We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
Ranked #70 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    143
    72
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
98
43
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2010

This hotel was fine, but one thing that drove me crazy was the noise made by the housekeepers in the morning (8am they start!). The walls don't seem to be very soundproof at all. A breakfast was very basic, continental - bread, jams, boiled egg, cereals. On the whole it's a clean and a good hotel with about 20 min by tram to Cologne. I won't be going back there because of the noise. (PS the noise didn't seem to worry my husband :) )

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shustik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2010

i stayed in etap hotels at essen nord, basel prattlein, koblenz and koeln marsdorf.

it is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Located near the BAB4 and BAB1 autobahns in Marsdorf, this hotel is conveniently located for those travelling through by car, but it is also conveniently located for those visiting Cologne by car but wish to go into the city centre using the stadtbahn and not pay for parking. Parking was free which is great as we could leave the car there for the duration of our stay and not worry about parking and the Umwelt zone in the city centre. The journey time to Neumarkt on the no7 tram was about 20 minutes. The tram stop is Marsdorf and is only a 5 minute walk away. You buy your tickets on the tram so make sure you have change before you travel as the machines do not take cards or banknotes. A single ticket is €2.50 and is valid to anywhere in Cologne and for 90 minutes. The area itself is a clean light industrial/out of town retail area and felt safe to walk in even at night.

The hotel itself was up to a good basic standard. The rooms were clean as you expect the rooms to be and the decor and layout are your typical ETAP standard i.e nothing fancy! The staff were very "freundlich" and when we were given a smoking room by mistake, quickly rectified the situation by giving us a non-smoking room. The rooms come equipped the same as every other ETAP location, double bed, single bunk bed, desk, chair, sink, toilet, shower, somewhere to hang your clothes and a TV. The TV only had 1 english speaking channel, CNBC, and that was only part of Das Vierte's morning programming, so don't expect to watch any CNN or BBC. Not a biggie as we were out most of the time. The shower was very good. Nice and powerful but I advise you to take wear earplugs because it is very loud!!!

The hotel offers the typical ETAP buffet breakfast (we didn't bother this time), but if you want something different, there's a branch of Bäckerei Kraus http://www.unwiderstehlich-gut.de/ inside the OBI DIY superstore http://www.obi.de/de/markets/maerkte/Koeln-Marsdorf/index.html (think B&Q!) - about a 10-15 minute walk away. It does a good selecton of breads, hot drinks, cooked breakfasts and sweet pastries. It's located at the front of the store and is handy if don't want to have to treck into Cologne for breakfast. or if you're travelling on somewhere else in the car as it has plenty of free parking. There's also a KFC (if that's your thing), other restaurants, and a couple of good supermarkets nearby.

Overall, I recommend this hotel if you are driving around Germany, like to budget and don't want to bother with finding a hotel with parking in central Cologne. Don't expect the Ritz though!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripleseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

This is like every other Etap basic with a double bed and a bunk bed. We booked on etaphotels.com it was about 35 euros a night. We went for the Christmas markets and it was well located about 5 minutes walk from a mainline station which goes to Cologne central right by the Dom. The hotel also has free parking and is next to a petrol station and a KFC and Pizza hut express.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Oleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

ETAP is a chain of (mainly) European budget hotels and is part of the same corporation as Mercure, Ibis, Novotel, and, probably most well-known among American travellers, Motel 6. ETAP offers no-frills accomodation at a competitive price.

My wife and I paid EUR 43 per room/night, which is pretty good for a city like Cologne. As is the case with most ETAP locations, the one in Marsdorf is nowhere near the city center but there is a tramway stop just about 200 meters down the road. Access by car is convenient as it is only about half a kilometer from the A1freeway. There are several shops and supermarkets nearby.

Up to three people can share a room, although in Germany the maximum occupancy is two grown-ups and one child due to fire safety regulations. Do not expect any luxury items such as minibar or a/c. The rooms come with (very!!) small lavatories and showers. Everything is clean (not spotless) and beds are rather cosy, if not large. There is a tv in every room (German stations only). Check in at the reception from 5 pm to 10 pm and at the automatic check-in point during other times.

Breakfast is not included but attractively priced at EUR 5,- per person for a quite adequate buffet. There is a breakfast discount for ARC "Show Your Card" members.

I can definitely recommend the ETAP in Marsdorf but DON'T come here expecting the Savoy. This is budget accomodation at its finest.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Cosmopolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cologne
8.3 mi away
ibis budget Koeln Porz
ibis budget Koeln Porz
#90 of 262 in Cologne
248 reviews
3.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Koeln City Center
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cologne - Troisdorf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
Ibis Budget Koln Messe
#51 of 262 in Cologne
667 reviews
6.5 mi away
Jugendgaestehaus Koeln Riehl
Jugendgaestehaus Koeln Riehl
#114 of 262 in Cologne
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Koeln Frechen
Ibis Koeln Frechen
#1 of 9 in Frechen
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf

Property: Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf
Address: Toyota Allee 40-42, 50858 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel Koeln-Marsdorf)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf 1*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, ACCOR, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Koeln Marsdorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing