We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Said before.. say it again..Best Hotel in Cologne”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Appartel am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Appartel am Dom
Ranked #60 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Said before.. say it again..Best Hotel in Cologne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Visited Cologne 30/11 - 02/12 for the Christmas Markets, as we have done for many years.. and stayed again at the Appartel am Dom.. can not fault it.. the accomodation, staff and all round experiance is excellent.. the location perfect for the city centre.. nice to see that over the years the standard and quality have not diminished in anyway.. have no problem recommending this Hotel to anyone

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    100
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
83
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in September and this hotel is perfectly located to explore Cologne. It is less than a 5 minute walk from the station, which is right next to the DOM. The Rhine, Alstadt and lots of great shopping is within a few minutes of the station (on the opposite side from the hotel). We arrived early and were able to leave our bags which were later put in our room.The staff were friendly and helpful with a good map provided. The room was very large, clean with a small kitchen, large desk, couch and a good bathroom. The wifi was quick (& free) and the bed comfortable. It was quiet at night and we slept well. The breakfast was pretty good with plenty of variety. I would recommend this hotel as a great base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador - Bahia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, a few minutes from Cologne Central Train Station and from Cathedral square. Nice place, good breakfast, kind and helpful staff, very comfortable rooms. In spite of the location of the hotel, its soundproof windows block every sound from the street, so is perfect to take a good rest. Very recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cali0pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Pros:
- Location (close to central train station, but in quiet area)
- Beds (the MOST comfortable beds I ever slept in in the hotels)
- Fast Wi-Fi
- Nice parking (private garage - 15 EUR/day)
- Large rooms
- Small kitchen in the room (you can ask for kettle)
- Wonderful reception service
Cons:
- The breakfast could vary more (but at least they cook you eggs the way you want them)

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan_BGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

This smaller hotel tried to make your stay a good one. Relatively close to the train station- and just a short walk through to the other side with the cathedral- it is a fairly nice setup. Removed from the hustle and bustle but close enough. Rooms had plenty of space with couch and table, desk area, kitchenette , and lots of closet space. I didn't find the bed all that comfy nor do I find myself liking the personal sized comforter all my style. My room had floodlights shining on the windows- but other sides did not. Also the room was located higher than my travel companions - so I was alone in my dislike of the train noise through the night. However my iPod got me through.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is an excellent base for visiting Cologne. The staff are absolutely charming (perfect English at Reception), our room was very comfortable, large, and the double-glazed windows blocked all noise from the busy road outside. The only thing to bear in mind is that the hotel is on the far side of the station from the Dom and other points of interest in the city, but only a five minute walk, and the station area is clean and well-maintained, and the Dom is literally on the other side of it. Views are necessarily rather dull unless you are a trainspotter (the overhead railway-line of trains leaving the Hauptbahnhof), but as we were arriving and leaving by train, overall the proximity to the station was a positive. Breakfast was good, and the overall experience was positive, I would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with double glazed windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb5753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were in Cologne over a busy trade fair period so hotel space in the city was at a premium. We settled on the Appartel am Dom based on Trip Advisor but I have to admit we had some reservations after reading some reviews and looking at some of the photographs. But we wanted somewhere near the station and the Dom and so we took a chance.

In hindsight I'm so glad we did. The hotel is a very easy flat walk from the main station and if you're coming by subway from say the exhibition area then there is actually a new subway station (Breslauer Platz) almost adjacent to the hotel and between it and the main station. It is so new they didn't even have the signage up when we were there. But when walking out of the main station take the Breslauer Platz exit to get to the hotel - the opposite side of the platforms to the Dom exit. Cross the main road outside the station and then turn left and follow the main road. The hotel will come up on the right hand corner after a few minutes. It doesn't look much from outside, a 1970's low rise apartment style block, but don't be afraid as we were a little. You can actually see the hotel from the platforms at the main station.

Inside the decor does seem to be stuck in a 1970's time warp but the greeting was warm. We had actually booked a suite and we were surprised to find that it was on the ground floor. But it was huge. I wanted work space while I was in Cologne and the large dining table was perfect for that. The hotel has very fast free Wi-Fi. There was no view to speak of, the large windows in the large lounge and separate bedroom looked out on to Breslauer Platz at street level. But the windows are tinted on the outside so you're not in a fish bowl. The rooms had heating and a kind of air conditioning, so you didn't need to open the windows. The sound proofing was brilliant and at ground level all we heard, or rather felt, was the low rumble of subway trains as they passed underneath the building. I'm a light sleeper and I slept very well. Traffic noise we never really noticed.

Breakfast is in a small windowless room just behind reception but it was a good spread and they cooked breakfasts for you to order as well as offering the normal cold buffet items. A good coffee machine would be a nice addition but otherwise we enjoyed our breakfasts each morning.

Being on the ground floor, so just us, reception and the breakfast room, we never saw any other rooms. But if ours is to go by then I imagine the regular rooms are large too. You just have to move on past the decor. Yes it could do with an upgrade, but it all works and really the living space was in first class condition as far as we could see. The biggest plus for us was just the consistent help and friendliness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We really liked that and we really liked our stay. I'm glad we took a chance and it reminded us to never judge a book by its cover.

Room Tip: Higher is probably better to avoid the subway rumble. But otherwise it's a small hotel with larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#94 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#66 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#32 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#72 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartel am Dom

Property: Appartel am Dom
Address: Allerheiligenstr. 2, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cologne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#25 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Appartel am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Appartel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartel Am Dom Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing