We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was poor but the food was good”
Review of Brauhaus Putz

Brauhaus Putz
Ranked #51 of 2,414 Restaurants in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: German, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt-Süd
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Service was poor but the food was good”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is how I imagined a traditional German beerhouse. The staff was running all over and I don't envy them, as it is hard work. But they forgot about our food that we have waited more than an hour. It is true I got a free glass of beer to compensate but a 10 seconds stop to tell "I am sorry" would have been more appreciated.
Anyway, the atmosphere was lound and friendly (it is nice to see people talking to each other and not on their smart phones). Food was plenty and tasted very good, when we finally got it, so I consider the service an accident, and recommend the place overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InaTatiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    123
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The services is great and the staff is very helpful. They do make you feel welcomed and are quick in sorting out a table for you. However, regarding the food, I can say that even though I've only had Schnitzels outside Germany, they were by far better than the one I ordered.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Majo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner for Tworists”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

As a German visiting cologne for the second time I was looking for a traditional place to eat. The staff was friendly and our dinner arrived in under 15 minutes. You should try HIMMEL UND ÄAD MIT FLÖNZ,
It sounds barbaric but tastes amazing.

Helpful?
2 Thank Achimjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, Typical food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Nice and good.
The négative point is that we dont drink sparkling water and they didnt want to serve us tap water....

In spite of that the food was very Nice. Not the best I tasted but still Nice with generous plate

Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,ON/Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Traditional Cologne Pub”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

"Brauhaus Pütz" is not located close to the "Kölner Dom" (Cologne Cathedral),the "Alter Markt" (Old Market) or the River Rhine Promenade,areas usually flooded with tourists."Brauhaus Pütz" is close to the "Rudolfplatz" and a section of the ring road,that circles the city core,called "Habsburgerring".Hidden away in a side street (Engelbertstraße 67),this Pub seems to cater more to the locals,with a few tourists from close-by hotels (one of them is the "Hotel Flandrischer Hof",see separate review) drifting in.Fewer tourists/more locals here means,that things still get done the time-honoured way: Friendly banter between waiter (Köbes) and the guests,beer (Mühlen-Kölsch) straight from the wooden barrel,and empty beer glasses (traditionally the straight 0.2l variety) automatically replaced by a fresh one,no signaling to the waiter required).Waiters speak English.Food is good, straightforward Cologne Pub fare: Schnitzel,Sausages,Haxe,Sauerbraten,Kassler,also Vegetarian,home fried potatoes,salads,etc.
Portions are on the large side.Prices are reasonable.Just do not expect Gourmet food.Why eat desserts in a Pub,when there are so many outstanding Cafe's in Cologne."Cafe' Riese" and "Cafe' Eigel" (see separate reviews),and Cafe' Fromme,just to name a few ? One of the oldest Cafe's is just around the corner on the ring road (cross the ring road,then walk to the right,I cannot remember the name,ask one of waiters).During several visits in June my wife and I hit the "jackpot": Soccer World Cup games during dinner time (18.00 & 21.00),great tasting beer and good Cologne Pub food.What more can one ask for ?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GMj-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauhaus Putz also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Brauhaus Putz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing