We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional food in a pub like atmosphere”

FRUH "Em Golde Kappes"
Ranked #385 of 2,723 Restaurants in Cologne
Neighborhood: Nippes
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Nippes
Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

On our first night in Cologne we went here for dinner. I really wanted to try some traditional Kölsch food and to drink Kölsch. It delivered.

Not knowing any Deutsch, the staff were very helpful. I had the mett-happen and the himmel un ääd. Both very tasty and washed down with some Kölsch.

I would definitely go back again.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank gatekepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

I ordered from the seasonal menu. The white asparagus was quite good, the sauce hollandaise not quite so. While one of us was disappointed with "Suelze" others enjoyed the goulasch soup and a rye roll with a thick slice of dutch cheese. Service had a little problem to get the food to the correct table. The pub is best visited with friends. Nice atmosphere to have a couple of beers.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank ukusa2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

This pub is located in the Nippes area if Cologne which is quite good for bars etc. We came here for a bite to eat on a warm summer night and sat outside. The service was excellent, very attentative, never having to ask before the glass was empty. The Kölsch is one of the best in Cologne and the food was every bit as good. We both had Goulasch which was a large portion with very tender meat. Just watch out as we wanted to order the small Goulasch at €5 but were asked if we wanted the Hungarian Goulasch. As this dish comes from Hungary I said yes but this is a main course at double the price. Still we spent 30 Euro on 2 meals and sufficient drink to wash it down with so all in all good value!

The Cologne menu, written in dialect, is hilarious if you understand it but they also have it translated. Otherwise if you order 1/2 a chicken you'd get a cheese sandwich!

We'll be back as we felt right at home amongst the locals!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank groovybaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were a group of twelve.
Food is classic German, nothing special, but good to eat.
Price-quality ratio is OK.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ericschlangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed July 11, 2008

German Classic Food served in Breweries Atmosphere. Nice Koelsch to support the stommach

Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FRUH "Em Golde Kappes" also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to FRUH "Em Golde Kappes"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing