We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cologne Marriott Hotel
Ranked #8 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Southwestern US
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel had pleasant aspects- within walking distance of train station, convenient to transit, safe neighborhood, easy to stay here with no car. Very pleasant desk staff. Odd muzak in hallways. Sadly, my room had a lumpy bed and I did not request a change, so did not find the greatly comfortable beds described by other visitors. Booking via priceline, resulted in a price a bit lower than a sale price being offered by Cologne Hilton during same time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_W0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    619
    149
    47
    25
See reviews for
218
607
102
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but wished it would have been more. After enjoying the wonderful nightlive we tumbled into the quietness of our room. Everything there, including coffee and tea, full flat screen. We slept for hours and indeed the beds are perfect.
As the hotel is situated just close to the hauptbahnhof and Dom you can enjoy all the sight seeing you want.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowiethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As a Marriott rewards member, I usually choose a Marriott brand unless a different hotel is recommended or is more convenient. Sometimes I am pleases, but not always. For my short business trip to Cologne, this Marriott was perfect!
Close to the hauptbanhof, the cathedral, restaurants, etc... You can walk just about anywhere, including the large Kolnmesse convention center. Staff could not have been more pleasant & helpful. Room was fantastic - larger than expected. Wireless internet worked well, and the exercise room was fantastic. This hotel was perfect for my needs, and is definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BmoreBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbaer-manager, Manager at Cologne Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Bmore Bourke,

On behalf of our entire staff, please accept my sincere appreciation for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our Cologne Marriott hotel.
We take great pride in providing each and every customer with superior service and are thrilled to get positive feedback such as yours.

It is especially reassuring to hear that our major investment to enhance our Wi-Fi connectivity throughout the hotel earlier this month has not gone unnoticed by our guests. (Yes, we have listened to everyone's feedback regarding this on Tripadvisor and many other channels and have taken action!)

We will be looking forward to welcoming you in Cologne during your next visit to our great city!

P. Baer
Manager - on behalf of the entire hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Since I had to arrange several meetings in the hotel I booked a two room suite. The suite was reasonably priced and nicely furnished for meetings of up to 6 people with a bed room separated from the rest. The the whole staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful.Room service was good, but a bit slow. Food in the restaurant had a German touch - and good. The decore is a bit dark and probably needs to be upgraded. The food in the Executive Lounge was above average for Marriott standards.
The hotel is only minutes away from the cathedral which is a "must see".

Room Tip: Suites are reasonably priced
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang- Joach... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at this Marriott for one night in September 2012. We used our points to stay, and I must say, I'm quite surprised Marriott has categorized this hotel as a Category 3. It's beautiful, and in a great location not far from the Cologne Hauptbahnhof. We had access to the Executive Lounge and the views from the balcony were stunning, especially at sunset. The service was great...check-in was a breeze, even though they didn't have our room ready for us when we arrived at 1:30. The room was very large for European standards, and the bathroom was clean and gorgeous. It was large as well. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for four nights on a business trip to Cologne. The hotel has an excellent location just a few minutes walk from the cathedral and the city's main railway station. There are always taxis lined up outside the hotel. Despite the proximity to the railway station the hotel is located on a relatively quiet street. The rooms are very comfortable although a little on the small side. The management have decided to remove mini bars from the rooms and have a 24 hour gift shop in the lobby instead. The hotel lobby is a decent size with a bar and restaurant. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again when in Cologne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeogProfOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have enjoyed many stays at the Marriott in Cologne, as it is a haven away from the busyness of Cologne when trade fairs are on. The staff are friendly and the rooms are a good size and always clean. The Executive Lounge on the 6th floor is a wonderful retreat that provides breakfast, evening cocktails and desert. HOWEVER, on our last stay we arrived at the lounge on Monday morning (after having paid a premium price for the night due to a fair being on) and discovered the breakfast bar empty with no notice of what was happening, and after several calls we were told that we had to have breakfast downstairs, in the extremely hectic restaurant. To say we were disappointed would be an understatement. Will we stay here again? Probably, but only if they fix up this big mistake....

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor close to a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvlmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 261 in Cologne
2,355 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 261 in Cologne
1,199 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Pullman Cologne
Pullman Cologne
#4 of 261 in Cologne
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cologne
#23 of 261 in Cologne
2,063 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Courtyard by Marriott Cologne
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Mondial am Dom Cologne MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cologne Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cologne Marriott Hotel

Property: Cologne Marriott Hotel
Address: Johannisstr. 76-80, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
#4 Family Hotel in Cologne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cologne
#9 Business Hotel in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cologne Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cologne Marriott Hotel is located in the Cologne city center, just minutes walking distance from the train station and the Old Town. The hotel offers a versatile meeting and conference venue with sixteen event rooms, including two ballrooms. Perfect for your next weekend getaway to Cologne, Germany! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cologne Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cologne
Cologne Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing