We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem!”
Review of Appartel am Dom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Appartel am Dom
Ranked #65 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A little difficult to find, especially if one exits the station in the wrong direction - don't go towards the Dom (use the exit on the other side of the station!). But having said that, it is very close to both the station and the Dom and thus very convenient. Extremely welcoming staff, lovely room, very comfortable bed, powerful shower, and a superb German breakfast - all in all, excellent value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigBadBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    100
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
83
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
658 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I took a weekend trip to Cologne. We wanted a hotel within walking distance of the older part of town, nearer to the river. We chose this hotel as the price was right and the rooms came with a mini kitchenette - perfect for travelling when you have dietary restrictions - you can bring some of your own food!
The room was very spacious, the bed was comfy, bathroom clean and a good size plus free WiFi, a fantastic breakfast buffet and on-site, secure parking for an appropriate fee.
Very close to the main train station, it was a short walk to the river and the best parts of Cologne.
Would recommend this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel rooms are large and include a small kitchenette which the staff offered to stock if you wanted to cook. The hotel is located almost adjacent to the Hauptbahnhof and if you exit towards the opposite side of the Dom, you literally cross the pedestrian crossing and keep walking for a few minutes. The hotel is a bit noisy at night as you are close to a busy road and the train station - however I did not have trouble sleeping. The rooms are a bit tired, however they are clean and the linen is nice. The breakfast has a wide range of choice, (cold meats, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, breads and pastries), I was also offered bacon and eggs. The service of both the cook and the front office staff is exceptional - they are warm, friendly and helpful - something you don't find too often. The hotel is conveniently located to get to the main attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great staff, very clean, close the Dom and train station, large room, good breakfast. I was very pleased with my stay. Something that was interesting is that the rooms looked like (other than the flatscreen TV and digital safe) they were from the 70's, but they were in excellent condition. I really like it there. If you are driving, there is paid parking around, but it is better to just pay their Euro 15 garage fee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I dont normally stay in appartment hotels and booked this at the last minute so I was a little worried about what I would find.
The hotel is close to the Haupt Bahnhoff and very well located so it was easy to find and very convenient.
The room I had was excellent, clean and well maintained as well as comfortable. The staff were great and welcoming. They even put on snacks and drinks free of charge in the reception area, the WiFi was also free!!
Breakfast was included in the rate and was excellent.
They also have a small gym in the basement.
The only negative would be the cooking smells you get wafting up the stairs although you don't notice it once in the room.
I would definately stay there again - great value for money!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I visited Appartel am Dom with my husband from Dec.7 to Dec. 10th . We found it immediately very welcoming and room was spacious clean and warm.
Bathroom was newly restyled and well kept.
Breakfast is offered in a small room at lower level but is rich and ladies were always ready to fullfill any need.
Location was great! Just a cat jump from DOM !
We are already planning a new visit in Cologne and will surely stay at Appartel am Dom again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobypositano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

The hotel was within easy walking distance of the main train station, although a little difficult to locate from a map the first time. It was also an easy walk back through the station to the cathedral and main shopping area of Cologne (Kohn).

The staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient. Checkin was fast and efficient.

The room was older but large, well maintained, clean and well appointed. It had a couch, desk, balcony (with table and side view of cathedral) and a comfortable bed. The room also had a small kitchenette, with a fridge, kettle (by request), hotplate, sink and eating utensils. The bathroom was adequate and clean.

The free internet was fast and reliable. The complimentary breakfast was tasty with a good variety and the breakfast staff were excellent.

The only real issue we had was the heating. The large built-in hot water heating system was behind the curtains near the balcony and just couldn't keep the room warm with the colder Christmas temperatures. We were on the top floor so this may not be as much a problem for lower floors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral. I don't believe noise from the train station would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#95 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#66 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#27 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#31 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#76 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appartel am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appartel am Dom

Property: Appartel am Dom
Address: Allerheiligenstr. 2, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cologne
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Appartel am Dom 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Appartel am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appartel Am Dom Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing