Hotel was immaculate and modern, very calm and spacious breakfast room. Double bedroom was a little small but was very well equiped and comfortable.

Staff were helpful and friendly. Good value, ideal location.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dortmund hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund City
0.2 mi away
NH Dortmund
NH Dortmund
#8 of 55 in Dortmund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novum Hotel Unique Dortmund Hauptbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
Stay City Hotels Dortmund
#1 of 55 in Dortmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Dortmund Centrum
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Dortmund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Hotel

Property: The Grey Hotel
Address: Schmiedingstr 11 - 13, 44137 Dortmund, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dortmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Dortmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing