We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for rail travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Ranked #95 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Prague
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for rail travelers”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you are traveling by train, and seek a typical 3 star place, this is recommended. Just across from the station, a bit cramped, but on the upside, a friendly family run hotel, breakfast up to German standards and free wifi working well throughout.

Room Tip: My single no 51 had a nice view of the Dom behind the station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    39
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
58
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a large family group we booked four rooms. We couldn't fault any of the rooms. The bathrooms were so immaculate we thought they must have been new - maybe they were! My husband and I were in room 56 with two of our children. It is a lovely large room with a terrace, not so great in December (a bit cold) but still nice to look down over all the activity at the station. Amazingly, there was no noise at all from the station.

The location of the hotel is great. The best Christmas markets were all within walking distance and if you decided you didn't want to walk the station and underground are right outside your door. The airport is only a 20 minute train ride on the S-bahn (S13) for 2.60 euros, unless like us you get on the wrong train!!!

Definitely worth a visit but make sure you leave enough room in your luggage to pack all the Gluhwein mugs! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room (55) was small, as expected, but comfortable, with two good armchairs and a small table in addition to a small desk. Beds were also comfortable. The wireless internet connection was free and always excellent during our 6-night stay. For the price (only 5 Euros) the breakfast is fine; no hot foods (other than toast) but cold-cuts, cheese, rolls, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, hard-boiled eggs, decent coffee and sometimes pastries. The location, right next to the Hauptbahnhof, is excellent for all main sights in Köln and, of course, for connections to other areas, yet our room at least, on the back side of the building, had virtually no noise from outside, even with a window open for fresh air. Would definitely stay again when in Köln.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverwest48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I usually get my info off Tripadvisor - with the Christmas Markets up and running accomodation was not easy to find and pricey. So to stay within our budget we decided on this hotel - 2 minutes from the station and 4 trainstops from the airport - a single ticket 2.60 euro - room on the small side and bathroom small but if you just need a place to lay your head down and clean up than this would surely do - the breakfast was not included but at 5 euro each we had enough to eat and drink and cannot expect anymore from a 3 star hotel!

Room Tip: No difference really - any room will do - there is a very small lift to all the floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tallies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We could have had a "vacation nightmare" if not for the wonderful people at the Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom! Having a husband in a hospital nearby, I needed to be able to walk to the hospital. Good choice for this hotel! Not only was the location perfect, the entire staff provided a setting that gave me safety and security in an unknown city. They couldn't have been nicer and were so helpful. Overall, it is a wonderful hotel, excellent staff and perfect location to go anywhere in the beautiful city of Cologne. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn_eddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The combination of price and location can't be beat. Close to the train station and dom, and close to the river and altstadt as well. Nice hotel, good staff, clean room, comfortable bed, ample breakfast for a good price - all great! Our room was small but adequate, and our friends had the family room that took up the entire top floor of the hotel and had a huge tiled bathroom and a roof terrace with an incredible view of the dom. The only issue we encountered was pretty big: it was very hot and humid during our stay in Cologne, and the hotel has no air conditioning, which is not a problem, but also did not have fans available for use by guests - this is a problem. The window in the room did open, but when covered by the blackout curtains, there was no air movement, leading to a hot and sleepless night. I would stay here again, but not during the summer heat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyWife1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

On foot, take the north exit out of Cologne main raliway station - across the traffic roundabout is this hotel. Cologne Cathedral and main square is just outside the south exit. There are many shops in the station concourse including 'Ihr Platz' supermarket. So for sheer convenience this hotel is a winner.
We found it was spotlessly clean and our room was spacious, well-appointed and with a very comfortable bed.

Others have mentioned noise transmission as a problem. We noticed that guests could be heard on the stairs, and that room doors closed with a bit of a clunk, but we did not notice any noise from adjacent rooms. I think it is possibly the case that the beautiful marble flooring in the reception and stairs area helps noise travel from there. However all guests were considerate when we stayed and we were not disturbed.
Aircon, or even an electric fan in the room, would help to minimise these background noises.

If you stay, opt to have the breakfast which is outstanding value.
Very helpful reception staff.

Room Tip: Opt to have the breakfast - good food and excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffytapeworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#68 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#30 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Ludwig
Hotel Ludwig
#90 of 260 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Wyndham Koeln
Wyndham Koeln
#61 of 260 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Appartel am Dom
Appartel am Dom
#60 of 260 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom

Property: Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom
Address: Johannisstr. 56, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 260 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Breslauer Hof Hotel Am Dom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breslauer Hof Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing