We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good three stars” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altera Pars

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altera Pars
Ranked #108 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good three stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

This was our second visit to Altera Pars, which might be enough recommendation in itself. Our room was again warm (we were there for the New Year!), well-decorated, clean and spacious. The staff were friendly and efficient. Location is on a quiet side-street but only 100m from Neumarkt which hosts a number of fairs and markets and has a good few U-bahn, bus and tram lines. My one reservation is that a lift would be nice, but as our rooms have always been on the first (US second) floor it wasn't a major problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a first (US second) floor room unless you actually enjoy using stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
21
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Altera Pars is basic clean hotel near downtown Koln. The cathedral is about 10-15 min walk from the hotel, and large Koln shopping area is right around the corner. Rooms are clean, and service is very friendly, but do not expect any extras here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomic1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

I stayed for three nights in a single room in this tiny hotel, which belongs to an Italian restaurant. The hotel itself is located in central Cologne, only 3 minutes away from the shopping area in the old town and 2 minutes from the closest metro station. I had to attend an exhibition at the Cologne Trade Fair, which can be reached within 15 minutes by public transport.

The room was clean an spacious, although it was a little bit hot at night. The staff was very helpful und each day started with an excellent 5*-breakfast (warm bread and fresh croissants, juices, different kinds of cheese and sausages, ham & eggs, joghurt, cereals, fruits etc.).

Overall I was very satisfied with my choice and can recommend this hotel to every traveller.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elfarolillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hotel just off the Neumarkt in Cologne is a clean, well appointed three star hotel that serves a good breakfast. I had a double room (41) over four nights for single occupancy including breakfast at 65 euro per night. The room was simply but comfortably furnished. The bed was comfortable and the linens were of good quality. The bathroom had a shower but no bath. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of cold stuff as well as bacon and eggs. The Armenian family who run the hotel were exceptionally friendly. The Neumarkt is near and equidistant to most of the places you will want to go to in Cologne. The shopping areas are right there and the Dom and old town are about a fifteen minute walk. The one drawback with this hotel is that there is no lift, so if you are not sound of wind and limb the fourth floor is definitely not for you. Overall it is a simple, clean, well run hotel in a central location that gives good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

My friends and I had 3 rooms at this hotel last weekend for 4 nights and I was very pleasantly surprised by what we got for our money. Our main criteria were location and 'budget-ish' price and this looked to be a very good compromise. As such, I was expecting small rooms and dated decor for the price, but what a surprise, the bedrooms and bathrooms were all very nicely decorated and very clean.

On arrival our room only had one set of towels and the bed was made up for one person (we'd booked 2 doubles and a single). I asked Sarwen, the very friendly chap on reception, to sort it whilst we went out for a meal and it was without fuss.

The location is also excellent, on a quiet side street just off Neumarkt, which is a major transport interchange and the site of probably the biggest Christmas market in Cologne. It's also 2 mins to the shopping District and 15 mins for the train station and Cathedral. There are lost of bars and clubs 10 mins the other on the ring too, which was partly what we came for too.

The breakfast was pretty good too, hot food and not just the usual German stale lunch box affair.

All in all we couldn't have asked for more from a well located budget hotel with very helpful staff. I have stayed in much worse 4 star hotels!!

Regarding the previous (rubbish) review, I would say that the emails I got when making a reservation were a little curt, but I feel this is perhaps more to do with how Germans interact by email. The only thing this hotel could do better would be too have an online booking system that takes credit/debit cards, but don't let that put you off. The single room was pretty small too, but it didn't bother my friend.

I don't normally write reviews unless they're very good or bad, this place was truly excellent for what we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2009

obnoxious unhelpful rude staff when making booking
very snappy staff and unprofessional responses to my intial inquiries
Judging by the way they handle their telecomunnications I would not even consider this hotel ever again as there are so much more better branded , better located hotels in this lovely city
Be warned!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travebkaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2008

I stayed at the Altera Pars for 10 days in October 2008. Although this hotel is gay owned, it’s not a gay place. It’s ideally located, very close to public transportation and shopping, yet reasonably quiet. For 79 € including a good buffet breakfast, I had a room of about 13 sqm (140 sqft) plus 3 sqm bathroom on the 5th floor – no lift. A sign in the staircase says the lift is broken but it is quite obvious that there has never been a lift – I don’t know why they put it there. I visited the rooms on the lower floors, they are bigger and come for 95 to 220 €, depending on season and local events. The rooms provide all the usual facilities, minibar, TV, Wi-Fi, hairdryer, safety box etc. Everything is very clean. Late check-out was billed 10 € per hour. The manager seems a little grumpy at the beginning but he’s perfectly good-natured and runs this place well. I think it’s a good deal in Cologne.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, general value
  • Disliked — No lift... although it was probably good for my health!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank garmic57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Hotel Marsil
Hotel Marsil
#143 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
City Hotel Koln
City Hotel Koln
#196 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Glockengasse
Hotel Glockengasse
#90 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#122 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#48 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altera Pars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altera Pars

Property: Hotel Altera Pars
Address: Thieboldsgasse 133-135, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altera Pars 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Altera Pars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing