We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel with Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Koeln City
Ranked #99 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed there in early March for two nights because of the exhibition.
We stayed in Junior Suite room just next to the reception area.
Room is large enough but only standard basic.

Excellent location, directly in front of Barbarossa Platz U Bahn and many places to eat nearby.
The room price did not include the breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 409 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

For the price (we paid just under £100 for a medium double room for 2 nights) this hotel was totally acceptable. The room was very small but it was clean enough and we weren't hanging around in there much anyway. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing onto the street so noise should have been a problem but it wasn't really. The hotel is also reasoanbly close to the centre and you can get to the Dom at a leisurely pace in about 30 mins. The beds on the other hand are horrendous. It's like they got a slab on concrete and put a sheet on top, it's going to take a few days for my back to recover. Also the blind didn't really fit the window and there was a lot of light, not too much a problem on our visit as the days are short but might be an issue in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P00zle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Sept 2011.

The good points:
It was very clean
Not too expensive
Reasonable location for our purposes (we were attending an event at the Lanxess Arena)

But - the bad points:
Room was tiny
A lot of noise from the room next door and the corridor
Window blind was a very poor fit and let it far too much light
Requested a non-smoking room and weren't given one (especially baffling when we booked 4 months in advance and the majority of the rooms are non-smoking!)

Overall, it was very hard to sleep well in this hotel. I would suggest trying elsewhere. Admittedly it wasn't that expensive, but even for the same price I'm sure you could do better.

Room Tip: Lower floors get more noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fierydormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Very helpful receptionist, close to lots of cafes and restaurants and trams. Clean room, good well appointed bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Nice modern hotel, in excellent condition, great neighbourhood. Excellent rate - only problem is the lack of air conditioning. Request a room facing away from the street if you need to sleep with your window open.

Room Tip: request away from the street (is on the street car line - a bit noisy in front)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheocheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Really liked this hotel. For the money we paid we got clean and cozy room with comfortable bed and nice shower room. The hotel is located near tram station and it was really convenient to move around the city. The breakfast was good but the choice was the same every day. Anyway it's a good 3 star hotel totally renewed - I would love to own it...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdamStern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The single room was enough for one person, very good service at the reception, clean hotel. Quite noisy because of train stop at the front of the hotel but not disturbable.
It's a good choice for living near the city centre and affordable.

Room Tip: Clean and spacy enough at least the single ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#47 of 263 in Cologne
119 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Adagio Koln City
Adagio Koln City
#67 of 263 in Cologne
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Koeln City
#33 of 263 in Cologne
1,396 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Holiday Inn Express Cologne - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Koeln City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Koeln City

Address: Barbarossaplatz 4a, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range: $115 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Koeln City 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Styles Koeln City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing