We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rammed but amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lommerzheim

Lommerzheim
Ranked #9 of 2,374 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lincs
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Rammed but amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Head south of the river and find this amazing bar/restaurant. We got there late afternoon on a Saturday and it was absolutely packed. Bar upstairs and restaurant downstairs. The atmosphoere was amazing and food coming out looked awesome. It was so busy we had to stand near kitchen but even there, the beers kept coming. Would highly recommend that you visit and get away from the cliche places north of the river.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LancsbutYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    149
    41
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Different but great beer & food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were a little put off by the fact that they seat random people at your table (i.e. you are sitting at a table with your spouse when another couple, unknown to you, enters the restaurant and gets seated at your table). We weren't expecting this but eventually warmed up to the idea since the couple who sat with us was very nice.

The beer is excellent - I believe you can only buy their special brew at this restaurant and at one other establishment in Colgone - that's it.

The bratwurst is GIGANTIC but soooo delicious! It is enough to feed two people.

In short, it was a worthwhile experience. And we would definitely go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonniemarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal here. Came here a couple of months ago. Great food and wine though in my opinion a little over priced. Service was great, staff were knowledgeable but not pretentious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great meal and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Had lunch here & was very enjoyable.
Ate double pork chop and fries really crispy outside and superbly tender inside and well seasoned, washed down with kolsch.
Nice atmosphere too.
Was worth the effort to get there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Kölsch Experience in Its Own League”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

If you're up for a real locals experience, hit this place. Located on the wrong side of the river, in a slightly shady backstreet & serving slightly shady guests, this place was super fun. Order the pork cutlet with fried onions and French fries: positively the largest portion of dead animal I've ever been served...plus very tasty and good value at around EUR 10. But really, it's the vibe and off-beat clientele (plus the Kölsch) that make this place. If you go, buy a drink for Elizabeth, a local whose first visit to Lommerzheim was reportedly at the ripe age of 3 weeks!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akselrod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lommerzheim also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Lommerzheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing