We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lommerzheim

Lommerzheim
Ranked #9 of 2,374 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not that great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The outside courtyard was delightful ( inside was choc- a- block full). Beers flowed freely. The menu was extremely limited and the food was overcooked . The huge chunk of meat (cotlett?) was so tough that the knives proved inadequate to the job. The sausages were not bad. Great for atmosphere but not for food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    149
    41
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited because of Trip Advisor reviews and it was a short walk from our hotel (Radisson Blu). Much more enjoyable than the tourist restaurants on the river, we particularly liked the constant delivery of small beers as soon as you finished yours... The pork 'cutlet' is like a small joint and tasted wonderful. The bratwurst was delicious and came with a mountain of fries! A definite must when you visit Cologne if you like a rustic and real eatery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
150 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good but overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place was jam-packed with people waiting for tables when we went at 7pm. We felt like German food and chose this place based on Tripadvisor. It was a very hot day so we were hoping for outdoor seating but were told this is next to impossible. We were about to go elsewhere when a German couple also waiting for outdoor seating told us it's worth the wait, and that we had to try their "cotelets' (pork chops) which is their specialty, and that we could try the basement seating since it's cozy. We did as suggested and were glad as the basement was actually quite cool and comfortable. Almost everyone there were there to drink beer. The waiter comes by frequently and replaces empty glasses without a beat, so that we had to make sure we always had some beer in our glass otherwise it would just be replaced if we weren't looking! We shared a table with 2 guys who seemed to have been there a while, since between them they were on their 11th beer. The waiter keeps tabs on the number of beers and other orders by marking on a coaster. The waiter was quite rude, however, and not sure if this is typical German waiter attitude or just him. You can choose between lean chops or fatty chops. One of us had the fatty chops which was not fatty AT ALL, and tender, compared to the lean chops which was a bit on the dry side. The potato salad as a side is delicious! Overall, the food is just okay. It's clearly a popular local spot as we were the only non-Germans we saw. One should definitely go for the experience of being among locals but not sure if we would return for the chops which we found to be overrated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to this place based on trip advisor reviews looking for a local spot. About a 10-15 minute walk over the bridge from the Dom, a little difficult to find. Its on a quiet street and it doesn't look like much from the outside. But once inside at 530pm the place was packed. The main bar area was full, and we went downstairs to a brick dining room where seating was first come first served. Everyone was speaking German, not a lot of tourists and this was perfect. They bring a glass of Kolsch (local beer) in a 200ml glass and will keep refilling it until you put a coaster on top of your glass. They are known for their Cutlet and this was fantastic. You can get it with fries, potato salad or baked potato and the potato salad was great as well. This place is a great spot if you are looking for a local spot off the beaten path. I would either get there at 430pm or make reservations in advance though

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank horhay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very nice biergarten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived about 8:30 p.m. on Friday evening and found the place crowded inside. As we were a party of four we couldn't be seated indoors, so we went to the biergarten outside where we had a table all for ourselves. The beer was fresh and tasty, the service was of good quality. The only thing missing was hot tea or coffee, but that was just a minor nuisance. We've spent almost three hours there and were asked to leave when they were closing at 11 p.m.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexeyB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lommerzheim also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Lommerzheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing