We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hostel from which to enjoy Rhine fireworks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz
Reviewed July 14, 2009

A large, purpose built and modern hostel, but nevertheless quiet and friendly. We were warmly welcomed by the receptionist. As a family group, our bunk bedded room suited us fine although the hostel is clearly also geared up to cope with school parties etc. We felt it was a good place to stay to enjoy the spectacular fireworks on the Rhine that night. Take away crisps, ice cream etc available at all hours. Well located near the central station, across a pedestrian bridge over the Rhine. Make your own bed, hostel style; self service buffet for breakfast. It is possible to hire towels for the en suite shower room. Seperate toilet cubicle. Everywhere was very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katessanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2009

Excellent location right opposite the Messe and Koln Deutz train station.
As stated by other reviewers, I found it clean, functional, friendly enough but devoid of any character.
Breakfast was included in my room rate and I also had dinner, at 5 Euros this was undoubtedly good value but the catering was school canteen standard.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank towerridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz is safe, clean and big. I stayed here for a one night city stay on my backpacking trip to Europe. It has clean rooms for large amounts of people. It seemed like the kind of place school groups stay at. My only problem was that my roomates came in drunk and confused and did not understand why I was in "their room"! The problem was resolved own my own, by trying to convince them it was a "shared room". They spoke solid French and I know only a modest amount. This however is just part of traveling as a backpacker! Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz is IYH affiliated and thus provides breakfast. It was good and plentiful, but I felt like an outcast amoung the school groups. I would only suggest this place to someone who is staying a night or two in Koln, simply because it is not the most exciting of places to stay, but it is safe and clean so it evens out!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McCall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

This hostel was very well located - right opposite the train station. Nice rooms and decently sized lockers. Breakfast is early, but good.

The bathrooms weren't always properly cleaned, which wasn't great when sharing a room with three other girls.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveller3265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We chose this hostel because of its position : it is perfect if you want to attend a concert in Tanzbrunnen. Besides the U - Bahn station is right in front of it.

We had a clean double room with bathroom but we expected something more warm and lively as the other hostels we found travelling around Germany. The Koeln Deutz is new but hospital like! Everything was white and cold except from the green curtains on our window.

The breakfast was ok even if you had to wake up early as it is served until 9.30 a.m.

The most cute thing were the lovely little rabbits you could see jumping around at night in the garden in front of the hostel main entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pinkleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
Thank Jojo271066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Uma TV para quartos "single" é quase obrigatória
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank emanueldasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Cologne
#29 of 263 in Cologne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Messe
#40 of 263 in Cologne
672 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Black Sheep Hostel
Black Sheep Hostel
#22 of 78 in Cologne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz

Address: Siegesstr. 5, 50679 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Deutz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Cologne
Price Range: $65 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jugendherberge Koln-Deutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing