We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Frueh am Dom

Frueh am Dom
Ranked #31 of 2,383 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Central European, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had several meals here. We loved the atmosphere, the service and the food. Great value, wholesome food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Murielle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    708
    928
    340
    102
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“The best Kolsch and a great meal”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found Fruh in our quest to taste as many brands of Kolsch as we could during our weekend away. Fruh soon became a favourite and we would often call in for a refreshing beverage over a hot weekend. Service was always prompt and friendly, trouble was leaving!

We mainly sat outside but had a good nose around inside, which was huge. This must be one of the largest Brauhaus in Cologne.

We had one dinner here, Wiener Schiznel (veal) which was pretty amazing and we really enjoyed the meal.

Planning to come back to see this place in action in winter. YUM!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherylhinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to have a beer”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a good place to have a beer or two, maybe even some food. It is next to the Cologne Cathedral and a good place to watch people going by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food Great Beer”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's one of the oldest German breweries. Lots of bier coming with the rushy employees. No time to waste with some many customers and beer lovers. When in Koeln you have to try this typical beer. If you like it you'll love to drink more and more....

The food is also Ok. Better then the average restaurants. The portion are well served.

Very near the Cathedral (Dom) so very easy to find it.

Very time I go to Koeln I make a stop here. Always on my list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGMSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
772 reviews
469 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Good food.Good location”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We (myself,wife and 13yr son) visited Fruh whilst in Cologne and seeing the Cathedral on our way to Munich and found it very impressive with the quality of food.
We ate the following...Pork chop with herb butter,fried potatoes and mixed salad €12.20.....Rhenish Sauerbraten (marinated beef) with dumplings and stewed apple sauce(excellent) €14.20....Dutch herring fillets served with green beans and fried potatoes €10.40.(my wife said superb herrings)
Applestrudel €6.50 (very,very good)
Small beer €1.80
Small coke cola €2.30
Espresso €2.20

We would certainly visit Fru again if in Cologne and sit outside weather permitting

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frueh am Dom also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Frueh am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing