We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and homely atmosphere!”
Review of Hotel Weber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Weber
Ranked #84 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and homely atmosphere!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel is in an ideal location, with a short walk away from the city centre but also very close to an underground station and a tram stop.
Staff were very friendly and very helpful in explaining to us how to get around the city - one of the first things they did was to hand us a map and circle key locations for us!
Very happy with the free breakfast, it meant that we were sufficiently fuelled to explore Cologne.
The toilets are shared which I didn't have a big issue with, but the hotel would do well to provide tissues in the bedroom.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tinkatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
36
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg NS Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Only 4 tram stops from Anuga, quiet tree-lined street, easy walk downtown, comfortable, clean and charming with friendly, helpful staff. Truly a home away from home. They speak excellent English, too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It is just a 20 minute walk from the city centre, the staff was friendly and the continental breakfast amazing. The room I stayed in (34) is quite small, but nothing less than I needed, and the bathroom was new and very clean. I payed 89€ for a night, which is not few, but appropriate for Cologne I guess. I'd definitely stay there again and recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avsecken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was a much needed home away from home for us - saved our trip! When we arrived at the koln train station we had our daypack with passports, iPad, journals and more in it. NOT a good start to our stay in Cologne, and we were just about ready to give up and head back to Australia. We turned up tired and upset to the hotel at one in the morning, but were welcomed warmly and immediately felt better in our cosy, homey room with our own spotless shower and vanity, and an immaculate shared bathroom on each floor. The amazing friendly staff did their best to answer all our questions from transport to money to where to buy replacement electronic gear, and every recommendation was spot on, especially the best bierhauses in the old town! They really helped to turn our visit to Cologne around, from a miserable beginning to wishing we had a few more days to stay!! Thanks to the whole family and staff, you made a huge difference to our big Europe adventure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

First, I want to be positive: this hotel is just as beautiful in the lobby and breakfast area as the photos show it to be. It is on the same block as two fabulous grocery stores, which was such a treat. The free breakfast is very adequate. We had real eggs, kiwis, and delicious coffee. The hotel's decor is elegant.

We originally paid for four nights at this hotel, but we left after one (really, we decided to leave about one hour after we arrived). We stayed at the very beginning of July and it was about 95 degrees outside. There was no air conditioning and we were on the third floor. The windows only opened a crack. We couldn't even move in our room without sweating. You share a toilet (WC) with the entire floor. (If you are an American, you need to be aware of this, since this is not our custom and can be very unsettling.) We were on our honeymoon, so the whole situation was very inconvenient. We tried to get out of our last three nights, but the staff didn't speak English very well and we just had to pay and get out of there.

There is a shower and sink in the rooms; however, the rooms are VERY tight.

This is just not something Americans are accustomed to and I wish the hotel's website would have mentioned no air conditioning and no toilets in the rooms. It would have saved us a couple hundred of dollars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Travelling single, and on a budget, I chose this hotel with some trepidation. I couldn't have chosen better! The hotel in general and the rooms are super-clean, the furniture and fittings are modern and there is ample storage. Breakfast guarantees a good start to a day of sightseeing and the staff are helpful and welcoming.
If I was to pick fault the only comments I can possibly make are:
1. A box of tissues could be provided in the bedroom
2. More plug points in the bedroom
Hardly earth shattering problems in what is a hotel the owners can be proud of.
Other reviewers have mentioned the small size of the single rooms which is true, however they contain all I require and therefore served my purpose really well.
Should I ever visit Cologne in the future I will definitely book the Hotel Weber again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was a little nervous in choosing a city center privately owned hotel for my business trip. I can however confirm that in every aspect i was very pleased. This is a family run hotel with values and customer service you would like to expect. Very good breakfast selection, clean tidy room with what seemed to be a brand new en suite. Ideally situated for public transport and bars and restaurants. The owners were particularly helpful & spoke very good English. I booked remotely and seeked reassurance via email and telephone to ensure i did have a room when i arrived - on each occasion they responded in a timely manner. For a city centre hotel, the price was very good too! I will be booking for the time Next year! - Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#75 of 261 in Cologne
203 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#76 of 261 in Cologne
93 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Ibis Styles Koeln City
Ibis Styles Koeln City
#97 of 261 in Cologne
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#53 of 261 in Cologne
497 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hotel Chelsea
Hotel Chelsea
#103 of 261 in Cologne
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Weber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Weber

Property: Hotel Weber
Address: Jahnstr. 22 | am Zülpicher Platz, 50676 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Weber 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small and friendly hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood in the very heart of Cologne. Walking distance to all the famous sights of our beautiful city centre. The ,,Neumarkt" e.g. in 5 min. The well known hot spot ,,Zülpicher Platz" is only 200 meters down the road. Excellent transport links to the central station/Hauptbahnhof (4 stops), university (2 stops), the Cologne Fair/Koelnmesse (5 stops), the Lanxessarena (5 stops) and our central location close to the shopping streets "Hohe Straße" and "Schildergasse" (pedestrian zones) as well as to our famous Old Town (Altstadt) make our hotel the choice for both business and leisure travelers visiting our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Weber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weber Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing