We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“review for beer only...”
Review of Frueh am Dom

Frueh am Dom
Ranked #29 of 2,398 Restaurants in Cologne
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: German, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Altstadt-Nord
Arizona
Level Contributor
347 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“review for beer only...”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Enjoyed a few Kolsch brews here. After a long day walking this beautiful city, Fruh is a minute walk from the Dom, and a cold brew hit the spot. The traditional beer is very well done here; light bodied golden ale, made with German malts, hops and special, top fermenting yeast, fruity complexity, similar but better than the pilsners. My local friend ordered and our beer was served in small (0.2 L) thin glasses. I was expecting a huge frosty mug. No disappointment though as the waiters are very attentive and a fresh glass with more cold brew was served quickly. Nice outside sitting area, never went inside, didn't eat any food. Great traditional beer served with efficiency and professionalism. (I was told most beer-house servers are 'pros', not underpaid, poorly trained youth like most of the USA - and it worked here really well).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    939
    344
    106
    102
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tourist trap...”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I would think that many of us ended up at this restaurant during a visit to a trade fair in Cologne!? Most likely to have some Kölsch and maybe combine this with food. If you like a loud atmosphere with sweltering heat and burly German food you are in heaven? Otherwise you find the food quite poor and not specially made with love. Now I have been here but it's not I really can recommend...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank URBST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Waiters are very nice and the beer tasty!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were tehre with our son (4 months old) and the waiter was very nice. The food, as always, was good

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

It's not often that you find a place that is not tourist-focussed on such a tourist-rich location, I'd we sat outside in the sun for lunch and enjoyed their Kölsch and great food for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beestje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Let the waiter make your choices”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I trusted my waiter from the moment I saw him. Asked in my modest German for his recommendation, best decision I made. Beer was cold, and frequent, food was so good. Loved the atmosphere dined inside for true experience. Great location. Loved it. Recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frueh am Dom also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Frueh am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing