We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-Placed for Koelnmesse”
Review of Centro Hotel Ayun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centro Hotel Ayun
Ranked #213 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Approached this one with some trepidation. Hotels close to Koelnmesse fill up to capacity very quickly for the Gamescom event in August and yet there was availability here just a few weeks before the event. Reviews suggested that the place was either pretty decent or else little better than a building site! First impressions when I got to the hotel were that the refurbishments were pretty much complete, though the first and second floors looked unfinished compared to the third where I stayed.

The reality is that my stay was perfectly fine. My room - though small and weirdly L-shaped - was perfectly comfortable, the room had recently been refurbished with a decent shower and vast flatscreen and the sound-proofing was decent. It needs to be as many of the rooms - including mine - back out onto the ICE railway line just metres away. However, I'm a really light sleeper yet had no problem sleeping at at all.

Breakfast was a standard buffet, service was fine. My only real criticisms were a non-functioning safe which I reported but was never fixed and the lack of a bath in the shower room. Koelnmesse is vast and after an exhausting day, a long soak would have been welcome. I had a single room and got a single bed. Fine for me but for larger people it could be a bit of a problem.

This hotel won't win any awards but it does the job just fine, the prices weren't too bad and it's a 10-15 minute walk from the Koelnmesse - if you have business there, the Ayun Hotel will work just fine for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrphanageExplosion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 277 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Well, the messe is an excellent argument to over price the service. This hotel is simply standard. The shower is erratic cold hot or hot cold low pressure in the morning... The wifi was not active in the bedroom during my visit. Bed is comfortable, the hotel is clean and people very gentle and helpful. Need a taxi or good shoes to move to U ban, to Messe or Cologne center.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank os12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I found the bed to be very uncomfortable, that was the first thing I noticed. The rooms weren't anything to write home about though if you're coming here for holidays then you better find a another travel agent. Our trip was work related and for that it was ok. It had an average buffet each morning, and while it didn't have free wi-fi, it had a free computer with the net.
For business it's ok but then again I wouldn't chose this place again as my first choice.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms above the beer garden if it's a Friday or Saturday night. Things can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sk0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is being refurbished, I stayed in one of the rooms that hadn't been refurbished. The hotel is basic but clean. It is about 5min walk to the trams or 15 minute walk into Cologne, there is very little in the surrounding neighborhood. The rooms are basic, all twin rooms with TV, chair and table. The bathroom is a modular unit with shower, sink and toilet. The sink is very badly designed with a shelf directly above it which makes washing your face interesting!!

There is no wi-fi, internet access costs €5 per stint. The lounge area serves breakfast in the morning, there is no restaurant on-site. The staff were friendly.

In summary, the hotel is clean and welcoming but very basic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you just want somewhere to stay the night then this hotel just about cuts it. The room was fairly comfortable although we did book a double room and got a twin... But atleast it was clean which is probably even more improtant than comfort!

It lacked a couple of things including enough parking and a restaurant. They served breakfast but we had to walk about 15 to 20 minutes to find something decent to eat! The breakfast in the morning was ok, but nothing special.

The value for money here is ok if you're just stopping over, and atleast you received a warm welcome with all the staff being very friendly during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed the 19th September. The Fototkina was in full swing. We were pleased to still be able to find a reasonably priced City Hotel. It's a bit of a walk to the Centre. If you're a regular walker it's no hardship. We walked both ways and stayed out all day.

Rooms were clean. Reception staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast was good. What more do people want?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ballerinaTiel
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#53 of 263 in Cologne
222 reviews
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#50 of 263 in Cologne
793 reviews
Novum Hotel Mariella Airport
#139 of 263 in Cologne
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Koeln Messe
#41 of 263 in Cologne
696 reviews
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
#71 of 263 in Cologne
331 reviews
Mülheim
Hotel Park Consul Koln
Hotel Park Consul Koln
#59 of 263 in Cologne
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Ayun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Ayun

Address: Deutz-Muelheimer Str. 184, 51063 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Prodomo Messehotel Köln)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Mülheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $53 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centro Hotel Ayun 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Centro Hotel Ayun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prodomo Messehotel Koln Cologne
Prodomo Messehotel Koln Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing