We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Moissonnier

Le Moissonnier
Ranked #2 of 41 Dessert in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Neustadt-Nord
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the best dining experiences in Cologne. A truly gourmet restaurant. Staff is super friendly and nice. This is a restaurant to bring a date to, or bring a very important business partner. The food will impress anyone who cares about gourmet dining.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    36
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“want to give you a treat?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

we went there to celebrate a special occacion and loved the place. although this is now some time ago we often come back to think about this special evening. Meat was the best my boyfriend ever ate and I had some fish with fried fish scales, sounds strange but it was something special and delicious. For a restaurant of that level, the atmosphere was relaxing and we even had a chat with our neighboring table. Every single dish was a delight, if we ever come back to Cologne and had saved some money, we will love to try again ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of my two favorite restaurants in Cologne. The duck was absolutely amazing and the service was excellent. Despite being a "fine dining" type of place, it was not stuffy at all and had a laid back feel. They do offer a fix priex menu but also have a la carte options with entrees in the 40 euro range which I went with.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonataek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sweet experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My kirei invited me to Le Moissonnier after having discovered a relative cheap way to experience a 2 stars Michelin restaurant. At lunch (except Saturdays), you can order a plat du jour and a glass of wine for 23 euros each. The bill won't probably be 46 euros, because even if you say - no, thanks - to a starting aperitif, with a bottle of 7 euros Evian water and the irresistible temptation of ordering a dessert when they bring you the dessert list (around 15-16 euros each), the final bill could be maybe 85 euros.
The plat du jour of our visit comprised a delicate salad with a bowl of row fish in a good sauce, and a delicious roast with an appetizing potato cake. The à la carte dessert will actually be the most lasting memory: a truly delicious chocolate and hazelnuts cake, but accompanied by a glass of cheesecake in a ginger cream which was conversely not so convincing, a bit too sour. The final orange lollipops looked nice gifts but actually a bit meaningless, out of context.
The decor and the atmosphere are definitely charming, we were certainly very glad of our first 2 stars Michelin (lighter and easier) experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SupaiGia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Inventive and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

A standard in the culinarian scene of Cologne since almost 30 years the Moissonniers have developed this place in a sinister quarter of the city from a charming French bistro into a gourmet temple with two Micherlin stars, but still retain the relaxed atmosphere of the former days. Their philosphy seems to be, that great food and wine can be easily enjoyed -- not even a hint of the stuck-up attitude at places with comparable quality in cuisine.
Of course Moissonnier celebrates the tiny-bit style of contemporary cuisine with surprising combinations of Food and detailed assortments on countless plates. Nevertheless everything comes carefully prepared at the right time with the right temperature. Perfection is the name for it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Spikefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Moissonnier also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Le Moissonnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing