We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Im Kupferkessel
Ranked #82 of 261 Hotels in Cologne
Reviewed July 13, 2014

A small hotel close to the heart of the city. Very friendly and down-to-earth service from Frau Thormann. Good breakfast in a pleasant room downstairs. And those stairs! We were up on the top floor and got our exercise going up and down. The rooms are small but well fitted out, and clean, with good servicing. Free WiFi- works well in the rooms. Plenty of opportunity to practice our German, but Frau Thormann communicates well in English too. This was a good base for exploring Cologne.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Im Kupferkessel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 116 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked this hotel because it was one of the cheapest around Cologne but actually one of the more central locations. I wasnt expecting much because of how cheap it was, but it was brilliant!

Upon arrival, Marcus greeted me by name, stating he always knows his guests! (Fairly small hotel). That goes down well with me compared to a massive chain hotel where even after a week they probably wouldnt know you by name.

Straight away was given passwords for wifi, which was actually very good, unlike most bigger hotels. Marcus gave me a map of Cologne, pointing out the hotel location.

The room was perfect for me travelling alone. I opted for a shared bathroom which was always immaculate and not once was the bathroom occupied.

Breakfast was pretty good, with good quick service. My last night was a 3am get up to fly home. I completed checkout the previous day and Sandra brought me some sandwiches, fruit and a juice drink all in a cooler bag before I went to bed for my breakfast the day I travelled home.

With just a 10 minute walk from the main train station, I wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbc1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

excellent family run hotel that is ideal for a trip to cologne..decent rooms, mini bar and excellent service all combine to make this hotel a repaet enjoyable experience..i was a regular for 7 years..thanks Sandra/ Markus! xx

Room Tip: rooms towards the cathedral and with mini bar are fab!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A great, family-run hotel, located just a short walk from the Catherdral, Hauptbahnhof, Shopping areas, nightlife and of course, the river Rhein. There is a very welcoming, homely feel and that's why I have stayed in the Im-Kupferkessel, many times over the years. All the staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. For football fans staying here, Marcus has a wealth of information about the local team, known simply as "der FC". I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cologne.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linwood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I think this is a good hotel considering its price. The rooms are absolutly clean but very basic. A bad, a shower, toilet and a table. Nothing more. If you wanna have a romantic holiday, this is not a good option. However, if you want to have just a good place to stay, this is a very good choice. I also wanna mention the breakfast, it was really good. A smiling lady served my brakfast and it was really rich and delicious. The location is good, very close to the center, just 10 mins walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aysegul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This charming family run hotel, which is only a 15 minute walk to the train station is excellent value for money. Rooms are clean and airy and tastefully decorated. The single rooms are a little small if you have a large suitcase but fine for a short stay. Breakfast is included in the price. Not a large amount of choice but good value tasty and fresh

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here last December when I visited Cologne for the Christmas markets. For the price I paid this hotel represents fantastic value for money. My bedroom was modern and very clean with a decent sized shared bathroom next door. The breakfast was a brilliant experience as it felt very homely with lovely food and large portion sizes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cologne hotels
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Engelbertz
Hotel Engelbertz
#97 of 261 in Cologne
108 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domspitzen
Hotel Domspitzen
#27 of 261 in Cologne
347 reviews
Ibis Koeln Am Dom
#33 of 261 in Cologne
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guennewig Kommerz Hotel
#72 of 261 in Cologne
197 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Domstern
Hotel Domstern
#36 of 261 in Cologne
580 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Hotel Coellner Hof
Hotel Coellner Hof
#8 of 261 in Cologne
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Im Kupferkessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Im Kupferkessel

Address: Probsteigasse 6, 50670 Cologne, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Cologne > Altstadt-Nord
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Cologne
Price Range: $72 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Im Kupferkessel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Im Kupferkessel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Im Kupferkessel Hotel
Im Kupferkessel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing