We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than satisfied !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zur Quelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zur Quelle Hotel
Ranked #87 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“More than satisfied !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

While on a business trip, during the time of the Interzum Congress in Koeln, I stayed 4 nights at this quaint hotel. During the congress prices for hotels in the area were in the hundreds of Euros per night. This hotel offered a very reasonable rate, so reasonable that I was not sure what to expect. We found the hotel on a small street just off the autobahn and very close to the Messegelaende and only a few minutes to the airport. I was very, very happy with the reception and service. I've never seen a staff clean so throughly. The older part of the building is just that - old, but very well cared for and super clean. The stafff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was exceptional.

Room Tip: A single room is small, but enough for the business traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
8
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

For business I stayed 4 weeks in this hotel. Having stayed in most room categories, I can say they are all clean, practical and pleasant to stay in. The bathrooms are also modern and nice.
The staff was extremely friendly, very willing to help and made me feel very much at home. During one of the weeks I could not get used to the bed, and the staff kindly offered a soft topper. This made the bed very nice to sleep in.
To keep in shape a bit I regularly used the hotel's fitness room (located in the guest house), where a good selection of equipment is available. Here also a sauna and steam-bath are present.

I regularly dined at "La Fonte", where I liked the atmosphere a lot as well.
Tip: Besides what is on their menu, they also advertise a number of other dishes near the entrance of the restaurant.

Tip: two shops to the right of the hotel is a Butcher, which sells great bread rolls in the morning. A lot of cars stop here too in their way to work. The staff here is also very friendly and I can recommend this place if you are looking for a place to buy lunch.

Room Tip: The guest house is somewhat more modern, and the rooms are a little bit bigger and more quiet. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staying there for a week, find this 3* hotel very clean and wormy. My room was in the "guesthouse", probably the part I didn't enjoy more, but the room was very clean and enough to spend a few nights, with cable TV, a nice bathroom, and a heating system very warm. The building is very cool, like a normal house, and have a fitness center with a small room for some gym and a sauna and turkish bath, very nice and clean space. The breakfast was good enough and perfect for the beginning of a work (or relaxing) day. The staff was all very kind and friendly, always with a smile. The restaurant of the hotel is an italian (La Fonte) wich is very good, with italian staff (super kind and attencious) with lots of italian dishes and of course the local beer (Kölsch).
Resuming, a nice stay to stay, near the Koln/Bonn airport (about 6km) and only a 20 min drive to Koln city center (about 16km). I really enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monalisa1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stopped here during a business trip.

The room was basic - the bed comfortable the bathroom very nice (possibly recently renovated).

The restaurant (I ate al fresco) was superb! Underneath well manicured trees in the Italian fashion.

The beer (many of Kolch) are very nice - try some!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed at the Zur Quelle for 1 night during a business trip to Cologne. Very helpful staff, eager to help although not very fluent in English. I got a room as part of their "Guesthouse" complex, which is 100m walking from the main hotel building. Everything I've seen on the way including the complex and my room were as clean as could be.

The room itself (mine was on the ground floor) was not big but just the right size to feel comfortable. Small ~20" LCD tv, a small table, one chair and a convenient closet - all very usable and comfy. Bed a bit small for single person is perfect. Large window opens to a secluded patio on the ground level.

Shower looks like it was installed yesterday - brand new and modern.
No A/C which could be a problem but wasn't as it was somewhat cool overnight.

Overall - great experience, helpful and smiling staff, very very clean - I would go back.

Room Tip: I stayed in a ground level room in their "Guesthouse" complex - very much recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pallaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

The hotel is much larger than it appears, there are 120 rooms. The hotel was clean and well kept, reception staff were friendly and keen to please. Breakfast buffet that was include in price was very good. On site restaurant and bar served a German menu and range of draught beers.

Wifi Internet access in the hotel is though T-mobile hotspot. http://www.t-mobile.de/hotspot/preise/. There is also free internet access on a micro computer in the reception.

The hotel does not have a business centre but were quite happy for me to use the breakfast room after 10am and in the evening to work with colleges. There is an on site fitness centre. Free off street parking is available.

Previous reports have mentioned that there quite a lot of military stay in the hotel, but there were not overtly present. If visiting the airbase this is only a short walk away. Getting into Koln city center is either a 20 minute walk or a bus ride to the railway station then about a 20 minute train ride. The reception were helpful with bus times.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denmead65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limburg
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

I booked the hotel for recreation and rest! My room was old-fashion, no airco, you could not open a window (because it was very warm) because the street was very busy and loud!The showerdoor allmost felt out!End conclusion: Its a Hotel for Soldiers, and much to expencive!
On the otherhand, the crowd was very friendly, and breakfast buffet was very good!!
But certain a hotel for soldiers, not for citizen, and not to get any rest!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerlimburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Spiegel
Hotel Spiegel
#89 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airport Garden Hotel Karsten
Airport Garden Hotel Karsten
#134 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art of Comfort Hotel Haus Ingeborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Cologne Bonn Airport
1.6 mi away
Akazienhof Hotel & Brauhaus
Akazienhof Hotel & Brauhaus
#152 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Geisler
Hotel Geisler
#228 of 262 in Cologne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Quelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Quelle Hotel

Property: Zur Quelle Hotel
Address: Heidestrasse 246, 51147 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Quelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS and Priceline so you can book your Zur Quelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing