We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near the cathedral”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #10 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The hotel is only a 5 minutes walk from the central train station. The rooms are spacious and I love the different types of pillows you can choose from.

This was my second stay in the hotel and I would recommend this hotel, especially for the purpose of a business meeting or conference.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchShirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on a tour around Germany.

The hotel is on the opposite side of the city centre to the Dom and is just outside of the city centre. The area though is perfectly safe and problem free.

Reception staff were helpful and efficient and our room was very well appointed. There is also a very good spa/gym which is well equipped and has a very good sauna.

The best thing about this hotel was the breakfast buffet. Fantastic. Lots of choice with all that you could possible want.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

1-not an easy reach from the trainstation.2- a little bit far from the city center. 3-we asked for an extra bad for our double room but they refused so we had to take a single room for my little brother, although our double room is very big and an extra bed could be so easily placed in it. the bathroom smells bad because of its bad sanitation 4-i joined their "executive lounge" which wasn't that impressing, on the brochure it says that they serve coctails at a certain hour but there is actually no coctails just a mini bar with drinks.5- it also says that at a certain time the is a buffet, but this buffet contains small dishes with small morsels, and once food finishes it is never replaced.6-the lounge is also not clean, and it is never cleaned, for the four days of our stay the floor was sticky.6-the staff of the lounge don't speak english, once i asked the waitress for a spoon, she never knew what a spoon is! 7-the internet that is supposed to be "for free" didn't work on my toshiba laptop the first day i asked the clueless staff of the reception about this matter they said that it must work now..they kept giving me this execuse until my last day when one of the reception staff came with me and her brilliant execuse was that "the hotel internet doesn't work on toshiba laptops"!!! the breakfast buffet is no good just like all their buffets..

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieKn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The hotel was exactly what you would expect from a Marriott, the bed was super comfortable and roomy, the bathroom large and service was very good. The morning breakfast was a feast with very many choices and good quality. We had a light meal in the bar and it was very good as well. it was within walking distance of museums, the Dom cathedral and the Rhine river where you could get boat cruises. Taxis were also close by, as well as a lot of restaurants and bars.. Parking was very expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kweenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

It's a Marriott and exactly what you would expect from this quality chain. It's not a quirky boutique spot but the room is clean, bed comfortable and breakfast delightful. Easy to reach from the train station too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed here one night but it was the best hotel I stayed in Europe; I was on a budget but was able to book my night there for less than $80 through PriceLine. I would NEVER have been able to afford here otherwise. If you don't yet, go to betterbidding dot com - it's basically a forum where travelers spill the beans on PriceLine, so that you can bid with confidence and no surprises. When I searched for Cologne, many of the posters said their bids for 5-star hotels in the center of Cologne got them this hotel.

In short - stay here and book through PriceLine (but make sure to check out Betterbidding to avoid any surprises)! Why pay full price when this hotel offers rooms on PriceLine?

p.s. I do NOT work for betterbidding or priceline. But why shouldn't people know that this hotel can be booked for half price?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a fabulous time at this hotel, I only wish we were there for longer! The staff were great, particularly the barman who made us some amazing cocktails to start our evening. However, all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were a group of all ladies so requested twin beds, that were probably nearer doubles. The rooms were spacious, clean and well equipped with much appreciated air conditioning. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast but it was superb. We were late getting up but the restaurant was still well stocked with plenty of delicious options. This hotel would always be my first choice when staying in Cologne.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hilton Cologne
#18 of 263 in Cologne
2,208 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#4 of 263 in Cologne
2,551 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 263 in Cologne
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#6 of 263 in Cologne
1,868 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologne Marriott Hotel

Address: Johannisstr. 76-80, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cologne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#9 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $134 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cologne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne Marriott Hotel is located in the Cologne city center, just minutes walking distance from the train station and the Old Town. The hotel offers a versatile meeting and conference venue with sixteen event rooms, including two ballrooms. Perfect for your next weekend getaway to Cologne, Germany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cologne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cologne
Cologne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing