We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Domstern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Domstern
Ranked #37 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Quiet hotel, walking distance of the Dom and surrounding area, but lovely and quiet at night. Great value, friendly helpful staff, breakfast really interesting with local produce and nothing too much trouble. Rooms modern and clean. We really enjoyed our stay here.highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thechasehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 586 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Visited Cologne in December to see Coldplay and followed the advice of many on Tripadvisor and stayed at the Hotel Domstern. Staff were friendly and helpful, offering good advice about how to get around the local area. Hotel was immaculately clean and, although simple, was very comfortable. Location near the station and the central area of the city was really good. Standout for me was the breakfast. We only eat halal food but even with these restrictions the selection of fresh, locally sourced, produce was really good. Another plus were the hot drinks available all day to take to the room. We'd arrived after three days without access to any drinks in the room in a hotel costing over double in Paris. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakistandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domstern_team, Inhaber at Hotel Domstern, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Dear Pakistandy,

what a nice start into the new year with such a terrific feedback!
Thanks from all of us here at Domstern, we are glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable. After all who needs Paris if you can go to Cologne ;-)
It is also important for us that you mention food restrictions- we are vegetarians ourselves and we know how important it is to find appropriate food when travelling.
Certainly we offer vegetarian choices or for example soy milk for our guests. However if needs are more specific we are very grateful if our guests let us know in advance- then we can prepare everything accordingly, be it Halal, Vegan, Diabetic or medical restrictions that might influence breakfast choices!
Thank you for your review,
please stay with us!
Your hosts
Michael and Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Was at the Hotel Domstern for the second time on 26 December 2011. Only stayed one night this time and it still has so much to recommend it :

- the staff here seem to have the goal of treating you like a personal friend. Not in a fake, hospitality trained, pretend kind of way - just in a genuine, helpful, friendly kind of way. Not overdone or forced. Just natural - as though they're getting a lot of satisfaction out of making you feel taken care of. On both visits I've emailed in advance asking for advice and help about personal matters such as hiring a suit or a hotel for my onward journey. Both times the staff at the Domstern have gone out of their way to help me, making phone calls on my behalf, suggestions and promptly answering my questions. And this level of service continued whilst at the hotel.
- I had a single room, # 103. Compact, but plenty for one person and the bed is more than a single, more like a double. A lot of attention to detail has gone into the room fitout. Spotlessly clean, good quality furnishings, carpet and fittings and a clean, modern bathroom with a strong hot shower.
- fast free wi-fi.
- a safe for valuables
- quiet
- breakfast is great. Lots of choice and some nice eclectic touches like home made butter, jams and breads.
- great location, five minutes stroll from the Hauptbahnhof.
- I had a 13:00 train and there was no problem in extending my check-out to 12:00
- brilliant value. I paid 55 Euro, breakfast included, booked through the hotel website.

No gym, no pool - but it's got everything else and it has what a lot of hotels don't have - genuine, quality service at a much lower rate than many others who have more stars.

I totally recommend The Domstern as either a place to stay on an overnighter or as a base for a longer stay in Koln. Great value, great service, quality rooms and really nice staff - can't fault it. Will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Domstern for one night with a friend in August while on holiday. This place is really excellent. The staff were all really really nice, and the rooms were excellent, beautifully decorated and also the breakfast was good, very diverse. The location was good, maybe five minutes walk from the train station on the otherside from the city centre. Overall, very highly recommended, very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selphie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel managers were so friendly and hospitable that we felt at home once we checked into the hotel. The service and assistance rendered by the staff is excellent. What I found most amazing, was the complimentary breakfast provided by the hotel. While we were here during the Christmas season, the menu for each morning was thoughtfully planned through and presented on a nicely designed booklet. There is a special theme every morning (e.g. Scandinavian, Austrian, Swiss, etc.) and the quality of the food was simply spectacular. In terms of location, this hotel is very conveniently located by the Dom and Hauptbahnhof, which is a big plus. Quite honestly, this is probably one of the best hotels you can find in Cologne!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roddick777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed in Cologne just for a night to check out the Christmas markets and could not have chosen a better hotel. Like the hotel very clearly states, it is a small without facilities. But it is rare to find a 3 star with such friendly staff. The rooms were clean and had a nice touch. The beds were also super comfortable. The breakfast was truly unique. We had the Austrian theme, with the BEST homemade chocolate spread I have ever eaten. The hotel is minutes from the station which was perfect since we went by train. Also, all the markets were closeby like stated in the previous reviews. So if you´re looking for an inexpensive way to come back feeling like a happy vacationer, then do stay here!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. That way there is less noise. We stayed in 302.. it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euromoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domstern_team, Inhaber at Hotel Domstern, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2012

Dear Euromoon,
thank you for your review and your great feedback!
We are really happy to read that your visit for the christmas markets was enjoyable and we were able to contribute to this nice experience!
Of course especially Gina is very proud as she has been sampling a lot of different recipes before deciding for the perfect chocolate spread :-)
We also like that you gave a very appropriate valuation of what to expect here at Domstern.
We are always concerned that people forget that being rated very high on tripadvisor means that our guests are very happy with the service offered and the price paid. It definitely does not mean that we are "the best" hotel in Cologne!
You addressed this very clearly and we really hope that prospective guests will read your advise and recommendations what they may expect when booking a room with us!
Thank you very much for this information and of course for staying with us!
Your hosts
Michael & Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

What can I say - trip advisor has done it again - this is the third hotel we have stayed in entirely through recommendations from reviews and we have not been disappointed.

We booked over 6 months ago to enjoy the Xmas markets and as per the reviews managed to book the junior suite arriving on 4th december for 4 nights. The suite was spacious even with the sofa bed in use, the room was warm at all times and you were able to turn down the radiators if you wanted. The bathroom was enormous - big bath and separate shower it had an adequate hairdryer (which didn't liked to be overworked and required rests between three women drying their hair!).

The breakfast was buffet style with a different theme each day - lovely lattes from the coffee machine to drink while you looked at the daily newsletter giving advice on the weather, things to do etc. Excellent selection of fresh breads and homemade jams (fell in love with the plum jam)

The staff were friendly and greeted us warmly each morning. The map and personal recommendations of where to each was an inspiring touch, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The hotel is approx 15-20 minutes from the airport and the taxi costs 33 euros.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk from the cathedral where the biggest market was. Infact out of the 7 markets we walked to 6 of them very easily and although each market sold the same things they all sold items that were unique to that particular market as well.
We used the train (7 euros) on the first day, it was a pleasant trip but gave us a distorted view of how far each market was as it weaved in and out of the streets.

As well as the excellent markets there was lso plenty of shops as well to look again - bear in mind that the shops didn't open until 10am and the market at 11am.

Would I stay at the Domstern again - in a heartbeat. It is extremely hard to find accommodation that provides a friendly personal touch within an affordable price range.

Room Tip: junior suite was excellent but need to book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffieldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#29 of 262 in Cologne
355 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Stern am Rathaus
Stern am Rathaus
#1 of 262 in Cologne
701 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Cristall
Hotel Cristall
#53 of 262 in Cologne
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#138 of 262 in Cologne
289 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
Eden Hotel Fruh am Dom
#51 of 262 in Cologne
317 reviews
Hotel Lyskirchen
#21 of 262 in Cologne
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domstern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domstern

Address: Domstr. 26, 50668 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Domgarten)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Cologne
#13 Business Hotel in Cologne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $81 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domstern 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the famous Cologne Cathedral, main station, historic city center, shopping area and not far from the trade fair, you will find Hotel Domstern in a quiet side street. We offer newly renovated rooms, free wifi, parking, only nonsmoking rooms, elevator and our extended breakfast buffet until 11 am and even 12 noon during weekends. We are proud and humbled getting the "Travellers choice award 2010" from our guests for our personal service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Domstern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domstern Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing