We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an unnecessary hype”

Kolner Philharmonie
chennai
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“an unnecessary hype”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

we went for a musical play as this attraction was so much hyped about by other travellers on the trip advisor.
one we did not understand the language as it was in German.
the acting and singing was very mediocre.we came out in the intermission a waste of 21 euros per person.
the theater and the acoustics are good

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bras56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    99
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Free concerts at mid-day”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our tour guide let on that you could get to the Philharmonic before noon, and attend a rehearsal for free. Well, we were not the only ones who knew this - the fabulous concert hall was full, the rehearsal was fantastic, and what a treat to hear music and take a break from tourist shops and cathedrals!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
17 Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cool new activity”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

It is super cool. We had a pleasent couple of hours just listeling to nice music. The venue is amazing and the accoustics are great. Would definately return!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Linonchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“beautiful hall”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful modern halls. Lovely wood and gorgeous detail. Everything is comfortable, and the place is a joy from the moment one enters to the easy exits. The acoustic is reasonable but not perfect. There are some late reflections which can make certain ensembles sound a bit brash.

The oddest feature is the ceiling, which is under a popular area beside the Museum Ludwig. If people walk in this area during a concert the audience in the Philharmonie hear it, so security guards spend their time warding people off the roof. I suppose one wouldn't expect the architects to anticipate this!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Musicalphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Divine Music”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were able to attend an open air Easter concert which was a magical experience and look forward to attending other concerts when we are in Cologne again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kolner Philharmonie also viewed

Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Kolner Philharmonie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing