We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, friendly staff, affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Im Kupferkessel
Ranked #90 of 263 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I've stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. Walking distance from Cathederal is about 15 minutes. The single room is just nice for me, an Asian solo traveler. I just need a place to put my luggage and go to sleep only. Shared bathroom, but it is clean. The staff is very friendly, and assist me to print my boarding pass on the day I checked out. For muslim traveler, they respect my dietry and served me with vegetarian stuffs. Although there was meat on my plate, but it just chicken and turkey.

You need a key to enter the building, and into your room. Reception service closed after 8pm. And you have to carry your luggage up to your room, yourself. Internet WiFi is available free of charge for the first 12 hours. I stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and still can access their free WiFi without any problem. Must be a glitch on the system. :)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatRayau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 117 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 6, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

If you are not that bothered about staying in swanky hotels and paying swanky prices then Hotel Im Kupferkessel may be just what you are looking for. Clean, very friendly hotel within easy strolling distance of the station / cathedral / old town / shops etc. Exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibble101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

This hotel is just a super deal. Given the extremely modest price I was expecting it to be bare bones, and was surprised to find my room had both a phone and a TV. Cheerily bright room, impeccably clean and only a short distance from the train station. Quite possibly the best value for money I've ever had from a hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IjonTichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed July 9, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

This is a great little pension about a 10-15 minute walk from the train station. Neighborhood is fine, definitely off the beaten path but still quite close to the sights. There is a great little restaurant/beer pub on the corner, we had delicious reibekuchen (potato pancakes) and spargel (white asparagus, in season) there and the beer was good too. The room was small but comfortable, great bed and hot shower. The host and hostess were lovely, very helpful, and they prepared a delicious breakfast for us each morning. This hotel is a walkup and our room was on the third floor; so if you are traveling with lots of luggage or can not climb stairs, this place is not for you. Even though it included breakfast, the room was a bit pricey at 95E/night. However, we were there during a convention in Cologne, so convention rates were in effect. We had a very good experience staying here, and would do so again especially if the rate were lower.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kekocowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

I was on a budget and this hotel was everything I needed. Cheap, Clean and in a good location. about 10 min walk from train station/DOM. the staff is friendly, helpful, gives you great recommendations, has a nice breakfast area. Great for singles or young adults traveling thru. no elevators, pack light. enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ROCKINLAWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
Rhein Hotel St.Martin
#126 of 263 in Cologne
136 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Mercure Hotel Koeln City Friesenstrasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#11 of 263 in Cologne
436 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Classic Hotel Harmonie
Classic Hotel Harmonie
#111 of 263 in Cologne
302 reviews
Mülheim
BURNS Fair And More
BURNS Fair And More
#47 of 263 in Cologne
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Kupferkessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Kupferkessel

Address: Probsteigasse 6, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $59 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Im Kupferkessel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Im Kupferkessel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Im Kupferkessel Hotel
Im Kupferkessel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing