We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #112 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed a couple of times. Really good hotel, rooms are exceptionally clean, bathroom excellent, and very helpful front of desk staff. Great location in the city. Might be a bit loud in the summer with the bar underneath but a great base in the city. A generous check out time makes it hard to beat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 887alman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
15
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I can only agree with all the positive reviews here. We experienced very straight-forward & friendly service.
I booked directly with the hotel over phone & email- perfect!
We had room 56, brilliant. Wow!
Elevator brings you up to the 4th floor, only a couple of stairs to reach your room on 5th floor- not suitable for wheelchairs tho.
As we spent new year's eve in Cologne, we were looking forward to sleeping until the check out time (13.00hrs) BUT & this is the only negative bit: the sun was shining through the roofwindows "velux".
We were very pleased with what we experienced at Chelsea & will surely come back! Café Central next doors was fairly nice for breakfast too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heralinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I chose this hotel thanks to Lonely Planet, I was there during the Christmas market season and got one of the last rooms left, no reservations. It was odd that the elevator didn't even stop on the floor that my room was on. I rank this place poor for two principle reasons, the wifi didn't work for a darn, and the room I was in apparently was above a smoking part of the restaurant/bar, as I could smell cigarette smoke. I will ding them for how far away the car park was, especially given the icy streets, but that was incidental to the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minn_traveler612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cologne hotels

Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip, it was a generally good and comfortable stay, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean, the beds and bedding very comfortable, although the desk chairs were not so comfortable, and I have to assume that the beat-up old furniture was part of the artsy "look". The internet was slow, and the shower pressure was erratic, but the bathroom was a decent size with plenty of room to put things around the sink.

The restaurant below had a really nice atmosphere, basically a local bar/cafe/hangout. I had dinner there twice, the steak sandwich was especially delicious. The breakfast buffet was small but perfectly adequate, perhaps overpriced given that the a la carte breakfasts were much cheaper.

The hotel is in a good neighborhood, as a solo woman I felt fine walking back here at night. It is a 15-minute walk to the university, close to shops, two long city blocks away from subway/trolley lines (a bit of a walk with suitcases). A small elevator (well, this is Europe) but be warned that after the elevator, there are 8 more steps to climb to get to the rooms on each floor.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank INTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We've stayed at the Chelsea many times while visiting family in the Cologne area. It's a small boutique hotel with original contemporary art in the rooms. Staff is always friendly and efficient. Some rooms are small as one reviewer mentioned. However, there's a variety of accommodations available including suites. Rooms are very clean. Location is great. Restaurant downstairs is fine for breakfast and lunch, we've never had dinner there but have had drinks after dinner and found the staff very friendly. Yes, the elevator is small...it's Europe, go with the flow!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TF B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I love Rick Stevens and his recommendations are usually on the nose, but this one was a miss by a long shot!!:( Hotel was not worth the price point, extremely noisy, tiny elevator, room was not artsy at all, but old and run down. i am sure there are better hotels than this!!! hush disappointment

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AfriqueSoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I travel often in Germany and I try to stay in non usual hotels.

Selected the Chelsea - it was recommended by a friend.

Overall interesting - the room I had was a little small, the staff were friendly and the location was great for being in a bustling part of Cologne. I enjoyed it there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarstenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Neustadt-Süd
Conti Hotel
Conti Hotel
#119 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Neustadt-Süd
Hopper Hotel et cetera
Hopper Hotel et cetera
#144 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Steigenberger Hotel Koeln
#12 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#76 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Neustadt-Nord
Flandrischer Hof
Flandrischer Hof
#48 of 262 in Cologne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: Juelicher Str. 1, 50674 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Neustadt-Süd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 262 Hotels in Cologne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chelsea hotel calls itself "the hotel different". What's so different about the Chelsea? Is there something special which other hotels don't have? The Chelsea is not a "design hotel", even less a "boutique hotel". Design hotels are by definition "designed" (by now we have eben got "budget design hotels"), the Chelsea has grown by itself; it is authentic. The Chelsea hotel is often called an artist hotel or an art hotel. But first of all it is a house for guests, where everybody is welcome and where anybody feels comfortable who knows to esteem a taste for the individual. Nevertheless, it is true, that the Chelsea for more than 30 years by now has been the residence, indeed "home away from home" for many artists and still is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing