We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do this to yourself...pay a bit more and go somewhere else!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Muller

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Muller
Ranked #176 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Don't do this to yourself...pay a bit more and go somewhere else!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

Where should I start???

1. Make sure you arrive before they close the reception (quite early actually) or call to find out where to get your key.

2. The carpet was horrible...worn out (although not completely dirty)...

3. They started drilling and hammering at 7 in the morning!!! I specified I need a quiet room because I was there for a very important meeting. I went to the reception at 8 a.m. to ask what it going on and the very unfriedly lady said well, they need to work on some pipes, nothing she can do. She did not offer a price reduction or an alternative room.

4. They have a dog all over the breakfast area...

5. The heating was not working, the outside temperature in January was below freezing. I caught a cold.

6. No batteries in the remote control.

7. Parking in the area is incredibly expensive. Make sure you consider that when you calculate the total price for the trip.

OK, fair enough, the second night the heating worked and they did not hammer at 7 a.m. anymore, so I was actually able to sleep (it did not help much, I was already sick and the meeting was over anyway). I could say it was decent on the second night. But after such a nightmarish first experience I think one would have to be crazy to stay with them!!! I found very good offers for other places for just a few more Euros. I would never consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank lmaolol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    37
    18
    12
    17
See reviews for
11
49
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

brilliant hotel did not book in advance just stumbled across it and me and my nephew are glad we did.room and bathroom was huge 3 beds in room,tv etc.
breakfast was excellent all you need to start the day.5 minutes walk from station and river,no lift has a bar but was not open when we were there.but bar end of the road.staff really friendly and very helpfull.would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sie_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

This is a small family run hotel near the cathedral
++
Great breakfast
Good location
Reasonably priced

-- -
No elevators so if u r on a higher floor with heavy luggage...god help u
TV was not working
Service was iffy and
I think the room was as big as the bathroom

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitabhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

1. The location was OK. About a 5-minute walk from the station, in the opposite direction from the Cathedral.
2. The price was reasonable.
3. The room was clean, small and simple. Family-run operation. No A/C. TV, but don’t remember if it got English-language channels, altho I assume so. Breakfast was included.
4. The owner was friendly and spoke English.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mebaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

One of the better value places I stayed at during my trip to Germany.

The location was extremely convenient, as the hotel is 5 minutes away from the train station (which itself is right beside the cathedral and two museums). Exit the station into the Breslauer square.

The room was clean, as was the bathroom.

As mentioned in the other reviews, breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and sunny-side up, as well as ham and sausages, plus the usual cold cuts, bread, yogurt, cereal, etc.

I emailed about the rates, and received a prompt reply. I also phoned and the staff was able to speak English.

Do arrive before 8pm, since the reception closes at that time and you need to get the key for the front door as well as your room when you check in.

Overall, it was an excellent hotel for its price, and I would definitely come here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowerstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

I have stayed here three times over the past two years. All three rooms were different. You either get a small bathroom and a big bedroom or a small bedroom and a big bathroom. The double beds that I stayed in were single beds pushed together. Which is what I find in most hotels. I usually stay at two star places. And, this is by far one of the best I have ever seen. The bathroom has a hairdryer, soap and shampoo. The beds have varied in degree of softness. The comforters are big and white. The pillows, well they're European pillows - I hate them all. But, these ones aren't too bad.

They have CNN !! And, the BBC channel as well.

The staff speaks English well enough.

The breakfast is by far the best - and it's included ! You won't find a breakfast like it. Especially if you are early in the morning on a Sunday. There was scrambled eggs, and of course the hard boiled ones. She was also frying up sunnyside up eggs. Usually Five different kinds of hot meats. All sorts of fresh still warm breads. Crossonts. Every kind of condoment you could ever want. ( even ketchup for eggs ! ) There is also cereal, and yougart - whole and sliced almonds, and hazlenuts that you can put on. Different kinds of seeds too. The cold meat and cheese selection is great, even a round of brie. Four different types of bottled watter, milk, apple, orange and i think grapefruit juice. Oh, and Cocacola,fanta and sprit. I'm a fan of Cola in the morning. Some sweet bread, differnt types of toasing bead as well. Oh, and gummy bears under your tea cup (sometimes).


It can be a little confusing to get too as you have to cross the street a couple of times because of construction. But, it really is right out the door ( the one mcdonalds is at) and down the street and turn a right.

  • Liked — Breakfast, Staff,
  • Disliked — Nothing, It's a great Two star place
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

Spent 5 nights at the hotel in a double room.... Shower was brand new and extremely spacious. The bedroom was somewhat smallish, but fully adequate for our stay. Breakfast was excellent - cold cuts were plentiful, and the hot breakfast was extremely good. Loads of muesli, breads and fruit.

We had a room at the back, but our friends had to move from their room at the front, as there was an illuminated sign outside which was rather bright during the night, but the hotel moved rooms without any problems.

Staff were really friendly and helpful.

The bar isn't really in operation -only beer and softdrinks, no wine or spirits available, but loads of bars just a short hop away thru the station.

Overall, good value, clean and welcoming....

  • Liked — New showers, good beds.
  • Disliked — Bit tight on room size
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Screenofrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Ludwig
Hotel Ludwig
#100 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Brandenburger Hof
Brandenburger Hof
#73 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
#93 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
Eazires Hotel Domspatz City
#148 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muller

Property: Hotel Muller
Address: Brandenburger Strasse 20, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Muller 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Muller reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muller Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing