We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good bed what more do you want? I whould have liked a hot shower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Europaeischer Hof Hotel
Ranked #227 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A good bed what more do you want? I whould have liked a hot shower”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Simpel hotel close to center of town. 5 minuts walk to the church

The hotel is worn down and its old and tired. The room has a old style big tv that i never used. The shower water temprature was unewan first it was hot then it was cooled and changed a lot.

The room hade som noice from the road outside but then again its in the center of town.

The price was a bit over the top for what you are getting. But as i said the bed was realy good, and i slept well after all.

Next year ill look for a diffrant hotel.

Room Tip: room 25 i hade is a good singel room but again some noice from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    21
    16
    13
See reviews for
8
18
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful enough. We were given the room on the ground floor right at the back. We were happy with it though, the room was pretty big and the bathroom was large. It was a comfortable nights sleep. The room/bathroom could really do with a facelift but its no major! We were able to leave our rucksacks there after we checked out as our train wasn't until the evening. Excellent location too!

Also, if you get chance, check out the Gestapo prison a few doors up. Very interesting!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChazLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night , we came in early and it was closed ( when it supposed to be open for an hour already) a guest opened for us on his way out, we waited for more that half hour inside for the lady from the reception to arrive. She wasnt helpful either polite or pleasent to talk to. We left our luggage at the hotel and returned later to check in. The room was small and humid, the bathroom was small and old , but it had hot water., there was a TV in the room. ,the only positive thing is that in located walking distance from the train station , which makes it very convinient for visitors traveling by train. There is also a very nice Italian restaurant near by .
In general it was NOT a good experience so I will recommended to pay a little extra and book a more expensive hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Tulskaya, Rf
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Russian receptionist was really rude, rooms are tiny, bathroom looked like after war (freaking shoelace was holding a window from falling!). Reception works only will 10pm and you are using your room key to open front door, which means they are all the same.

The only thing is ok was location, 5 min walking to very center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank pprokhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My room number was 17. Twin Bed.

Size - big.
Bed - comfortable enough to get good sleep.
Toilet - modern, hot water, clean.
Safe-no
Internet-no
Elevator - yes, fit for two persons and cabin beggage.
TV - yes, local channel.
Hairdryer - No.
Extra blanket and pillows - no (and we dont bother to ask)

Positive:
-nice staff. we arrive at the hotel around 9.40a.m and they let us check in early and we be able to take a nap and wake up at noon and we feel like stay one night already.
-check out at IIa.m and they keep our luggages and we be able to roam the town do some shopping and catch our train back to brussels at 7p.m.

Negative:
-well no so negative, its just the carpet is worn out, i mean the whole interior is so 1950 and need a face lifting. I believe this hotel was once at its peak and now need to refurbish.
-weak wall, you can hear people next door chatting.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jengka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Trapani, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Yes, this hotel is just plain average. Average accommodations, average service, average everything. But what more do you need? Its average enough of a hotel to sleep, shave, shower without any hassles. It's all your going to need if in Cologne for a couple of days to enjoy the wonderful cuisine, culture, shopping and dive into the cities Roman history on offer in it's fabulous museum. Price is competitive. No frills. 5 minutes walk to the Dom cathedral. Any questions?

We traveled to Cologne early December for a concert but ended up catching Christmas fever due to the multitude of wonderful Christmas markets. No one makes Christmas more special than the Cologne locals, some of the friendliest in Europe, period. We'll be back, and yes, will stay at the trusty, average Europaeischer Hof Hotel for a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supergaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The two best things about this hotel are the location and the price. If you are after luxury and elegance this place is not for you. But if you are visiting Cologne and want somewhere clean, spacious in a perfect location in between the Dom and Rhine embankment and the neumarket, then this place is for you! We went for four nights to explore the city and only wanted a nice room to sleep in as intended to be out and about all day. We arrived to find helpful staff who showed us to our room. The room was very basic but very spacious and the bed was huge and comfy. The bathroom had no bath but a fantastic powerful shower. Both room and bathroom were very clean and were cleaned everyday. No breakfast is available here, but why wouldn't you walk the 5minutes to one of the lovely squares to enjoy a coffee and something for breakfast? We had a fantastic time in Cologne and hope to find more gems like this place for future city breaks!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billieb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
Dom Hotel Am Roemerbrunnen
#70 of 261 in Cologne
306 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Novum Hotel Ahl Meerkatzen Cologne Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Cerano Hotel Koln City
Cerano Hotel Koln City
#93 of 261 in Cologne
122 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#120 of 261 in Cologne
129 reviews
Central Hotel am Dom
#215 of 261 in Cologne
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europaeischer Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Property: Europaeischer Hof Hotel
Address: Appellhofplatz 31, 50667 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Europaeischer Hof Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Europaeischer Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing