We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and lovely staff”
Review of La Spendula

La Spendula
Ranked #777 of 2,723 Restaurants in Cologne
Neighborhood: Nippes
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Nippes
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

We came here with a group of 8 friends and had an excellent meal. Someone local had recommended this restaurant to us and we weren't disappointed! The food was quite exceptional (I don't give 5 stars lightly.)

Between us we had mussels, a chanterelle & mushroom salad, lamb, shell fish linguini and carpaccio and tried them all and each meal was fabulous! It's like fine dining but at regular prices. Meals cost between €11-20. I paid €38 for 2 meals with drinks!

The restaurant was almost full on a Sunday night which is always a good sign (perhaps book ahead) and it's not far from the city centre (1.3 miles from the Dome) close to the Zoo and Rhine so if you are anywhere nearby, I would definitely recommend eating here.

We met the owner at the end who is originally from Sardinia and we even had a free Limoncello to round off the night!

Excellent food, fair prices and a nice atmosphere!

Highly recommended! We'll be back!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank groovybaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

This place was wonderful. If you're in the neighborhood I highly recommend it. The outdoor seating was solid and it's a very family-friendly atmosphere.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2014

It was a great to return to a place that I frequented 15 years ago. It was as friendly as I remember it. Great service and the highlight was the profiteroles which came off a large tray of very freshly baked profiteroles covered in a delicious thick intense chocolate sauce. Absolutely gorgeous. The mains were good although the seafood pasta could do with more seafood and the sauce was a bit liquid for me. However my wife loved it.The house wine was excellent.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HandyAndyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

it is an Italian restaurant, very nice food. always after excibitions
we go there .Franco is the owner of the restaurant which is very
frendly and funny.

Date of visit: February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ero K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Spendula also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to La Spendula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing